We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“old technology turnde to a modern art hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“old technology turnde to a modern art hotel”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The Turbine Hotel on Thesen Island is an old power Station modified to a modern hotel. The building and the rooms are well designed, interiour fits to the building. You cannot expect vivid life but to enjoy the South African way of Relaxing. A fine recommendatio to calm down and enjoy he beautiful Knysna Environment.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edmund-Zuber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Edmund-Zuber
Thank you for your good review of The Turbine Hotel. Knysna and it's surrounds is all about natural beauty and nature. I am happy that you got to relax and enjoy the unique atmosphere that our unique hotel has to offer. Each room is individually decorated and themed to some of the many attractions and history that makes Knysna so special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    147
    40
    14
    10
See reviews for
106
320
21
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bronschhofen
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We spent two nights in this unique Hotel and we just loved it! The staff is wonderful and the food delicious. We also appreciated the pool. Our room was quite small but the sleep quality was perfect. The breakfast however should offer a wider variety. Otherwise we were entirely satisfied.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiger49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Tiger49
Thank you ever so much for reviewing The Turbine Hotel. I will certainly pass on your kind compliments to our hardworking, but ever friendly staff. Being able to work in our amazing environment, with so much heritage and Knysna history around us, makes coming to work a really fun experience every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed three days in this modern clean and very comfortable hotel. The staff were friendly and most helpful. The atmosphere is casual, and the food in both the Island Cafe and the Hotel Dining Room is great, much better than "just hotel dining". The tapas for lunch were excellent, and the cooked breakfasts were wonderful. The hotel is in a converted power station, and for us that added to the quirky charm of the place. It is located of the waterfront of Thesen Island with great views of the lagoon and very handy for the rest of the town and the main attractions. Very much worth a visit and a great base fir the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a lagoon view, ( most rooms have this)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear ArthurD
Thank to so much for your kind comments about your stay at The Turbine Hotel. There is so much about the hotel that is different, unique and exciting. Using Turbine as a base to explore the many beautiful attractions of Thesen Island, Knysna and the greater Garden route is ideal. so many of these areas are within walking distance or within an hours drive from the hotel.
New chef Andrew is producing amazing dishes from his kitchen, and is motivated into making our Island Café restaurant, a must visit eating experience while staying in Knysna.
Please visit us again on your next visit to our country, or feel free to recommend us to family and friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

It is painful to feel the need to give a less than favorable rating to a hotel that has so much good going for it, and it is difficult to decide where to begin with the positives for this "Four Star" facility, although the warm and cheerful reception with welcoming libation, is as good a place as any. The staff was attentive to a fault throughout our three night stay.

We had advised our South African travel agent that we wanted a mix of first rate hotels and "Boutique" residences. As it developed, it was clear that the Turbine is probably more "Kinky" than "Boutique".

The imaginative team that rescued this century old plywood factory and power plant is to rewarded for their ingenuity in redesigning the space, and in making visible the disassembled and artfully rearranged pieces of its skeleton, consisting of the original pipes, gauges, boilers, valves, chains, and signs from the early twentieth century. It is worth a visit, if only to look.

But to stay?

A bedroom so small, that you can't walk around the far side of the bed. Your already narrow path is even further hampered by the lovely telescope that they have provided for star gazing. A real toe stubber in the event of a middle of the night visit to the loo. To get to the bath towel for a shower, you must first locate it, far from the shower stall itself, at the far end of the bathtub, protected from easy reach by the furnishings, forcing the prospective bather to climb over the tub's (approximately) two foot side and walk in the tub to its other end, and after grabbing the towel backing up untill finally finding a place to climb out of the tub. And, although the hotel is "eco friendly" and they urge you to hang up your towels if you don't need to have them replaced each day, there are no places to hang towels.

WiFi is free, BUT you time out after using somewhere between only 250 and 500 mb (just enough to send a couple of photos to family or to download the morning paper), after which you are logged out and need to log in again, with a new username and a new password. A nuisance in this day and age, and, in fact, a royal pain in the you know where. The reception will give you the new data as often as you need it, and I was eventually given a stack of usernames and passwords for my use. This was a good thing too, since at the end of day two, the second floor lost telephone service, including contact with the front desk, and that wasn't going to be fixed until the next day.

If you value bathroom and toilet privacy, room 204 isn't for you. It does have a "terrace", but there is no view beyond walls and rooftops.

Our room was quite warm, and it did not respond to the air conditioner's remote, resulting in one very hot, sleepless, night. The cheerful lady from reception couldn't get it to go on either, until, finally, the, cheerful as usual, manager reset the entire works, giving us a final comfortable night.

So my final rating: Five stars for a walk around, a little less than four stars for a one night stay and a trial run, otherwise 2.5.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DrbobG1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Drbobgold
Thank you for your very balanced review of The Turbine Hotel. We do have an amazing building to work within. so much of Knysna's history and heritage could have ended in a pile of scrap metal, if the owners had not taken the very brave decision to restore the old power station so meticulously and with such a degree of integrity. It really is a "must visit" in Knysna.
Oh dear! I am so sorry that the Turbine Hotel room, did not tick all of the boxes for you. We have taken your comments about some of the room problems on board and are already changing towel rail positions, where the telescope is positioned, etc. This has already made a big difference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We went to the hotel for an early evening cocktail anticipating a good vibe and service. Not busy when we arrived but picked up quickly. The servers were all absolutey delightful but seemed very disorganised- not showing people to seats , clearing plates, serving drinks and mixing cocktails. It would have benefited from clearer roles. Hey this is africa and their willingness and smiles made up for it!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lynne951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Lynne951
Thank you for posting a review. We are pleased that the friendliness of the waiters was a positive.
So sorry to hear that the rest was disorganised. We have been working really hard of late, on service training, standards menu quality. If you have looked at Island café restaurant reviews of late, they have been exceptionally good. The feedback will be used constructively to iron out these lapses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

The Turbine is a must see, must experience type of hotel. A very ambitious project in lovely surroundings. The staff is helpful. My best experience was when we wanted to have a night cap and the bar was closed. On realising our frustration, the guys on duty willingly opened the bar, waited on us until we were ready to go to bed! Now that is service!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 660NOBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear 660NOBE
So happy that you enjoyed the unique experience that The Turbine Hotel offers, from so many aspects. We have the most amazing building to work from. So much of Knysna's history and culture were formed from the Timber industry that surrounded Thesen Island.
We are delighted, that the spontaneous hospitality of the night staff shone through. This is just what we have been trying to instil as a service culture at the hotel. Exceeding expectations, brings a big smile to all the Turbine staff.
If you happen to be travelling this way again, please call in again. You would be most welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, Arkansas
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Extremely comfortable and reasonable priced. Lovely friendly staff especially your receptionist Onandi she's a friendly little lady i ever since, she willing to help anytime always smilling. Food cleanliness wooow what can i say about Turbine is the best hotel ever, Thanks to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 919Eugen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear 919Eugene
Onande now has an even bigger smile.
Thank you so much for posting such a great review. This positive feedback is so motivating for all of the staff, as it is recognition of all the hard work they put in here at Turbine Hotel.
It is a wonderful feeling knowing that you made a little difference to somebody's holiday in the beautiful Garden Route.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.8 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
1.9 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
6.5 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
1.7 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa

Property: The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Address: 36 Sawtooth Lane | Thesen Islands, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Turbine Hotel and Spa was an ambitious project which transformed the old power station into a unique 5 star boutique hotel with a massive wow factor. The Turbine Hotel is surrounded by water on three sides. The Hotel comprises of the Island Café & Tapas Bar, as well as twenty five individually themed suites of the highest standard. The Amani Spa offers the ultimate escape for pure self-indulgence. The Turbine Water Club offers al fresco dining from our deli, oysters from our champagne bar and a wide variety of activities on both land and the Knysna lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing