We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Novel idea but poor implementation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed in the Turbine Hotel during our trip to Knysna during July 2013.
Coming from the far more luxurious Delaire Graff, this seemed a bit pale in comparison.

While the concept is unique and they have tried to create an offbeat themed hotel, the service is a bit of a letdown.
The rooms are quite small, with poorly designed ventilation for the bathrooms.

Recommended for people wanting to do some offbeat travel, but not for people looking for a luxurious hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a decent sized room. Rooms next to the pool were quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chaitanya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst L, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear chaitanyaagrawal

Thank you for your post. We will continue to seek to improve our standards and execution so that we may eventually be compared favourably with the best properties around.

Our Suites have been individually-appointed and the designers faced a challenge to build rooms among the existing machinery. While some are compact, they make the most of the available space, and each has it's own appealing quirk or nuance. Of course, our Luxury Suites and Honeymoon Suite are larger and more spacious for those guests who insist on having more space.

Regards

Ernst and The Turbine Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (602)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 602 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

Such a rad little hotel. The staff were awesome, the rooms were comfy and luxurious, and the Island Cafe and Tapas bar are great. Oh and the breakfast's are epic too. Location is perfect - close to pretty much everything and in a beautiful setting. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst L, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear Andrew S

Thank you for the review and recommendation. We are fond of our "rad little hotel" and look forward to sharing it with many more guests like you!

Greetings from Thesen Islands, Knysna

Ernst and The Turbine Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a great property that has been cleverly though out by the designers. Rather than tearing down a piece of heritage it has been thoughfully preserved and offers a truly 5 star stay overlooking the Knysna lagoon.

The rooms are beautifully appointed nad very comfortable and waking up early to watch the sun rise is truly breathtaking. Ernst and Debbie know all the history on the hotel and Knysna, and are such gracious hosts, and passionate about what they do. The staff are were well trained and friendly, the food excellent and we didn’t want to leave this hotel, and even tried to change our forward reservations to get an extra night in. We were all fascinated by how the machinery has been incorporated into the design, and the hotel tour by Ernst, was much appreciated.

The whole team deserve great credit and if we didn’t live so far way, it would be back sooner rather than later

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigSeaward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst L, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear CraigSeaward

Thank you for the great review. Given the hotel's history as a power station, it would have been a shame to lose any of it's connection to the bygone era of woodmilling in Knsyna.

We enjoy offering our guests historical tours of the hotel, and showing them the various large components such as the original boiler apparatus and large turbines.

Wishing you well

Ernst and The Turbine Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Extremely clever use of natural resource. From what must have been an ugly industrial area to the present day is a brilliant example of innovative and clever architectural design. This was carried right through to the room with delightful little examples of industrial machinery everywhere, it was even out in the car park on the walls in front of the parking space.
The service was excellent at all times, friendly and helpful.
The bar area was another example of very clever design and the night we spent there a very fun evening.
For anyone with even a hint of connection to old machinery or bits thereof, this place brings a smile.
The room

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gil w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great surroundings for dinner, husband was fascinated by all the machinery throughout the hotel.
Food delicious, very well trained and friendly staff and we sat by a lovely warm fire.
We were shown around the hotel rooms at our request, a must go and visit place.

Room Tip: Did not stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MagsGMaldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Knysna's Turbine Hotel is one of those must-stay hotels. First class service, wonderful location, great food and very comfortable rooms. The hotel's history forms the basis for the décor, which is unique and beautifully done. The hotel team, ably led by Ernst Ludick, provide personal attention and can't do enough to ensure guests have a wonderful experience. Ernst even offered to drive me to the taxi pick-up point for the start of the Kynsna Forest Marathon....at 4:30 in the morning!! Say no more...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jules G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst L, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear Jules G

It was a pleasure to have hosted you at The Turbine. We are very much about offering the personal touch to our guests, and to provide for a memorable experience. And, of course, we need to care for our die-hard runners!

Best wishes

Ernst and The Turbine Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Thanks for an amazing stay! The rooms were stylish and functional with awesome breakfasts and dinner! I really loved the decor and ambiance! Good service and superbly located on Thesen island. A great getaway for a couple!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.8 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
828 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.4 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
1.7 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#3 of 30 in Knysna
369 reviews
1.9 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa

Address: 36 Sawtooth Lane | Thesen Islands, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range: $171 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Turbine Hotel and Spa was an ambitious project which transformed the old power station into a unique 5 star boutique hotel with a massive wow factor. The Turbine Hotel is surrounded by water on three sides. The Hotel comprises of the Island Café & Tapas Bar, as well as twenty five individually themed suites of the highest standard. The Amani Spa offers the ultimate escape for pure self-indulgence. The Turbine Water Club offers al fresco dining from our deli, oysters from our champagne bar and a wide variety of activities on both land and the Knysna lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing