We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Wonderful hotel, very nice rooms, splendid views but was also overpriced. i believe it might be the most expensive hotel in krysna so this is not the place if you are on a budget. breakfast was yummy and we met the manager who turns out grew up in Singapore, and we had a bit in common. For a 5 star hotel which was expensive, I remember having a few issues with the amenities provided... for example, no toothbrush and toothpaste, which to me, is basic in a 3 star hotel. We were there for 2 days and completely disappointed that the spa was booked out the entire time, perhaps bcos it was the oyster festival... other than that, great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shumeihoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst L, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear shumeihoon

Thank you for the review and it is always good to hear when guests love our rooms, views, breakfasts and the location on Thesen Island, Knysna.

I don't agree with your assertion that we are the most expensive hotel in Knysna. As a 5-star graded hotel, it is not likely to appeal to anyone on a budget, as you mention. That said, I believe we offer competitive rates for this particular rate category, and as much can be determined via comparison websites where we are positioned favourably amongst our competitors. Further, I believe our food, beverage, spa and other activity prices are extremely reasonable and present excellent value for money.

Regarding amenities in the Suites, all are stocked with cotton wool, ear buds, sewing kits, shower caps and shoe mits. At Reception, we do keep complimentary stock of tootbrush and shaving kits for those guests who forgot these items at home.

Best regards

Ernst and The Turbine Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
There are newer reviews for The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 588 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

Located just on the edge of town the hotel is unique and provides plenty of interest as it is build around a turbine. Shopping centre is within walking distance. Plenty of walks around the hotel. Staff were very frindly

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlbertA1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Unique, funky, attractive, well-positioned. Visited this hotel as a day visitor when it was brand new only a couple of years ago and was determined to come back and try it out; it did not disappoint at all. The staff and service was brilliant, and the accommodation was superb. We did stay in one of the superior rooms, which was fantastic, as the standard rooms are quite a bit smaller, but for a short stay would still be more than adequate. The position is also prime for Knysna - on the canals in Thesen Island, right by the restaurants, and easy walking distance to the Waterfront (and even the centre of town if the weather is good). Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wking21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst L, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear wking21

Your review is highly appreciated, thank you. Your adjectives say it all and we are very fortunate with our positioning not only in the centre of Knysna, but the centre of the lagoon too!

We aim to entice all our day visitors to return for an actual stay and I am delighted that you weren't disappointed.

Best wishes

Ernst and The Turbine Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Truly enjoyed this very unique hotel. Upon arrival, we received a tour and explanation of all the machinery on display. The staff is very well versed and trained about the history and operation of the turbine. The location is great. The only drawback was that the room was small and felt a bit cramped but the bathroom was huge. The staff were all very friendly but sometimes a bit slow. All in all, it was a fun experience and I would recommend this if you are looking for something a bit out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandwaySt_Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed in the Turbine Hotel during our trip to Knysna during July 2013.
Coming from the far more luxurious Delaire Graff, this seemed a bit pale in comparison.

While the concept is unique and they have tried to create an offbeat themed hotel, the service is a bit of a letdown.
The rooms are quite small, with poorly designed ventilation for the bathrooms.

Recommended for people wanting to do some offbeat travel, but not for people looking for a luxurious hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a decent sized room. Rooms next to the pool were quite small.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chaitanya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst L, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear chaitanyaagrawal

Thank you for your post. We will continue to seek to improve our standards and execution so that we may eventually be compared favourably with the best properties around.

Our Suites have been individually-appointed and the designers faced a challenge to build rooms among the existing machinery. While some are compact, they make the most of the available space, and each has it's own appealing quirk or nuance. Of course, our Luxury Suites and Honeymoon Suite are larger and more spacious for those guests who insist on having more space.

Regards

Ernst and The Turbine Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Such a rad little hotel. The staff were awesome, the rooms were comfy and luxurious, and the Island Cafe and Tapas bar are great. Oh and the breakfast's are epic too. Location is perfect - close to pretty much everything and in a beautiful setting. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst L, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear Andrew S

Thank you for the review and recommendation. We are fond of our "rad little hotel" and look forward to sharing it with many more guests like you!

Greetings from Thesen Islands, Knysna

Ernst and The Turbine Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a great property that has been cleverly though out by the designers. Rather than tearing down a piece of heritage it has been thoughfully preserved and offers a truly 5 star stay overlooking the Knysna lagoon.

The rooms are beautifully appointed nad very comfortable and waking up early to watch the sun rise is truly breathtaking. Ernst and Debbie know all the history on the hotel and Knysna, and are such gracious hosts, and passionate about what they do. The staff are were well trained and friendly, the food excellent and we didn’t want to leave this hotel, and even tried to change our forward reservations to get an extra night in. We were all fascinated by how the machinery has been incorporated into the design, and the hotel tour by Ernst, was much appreciated.

The whole team deserve great credit and if we didn’t live so far way, it would be back sooner rather than later

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigSeaward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst L, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear CraigSeaward

Thank you for the great review. Given the hotel's history as a power station, it would have been a shame to lose any of it's connection to the bygone era of woodmilling in Knsyna.

We enjoy offering our guests historical tours of the hotel, and showing them the various large components such as the original boiler apparatus and large turbines.

Wishing you well

Ernst and The Turbine Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.8 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
821 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.4 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
369 reviews
1.9 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.2 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa

Address: 36 Sawtooth Lane | Thesen Islands, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range: $185 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Turbine Hotel and Spa was an ambitious project which transformed the old power station into a unique 5 star boutique hotel with a massive wow factor. The Turbine Hotel is surrounded by water on three sides. The Hotel comprises of the Island Café & Tapas Bar, as well as twenty five individually themed suites of the highest standard. The Amani Spa offers the ultimate escape for pure self-indulgence. The Turbine Water Club offers al fresco dining from our deli, oysters from our champagne bar and a wide variety of activities on both land and the Knysna lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing