We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Excellent service"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
England, Arkansas
1 review
“"Excellent service"”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Extremely comfortable and reasonable priced. Lovely friendly staff especially your receptionist Onandi she's a friendly little lady i ever since, she willing to help anytime always smilling. Food cleanliness wooow what can i say about Turbine is the best hotel ever, Thanks to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 919Eugen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear 919Eugene
Onande now has an even bigger smile.
Thank you so much for posting such a great review. This positive feedback is so motivating for all of the staff, as it is recognition of all the hard work they put in here at Turbine Hotel.
It is a wonderful feeling knowing that you made a little difference to somebody's holiday in the beautiful Garden Route.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    148
    41
    14
    10
See reviews for
108
329
21
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We have visited different hotels over many years in Knysna, but find the Turbine hotel and spa definitely the best.
over the last 3 years we have been back to the Turbine several times and every time, we have found your hotel the best in all aspects ,you have accommodated our special wishes on quite a few occasions, therefore YOUR personal service in addition to your ambiance (its a must see) food cleanliness, position in Knysna, makes this Hotel a must visit when you are in Knysna or nearest surroundings
Congratulations to management and of course staff !!!!

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent , with a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Rob87
Thank you so much for giving Turbine hotel such a great review. Staff and management are passionate about this very special place, and getting recognition for all the hard work done with a genuine smile makes such a difference in there day.
We do have a unique piece of Knysna history here, on the very beautiful Thesen Island. We are in the heart of Knysna, without feeling overcrowded or commercial.
We really look forward to your next visit. should you have family or friends travelling in our area, let them contact me directly so that we can help them with our special brand of hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We could not fault our stay at The Turbine Hotel, Knysna. The staff were cheerful and attentive, the restaurant good, the rooms comfortable. The concept of the design of the hotel is really interesting and creates a quirky ambience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myril W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Myril W
thank you so much for giving Turbine Hotel such a great review. We have such a unique beautiful building to work in. The fact that it is combined with a stunning boutique hotel makes every day a fun day at work for management and staff.
Should you ever be visiting this side of the world again soon, or you have family or friends coming this way, send them our way so that we can really spoil them in our special way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This hotel is unlike any other I have ever seen!
Fascinating restoration using all the machinery from the past - parts decorate rooms and corridors. Wonderful to photograph, lovely rooms all different - the Nautical Room a must for rowers! Even a chopping board and a lemon and knife to make a G & T. Extremely comfortable and reasonably priced. Lovely warm staff - the breakfast particularly good - and it's a lovely location near the water & boat hire Small outdoor pool..Thesen Island much quieter than central Knysna as little traffic, but lots of places to eat and nice shops.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear JudithS
Thank you so much for reviewing The Turbine Hotel. You comments are very kind and I will certainly pass them on to our hardworking staff.
The hotel is so unique. So much care has been taken in restoring the old power station to a true representation of what it was.
So happy that you enjoyed the individual décor of the room. A lot of thought and imagination went into each room. We are really spoilt to be situated in the little paradise that is Thesen Island. Quiet, safe and just beautiful. Please visit us again soon on your next trip down the Garden Route. Should you have any friends traveling this way, feel free to give them my details, so that we can really look after them and spoil them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

A great idea for the re-use of one of Thesen Islands industrial buildings with a quirky use of old pieces of equipment and overall layout. The people are friendly and attentive but the speed of service in the restaurant and bar area are left wanting. The air conditioning in my bedroom was also pretty ineffective and set to a minimum of 20 degrees - which it never seemed to get down to ?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnyHSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear JohnyHSurrey
Thank you for reviewing Turbine Hotel. The use of the derelict old power station and turning it into this wonderful boutique hotel, delights and pleases so many of our guests. I will certainly pass on your compliments of friendliness to our staff. they are also very proud of the hotel and enjoy interacting with our guests. Your comments about slowness of service have been addressed with the morning staff.
If you are ever in the area again, please feel free to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Loved the architecture and design that went into renovating the place. Aesthetically a very pleasing establishment. The suites are spacious and stunning but the standard rooms are very small. Rather upgrade to a suite. Lovely location and great breakfast.

Room Tip: Book a Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClemD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear CLEMD2014
Thank you for reviewing The Turbine Hotel. The architecture and design of the hotel is really special, as it has kept and restored a major part of Knysna's history that could have so easily been lost. Our location on Thesen Island harbour town is perfect for guests to explore the surrounding area on foot in a safe, beautiful setting. We do offer a really good and slightly different breakfast to most hotels.
Next time you, your family or friends are visiting the Garden Route, please come and visit us again. You will be most welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Throughout our trip to SA I have been struck by the friendliness of people and the quality of service - the Turbine is I'm afraid the exception. Upon check in we had to carry our own bags to the room while the guy on reception watched us struggle. No welcome drink (everywhere we have had bubbles) a cursory explanation of the room and he was gone. The room was poky by the standards of others and the bathroom shutters afford little privacy. To be fair the breakfast staff were good and the boat trip was a highlight. The architecture of the place is impressive but the service leaves a significantly less impressive impression.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Paul W
Thank you for reviewing the hotel. We are happy that most aspects of your stay you were happy with. We do have an good breakfast spread and the staff enjoy interacting with the guests, not only for food service, but making suggestions of places in the area to visit.
Your experience at check-in has been dealt with. the person concerned has been severely reprimanded, as his lack of correct procedures is totally contrary to the warm welcoming check-in all our guests should receive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.8 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
805 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.4 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.7 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
369 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa

Property: The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Address: 36 Sawtooth Lane | Thesen Islands, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Turbine Hotel and Spa was an ambitious project which transformed the old power station into a unique 5 star boutique hotel with a massive wow factor. The Turbine Hotel is surrounded by water on three sides. The Hotel comprises of the Island Café & Tapas Bar, as well as twenty five individually themed suites of the highest standard. The Amani Spa offers the ultimate escape for pure self-indulgence. The Turbine Water Club offers al fresco dining from our deli, oysters from our champagne bar and a wide variety of activities on both land and the Knysna lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing