We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Nearby Hotels
$144
$140
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
Protea Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$127
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Conrad Pezula(Knysna)
$295
$155
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$547
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knysna Country House(Knysna)(Great Value!)
$67
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Russel Hotel(Knysna)(Great Value!)
$77
$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (673)
Filter reviews
673 results
Traveler rating
419
175
45
15
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
419
175
45
15
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspower stationthesen islandpower plantisland cafeoriginal machinerygastro pubinteresting hotelpool deckwonderful hotelgarden routehoneymoon suitebeautiful settingwonderful staybreakfast was excellentoystersattention to detailamazing views
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
443 - 448 of 673 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2014

The Turbine has managed to transform an old structure into a beautiful space.Loved the originality with which the rooms have been put together showcasing some of the original parts .One felt welcome and the service was really very good. Everyone is so friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MelinaJost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear TalitaE E
I am so happy that your trade show was such a success and the Turbine could contribute with unique and interesting environments.
All our rooms are individually decorated and have some amazing views over the Thesen Marina and Knysna Lagoon.
Next time that you are doing business in the area, please be sure to give us a call, or pop in and say Hi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at Turbine Hotel during our trade show in Knysna. I loved the edgy funkiness of this hotel and the architecture surrounding this old power station. How unique. Peter, the GM was always on hand and all the interaction with staff were extremely friendly.

The rooms are beautiful, spacious and well equipped.

The hotel is located on the water which is gorgeous.

I will surely return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TalitaE E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2014

Dear TalitaE E
Thanks for you great review. The Trade Show set new standards in Wine, Art and food, all within a very unique setting of the Turbine Hotel. So glad to hear the staff kept up the high standards of service we strive for.
The setting is just magic, being just 20m away from the marina at the entrance to Knysna Lagoon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

The staff is extremely nice and helpful. The room was nice, except that it was cold for us. Wifi was available but it had a code and on one occasion, neither the phone nor the wifi were working and the last night that we stayed there, the hotel had changed the code so I could not get into the internet.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Dear Elena D
Thank you so much for your review on Tripadvisor.
The Turbine is totally unique and combines luxury accommodation with all the restored machinery and Turbines that ran the power station on Thesens Island for almost a century. I will pass on your kind comments on the friendliness and efficiency of all the staff we have in the hotel. All rooms have air-conditioners for temperature control. Our Wi-Fi is free and works on a voucher system, each of which have it's own password and username.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

If all you get at this hotel is the ambience, which includes remnants of the equipment actually used in the production of power for the city of Knysna, you would be impressed but maybe that wouldn't be enough. Thankfully, the hotel delivers much more. Our family of 19, including 8 children from age 9-16, really enjoyed the rooms perfectly assigned to them. The location on Thesen Island is a plus and provides great views of the waterfront. A small market is a short walk away across the causeway. Turbine's breakfast was really good as well, and we also enjoyed a very good dinner in their Island Cafe. Too cool to use their pool, but it is located right off the lobby overlooking a small inlet and looked very inviting.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank Conmassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Dear Conmassey
So glad to hear we got it right with your large family visit. The whole group were a lot of fun to have in the hotel and very easy to please. The Turbine has a wonderful story to tell about it's past. Combining that restored heritage with the chic luxury of the rooms makes it a unique stay that should not be forgotten easily for just another bed along the way. The hotel is just meters away from the lagoon edge with some really interesting and pretty marine life.
I will pass on the compliments about the breakfast and evening meal at Island café to the Chef and his staff. They cook with passion that definitely shows in the fare that comes to your table.
Should you have any friends travelling this way soon, please be sure to recommend us to them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at The Turbine Hotel in Knysna and was truly impressed by location, quirky but cutting edge interior, attitude of staff and overall feel of discrete but warm hospitality. A stunning place for a hotel and the views over the Thesen Island Harbour were just brilliant at sunset. Highly recommended!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Andre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear Andre S
Thank you so much for your great review of The Turbine Hotel on Tripadvisor. The Turbine is a wonderful testament to the interesting history of Thesen Island as the centre of the Timber Industry in the last century. Staying in such an establishment, with the luxury touches, adds to ones stay that becomes more than just another bed along the itinerary.
I will certainly pass your complimentary comments regarding excellent staff service to all concerned.
Being where we are situated on Thesen Islands, just a few meters away from the lagoon, is just an added bonus.
Please be sure to call on us again whenever you may be travelling our way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews