We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel and Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Highly recommended by the locals for the excellence of the food. We were not disappointed, a great meal, reasonably priced and not overcharged for the wine. The conversion of the building from a wood fired power station into a smart hotel and restaurant is very interesting, clever and stylish.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Adrian and Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst L, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Adrian and Dee B

We are delighted whenever guests have a great experience with us, especially when they've been referred by others.

Our menu is constantly evolving and our latest offering is a bountiful seafood platter for two. We are striving for the Island Cafe to become one of the must-visit restaurants for visitors to Knysna.

Best wishes

Ernst and The Turbine Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (615)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

484 - 490 of 615 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel in Febuary for the weekend.It is just amazing how they have built the Hotel around the old orignal power station. iT GIVES A GREAT FEELING OF THE PAST .Our room on the 1st floor looked out on tto the Heads and the lagoon, wonderful.
The room at the back have a small balcony and overlook the pool and canals of the island.
We enjoyed the peace and quietness of the Hotel.The Island Cafe serves breakfast and other meals, with tables in amongst the old TURBINES.
The tapas bar has some interesting food and cocktails.
A great HOTEL WITH OTHER RESTURANTS IN WALKING DISTANCE.

Room Tip: Front room for a view of the Lagoon, Backrooms overlookig the pool with a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OUTOFAFRICA_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst L, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear OUTOFAFRICA_11

We are thrilled that you appreciate the historical aspect of The Turbine, as it played a key role in Knysna's rich past. It was a challenge to transform the space into a boutique hotel and retain the original elements, and all visitors will agree that we were able to do beyond expectation.

Our Island Cafe is proving to be one of the more popular dining venues in Knysna with locals and visitors alike, and we are fortunate to be in an excellent location on Thesen Islands.

Thank you for your review.

Regards

Ernst and The Turbine Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is a fabulous place - a beautiful setting and fantastic staff. A more than 5 star experience - can't wait to go back. The service is outstanding and the rooms are wonderful and modern. No dusty carpets! I am not sure if all the rooms have views, but it is worth having a room with a view as its breathtaking. So many restuarants to walk to on the island. Such an innovate concept to reuse a power station and keep all the machinery!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view - its breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melody E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of celebrating our wedding anniversary at this unusual yet amazing hotel for 2 nights and it was too beautiful. We received excellent service from the moment we (ok, hubby made the booking) made a booking to the day we checked out.

First we couldn't get over the idea of transforming an old power station into a hotel, what creativity! The location (Thesen Island), the view and the service excellence of the hotel staff (esp. Liesl Rentzke and General Manager, Ernst Ludick who made the occassion extra special for us), was the cherry on top.

What a beautiful experience!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargorieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst L, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear MargorieM

Thank you for the review and we are proud we were able to spoil you for your anniversary. I have a feeling we'll be welcoming you back in future and look forward to seeing you then.

Regards

Ernst and The Turbine Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Turbine has managed to get their mix of excellent cuisine and service, together with service, brilliant ambiance and a quaint history of the original old power station, just right. A must to experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElaineSchoeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst L, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Elaine Schoeman

Thank you for the review. We hope to become known as the best boutique hotel in Knysna and the Garden Route, and aspire to put forward an excellent offering always. To that end, our front of house staff have all recently taken part in a comprehensive service revision course as we strive to lift our quality standards.

Warm regards

Ernst

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We only stayed 1 night but we're definitely going back! From the moment you walk into this hotel till the moment you depart you are experiencing something not many hotels can offer you and that is a part of history of the old powerhouse that is now this amazing hotel. Aside from the superb architectural experience the situation on the canals is fantastic, the service outstanding and the room amenities and quality beyond expectation. Anyone going to Knysna should not miss this experience and if you are not able to stay there then pay them a visit ....it's worth every minute and every cent.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the pool area is one of the better views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at the Turbine Hotel & Spa in Knysna in December for our honeymoon and were blown away by the excellence of their staff, their meals, drinks and accommodation. We have never before encountered such efficient staff / service. The employee of the month was especially good. Would recommend this hotel to everyone. Liezel & Jamin

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liezel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst L, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Liezel L

We are proud that we were able to make your honeymoon such a memorable one. As with all of our reviews, we will share the comments amongst our team and I am sure they will all appreciate your compliments.

Wishing you and Jamin much married bliss

Ernst and The Turbine Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.8 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
840 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.4 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
1.7 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#3 of 30 in Knysna
372 reviews
1.2 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#2 of 30 in Knysna
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa

Address: 36 Sawtooth Lane | Thesen Islands, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range: $173 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Turbine Hotel and Spa was an ambitious project which transformed the old power station into a unique 5 star boutique hotel with a massive wow factor. The Turbine Hotel is surrounded by water on three sides. The Hotel comprises of the Island Café restaurant and Gastro Pub, as well as twenty six individually themed rooms and suites of the highest standard. The Turbine Spa offers pampering treatments to indulge and relax weary souls, while the Turbine Water Club arranges lagoon cruises, whale watching, forest hikes, city tours and mountain biking for adventure seekers and explorers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing