We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
South Villa Guest House
Ranked #7 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
165 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent service and location”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed for two night to do most of the things that Knysna offers. The rooms have an amazing view of the sea. We took the biggest double room with bigger bedroom and bathroom for R 100 more and it was worth it. All rooms have a safety box and a DVD player if you are interested to watch films. However knysna offers a lot of activities.
The owner of the guesthouse was really kind, she gave us all the advice for all the attractions all along the garden route. This was definitely helpful.
We took breakfast in the balcony, however since it was really cold, we decided to take inside. Breakfast was delicious.
It is located on a hill, so it is worth to have a car to stay there.

Room Tip: For only 100 rands more take the bigger room at the end of the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    21
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
167
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

This guesthouse has gotten its formula right. There are some nice extra touches. First, we were asked if we wanted coffee, tea or water served in the room upon arrival. Second, they restock apples and milk in the room everyday. Third, breakfast can be served in the patio with excellent view. Fourth, when the heater in the shower broke down, I was immediately given access to another room to minimise inconvenience. Fifth, the room heating was good with electric blanket and a heating panel.

On the downside, the wifi was a bit slow and patchy. Also, the bathroom was cold because it did not have a heated spotlight near the shower. Overall, we had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waiwingtaialbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We went to the South Villa Guest for the Knysna Cycle tour. We had the most wonderful time. The owners were so warm, welcoming and accomodating. The room was perfect. Its within walking distance of the waterfront. If we go back to Knysna we would definitely consider going back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laraspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

View over the lagoon, good location, modern room and delicious breakfast - just perfect. Very friendly owners and staff. We can highly recommend this B&B. We couldn't find any negative points. We will come again next time.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HolidaycheckZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This B&B just has everything you need. Perfectly run by Mareena, who was a friendly and welcoming host. Modern and spotless rooms, with a private balcony and a great view. A nice commucal area and large balcony, where we enjoyed a good breakfast. Mareena is a professional and friendly host. The location is superb, not only offering great views but also within walking distance from the Waterfront. Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdricO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Traveling alone is not always fun, but the owners made my stay so wonderful and relaxing. From restaurant recommendations, to fun things to do, and where to take a morning run, they were so helpful. The rooms were spotless and modern. Breakfast can be served on your own private balcony. It's definitely great value for service and very near the waterfront area. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FindingAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
263 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Worthy of all the excellent reviews, this is a first class B&B that comes at a very reasonable price. Rooms are spotless with beautiful views and quality linen. Breakfast is hotel standard, served to your own private balcony and offers a great choice. It's a very short drive to all Knysna has to offer yet wonderfully peaceful and quiet.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Lion_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.1 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 126 in Knysna
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Candlewood Lodge
Candlewood Lodge
#2 of 126 in Knysna
613 reviews
3.1 mi away
Amanzi Island Lodge
Amanzi Island Lodge
#9 of 126 in Knysna
522 reviews
1.0 mi away
Waterfront Lodge
Waterfront Lodge
#8 of 126 in Knysna
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Villa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Villa Guest House

Property: South Villa Guest House
Address: 22 Circular Drive | Paradise, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — South Villa Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Villa Guest House situated in the tranquil suburb of Paradise, in the town of Knysna. All our rooms feature a private balcony overlooking the Knysna lagoon and Knysna Heads. South Villa is ideally positioned to take advantage of all major attractions in and around Knysna. All rooms are fitted with: TV with DVD, Fully stocked Minibar, Tea and coffee makers, Electronic Safes. Bathroom Amenities: Hair Dryers, Bathrobes & Beach Towels, Queen extra length size beds, all fitted with quality bedclothes and feather comforters and pillows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your South Villa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing