We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Our family of 2 adults and 2 kids stayed at the Turbine Hotel for 2 nights on our trip to the Garden Route in February '14. As a 5 star hotel, it's not quite up there with e.g. the Conrad Pezula which we stayed in for 5 nights prior to visiting the Turbine Hotel. Never the less, it's a very nice and truly unique hotel and a completely different experience altogether which we enjoyed a lot.

The renovation of the old power plant is extremely well done and we appreciated that they had manage to keep so much of the original machinery making it different to any other hotel we've ever seen. Our kids loved it as well. We liked that each suite was unique and came with a short explanation of the suite and it's interior. Nice touch. We stayed in the Thesen suite which was nice although no balcony nor view to write home about. It was just about large enough for our family. We found the bathroom a bit lacking in terms of amenities, and also no coffee was offered for free. The pool area is very picturesque overlooking a part of the Thesen laguna.

We didn't interact a whole lot with the staff, but when we did it was to our satisfaction as they were friendly and professional. The breakfast was good with a good selection of hot dishes to order besides the buffet. The salmon bagel was very nice and so was the serial. Didn't much like the curtain that was used to cover the food to keep the flies away tough.

We enjoyed a nice boat trip in the Knysna laguna with their water club, and although there was an initial booking error it was resolved nicely and we got the boat all for ourselves an hour later.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Lars A
Thank you for taking the time to post such a complimentary review of the Turbine Hotel on Tripadvisor. This hotel is truly unique and will be very different to the large estate 5 star hotels. The conversion from a derelict old power station to where it has been restored is a fascinating glimpse of Knysna's past.
I am very happy that you enjoyed the food and your rooms at the hotel. In each room is a choice of Bodem filter coffee, instant granule coffee and a selection of teas.
I am so happy that you managed to get out onto the lagoon with your family. Having a skipper with excellent knowledge of the area makes the trip so much more informative and interesting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
There are newer reviews for The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 588 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2014

This hotel which used to be teh power station for Knysna, is intriging. Wonderful location on an island in teh middle of the lagoon, excellent room, nice pool area, great views from our balcony. Food is excellent, good wine list

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shinyhead69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Dear Shinyhead69
Thank you for your very much for all your compliments about the hotel. As a staff, we are all very proud of this little gem we have on Thesen Island. It holds so much of Knysna's history and heritage, which has only recently opened to the public. We are also very chuffed with the performance of our kitchen, as well as one of the more interesting wine lists to enjoy with the food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Located on Thesen Island on the edge of the Knysna Lagoon, the Turbine is a fascinating, insight into how to give a power station a complete, maverick, boutique make-over. The luxury and attention to detail are there but these are entwined around huge gaily painted 1700kw alternators, huge wood furnaces and throughout the hotel are the original mechanical and electrical switching boards. The staff were always eager to please and so friendly, nothing ever seemed to be too much trouble....truly a must-stay venue!

Room Tip: We were fortunate enough to secure a room with a balcony that overlooked the pool and Marina waterwa...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveDullstroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Dear DaveDullstroom
Thank You! What a great review. Until the Turbine Hotel opened, this was an industrial site, which only staff could enter. So much of Knysna's rich history was locked behind those gates, which we are now having such fun sharing with our local, national and overseas guests.
While exploring Knysna's past, we are adding top class restaurant's in Island Café as well as beautifully decorated rooms to enjoy the surroundings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We hadn't booked and got an excellent rate for a late afternoon arrival, having looked at other places on Thesen Island. Our reception was very welcoming. The hotel is intriguing having been the original turbine house and my husband was fascinated by the newly painted machinery which gave the hotel a very unusual and interesting atmosphere. The rooms were beautifully decorated with bits of machinery in evidence here and there and the bedlinen was of the highest quality. The only problem that we found was that, having asked if the rooms were quiet and being assured that they were, one of our group of four had to go downstairs at midnight to ask the staff to make less noise, it appeared that they were having a good time whilst off duty! At breakfast we were very disappointed with rather sloppy service and complained to the manager not only about this but about the night time disturbances. He was very apologetic, but it left us feeling that what should have been a unique 5* experience was somewhat lacking.

Room Tip: Hopefully all rooms will benefit from peaceful nights after our experience, but do ask the question...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBEGocek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear CBEGocek
Thank you for reviewing the Turbine Hotel & Spa. I am so happy that you enjoyed the unusual concept of the hotel, and got to relive a slice of Knysna's history and heritage. Being situated where we are on the very beautiful Knysna Lagoon and Thesen Island, is such an added bonus. Just 20 meters away from the breakfast room is the Knysna lagoon.
I do apologise for the evening staff's unacceptable noise level when they were leaving their evening shift, as well as the service levels at breakfast. The matter has been addressed at a very serious level. This is definitely not the very high standards, that is normally given to all of our valued guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Spent over a week in The Turbine Hotel in December and Janueary and loved the uniqueness of the hotel, the staff friendliness and the atmosphere this quaint hotel added to my trip. Would recommend The Turbine to anyone looking for a friendly and warm place to stay. Thank you for making my stay special!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_83Jozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Chris_83Jozi
Thank you for your great review of The Turbine Hotel. It's so nice to hear that the staff looked after you really well. We have an amazing concept in the beautiful of Knysna Lagoon and Thesen Island town. Should you, your family or friends be coming our way anytime soon, please give us a call and let us spoil them, "the Turbine way".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The Turbine Hotel on Thesen Island is an old power Station modified to a modern hotel. The building and the rooms are well designed, interiour fits to the building. You cannot expect vivid life but to enjoy the South African way of Relaxing. A fine recommendatio to calm down and enjoy he beautiful Knysna Environment.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edmund-Zuber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Edmund-Zuber
Thank you for your good review of The Turbine Hotel. Knysna and it's surrounds is all about natural beauty and nature. I am happy that you got to relax and enjoy the unique atmosphere that our unique hotel has to offer. Each room is individually decorated and themed to some of the many attractions and history that makes Knysna so special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We spent two nights in this unique Hotel and we just loved it! The staff is wonderful and the food delicious. We also appreciated the pool. Our room was quite small but the sleep quality was perfect. The breakfast however should offer a wider variety. Otherwise we were entirely satisfied.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiger49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Tiger49
Thank you ever so much for reviewing The Turbine Hotel. I will certainly pass on your kind compliments to our hardworking, but ever friendly staff. Being able to work in our amazing environment, with so much heritage and Knysna history around us, makes coming to work a really fun experience every day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.8 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
821 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.4 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
369 reviews
1.9 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.2 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa

Address: 36 Sawtooth Lane | Thesen Islands, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range: $184 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Turbine Hotel and Spa was an ambitious project which transformed the old power station into a unique 5 star boutique hotel with a massive wow factor. The Turbine Hotel is surrounded by water on three sides. The Hotel comprises of the Island Café & Tapas Bar, as well as twenty five individually themed suites of the highest standard. The Amani Spa offers the ultimate escape for pure self-indulgence. The Turbine Water Club offers al fresco dining from our deli, oysters from our champagne bar and a wide variety of activities on both land and the Knysna lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing