We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
South Villa Guest House
Ranked #6 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2012

This was THE best place we stayed during our three week stay in SA. The accommodation and service were absolutely fabulous. The house was beautifully decorated with original paintings on the walls and a comfortable lounge. We were treated like friends rather than paying guests from the minute we arrived. We ordered breakfast in our room expecting the usual tray of food but the housemaid set up a table on our balcony and we ate in style overlooking the lagoon. The town centre and waterfront are within walking distance, parking is easy if you want to drive. We found the waterfront restaurants to be very ordinary, the Olive Tree on the high street was really good.

Room Tip: Large luxury room is well worth the extra because of the separate bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 226 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2012

We spent our last 4 nights in SA at South Villa and I think we saved the best for last! We enjoy cruising holidays and feel you don't get that level of service anywhere else, until now. We were greeted on arrival by the owner Marina, and her son Chris very kindly took our luggage to our room. The house is all painted white, is spotlessly clean, bright and airy. Our room was serviced twice a day, we had the whitest, fluffiest towels I have ever come across as well as lovely white velour bathrobes. In the room as well as the tea & coffee tray, there were also a couple of apples every day and a beach bag with beach towels, there were also umbrellas at the front door to use(they were not needed thank goodness!) The highlight of waking in the morning was having breakfast served on the balcony overlooking the lagoon(thankyou Voyu). You get a card in your room to fill out at night for your breakfast requests, my husband enjoyed scrambled eggs and bacon every day, while I would definitely recommend the fruit plate. There was no aircon in the room, however there was a large fan that worked well and you could also leave the patio doors open. There is a large main road(N2) just one street away but it is far enough away that we never heard any noise. We walked to the town and back every night(approx 10-15mins), the are plenty of places to eat at the waterfront and in town. We enjoyed The Olive Tree, Chatters, JJ's and Fat Susi's. If looking for accomodation in Knysna, you won't regret a stay at South Villa it was the perfect ending to a fantastic South African holiday!

Room Tip: Fantastic beaches at Buffalo Bay and Brenton on Sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alih68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

My friend and I have recently spent 2 nights at this lovely establishment. I have to say the couple who run this place couldn't have been more helpful. We had travel problems due to a swallowed Bank Card' instead of arriving at 3.00pm we arrived at 3.00am! We phoned ahead expecting to have to find alternative arrangements to be told not a problem you call us as soon as you arrive in Knysna (we don't drive so were using public transport) and we will come and pick you up. The accomodation was very satisfactory, great location and all the staff were very friendly, professional and helpful. I cannot rate this establishment high enough. We stayed in several really lovelly locations along the garden route but South Villa will always be a very memorable experience. We booked this accomodation from the internet and I encourage anyone reading this review to not hesitate to book in here you will have a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

My boyfriend and I (29 and 31, both from London) stayed here in November whilst on the Garden Rote. We stayed 2 nights. We had spent the first 4 nights in the national parks of Storm River and Addo Elephant Park and it was therefore really welcome to arrive at such a beautiful guest house. I would recommend one of the front facing rooms. You also have the option of having breakfast (which was fantastic!) on the balcony overlooking the harbour. This guest house is truly value for money! The guest house is relatively new and I assume they are trying to build up their reputation so I would not be surprised if the prices were to increase when they become more established. There was also free wifi, which was very welcome. The attention to detail was superb for instance, there were apples in the room, robes which were sooooo soft and beach bags / towles in the wardrobes for you to use as you wish. All in all,I would definitely recommend. The owner, Marina was really helful, she made a restaurant booking for us (Sorroco - again would recommend) and was always really helpful answering our questions about what to do and where to go. We truly loved this guest house!!! .....dont miss out!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKJAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

My husband and i did the garden route as your honeymoon, where we spent two nights at South Villla. You always scared to book online because you never know what the place will be like..... well we really enjoyed our stay at South Villa. Its a stunning place and very friendy staff and hostess. When passing Knysna again this will be the place to stay. Of all the places we stayed during our honeymoon South Villa was tops!

Room Tip: We where in a standard room, and where very happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katinka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We were trying to think of anything that we didn't like about South Villa and we couldn't! I only hope that people don't miss it as it is slightly tucked away just as you enter Knysna. I hope that the fact it isn't right in the centre wouldn't put people off as it is only about a 15 minute walk into the centre or a short taxi ride away.

Our host greeted us and showed us around the spotless and beautifully presented guest house and she then made us some coffee to welcome us. She was also very helpful in booking us a taxi and with information about the area.

Our room was again spotless and had some lovely little touches. I requested a room with a view and my request was met with a beautiful view over the Knysna lagoon (although we did go out of season so I guess this would depend on availability). There is also lounge and dining room where you can eat, drink, watch dvd's or TV and relax.

We ate at the Olive Tree in Knysna which was excellent and returned to our room to find our electric blanket turned on to welcome us to a lovely warm bed :)

We selected breakfast from a menu sheet in the room and this was served to us at the requested time on our balcony (you can choose to have it in your room or in the dining room at a certain time). The breakfast was also lovely, freshly squeezed orange juice and perfect boiled eggs.

All in all this was a great stay and we would go back in a flash the next time we visit Knysna.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view and hopefully you would get the beautiful one that we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southvilla, Owner at South Villa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2011

Dear Helen

Thank you for your kind words .we do appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We stayed just one night in Knysna on our trip along the garden route, but our stay at the South Villa Guest House was excellent: confortable and extremely well-equipped room with heated beds and free internet access, very good breakfast and wonderful hosts with a particular attention to detail, beautiful view overlooking the bay. Very quiet street, we didn't have any concerns parking on the stret in front of the guest house.
We accepted the kind offer to leave our luggage at the guest house for the day while whale watching in Plettenberg Bay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tina_firenze_italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southvilla, Owner at South Villa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2011

Thank you for the positive feedback and hope to see you again

Regards Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.1 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 129 in Knysna
652 reviews
2.2 mi away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#20 of 129 in Knysna
330 reviews
12.5 mi away
Dover on Sea B&B
Dover on Sea B&B
#1 of 12 in Sedgefield
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hide Away Guest House
Hide Away Guest House
#16 of 129 in Knysna
399 reviews
2.6 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
277 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Oyster B&B
Blue Oyster B&B
#23 of 129 in Knysna
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Villa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Villa Guest House

Address: 22 Circular Drive | Paradise, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: $70 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — South Villa Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Villa Guest House situated in the tranquil suburb of Paradise, in the town of Knysna. All our rooms feature a private balcony overlooking the Knysna lagoon and Knysna Heads. South Villa is ideally positioned to take advantage of all major attractions in and around Knysna. All rooms are fitted with: TV with DVD, Fully stocked Minibar, Tea and coffee makers, Electronic Safes. Bathroom Amenities: Hair Dryers, Bathrobes & Beach Towels, Queen extra length size beds, all fitted with quality bedclothes and feather comforters and pillows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your South Villa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing