We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Nearby Hotels
$188
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brenton Beach House(Brenton-on-Sea)(Great Value!)
$75
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roseroc Guest House(Knysna)(Great Value!)
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oyster Creek Lodge(Knysna)(Great Value!)
$89
$77
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jembjos Knysna Lodge & Backpackers(Knysna)(Great Value!)
$37
$30
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$217
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $302/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Conrad Pezula(Knysna)
$196
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (683)
Filter reviews
683 results
Traveler rating
426
177
46
15
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
426
177
46
15
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspower stationthesen islandpower plantisland cafeoriginal machinerygastro pubinteresting hotelwonderful hotelgarden routehoneymoon suitebeautiful settingbreakfast was excellentwonderful stayattention to detailoystersamazing viewsknysna lagoon
Filter
Updating list...
543 - 548 of 683 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of celebrating our wedding anniversary at this unusual yet amazing hotel for 2 nights and it was too beautiful. We received excellent service from the moment we (ok, hubby made the booking) made a booking to the day we checked out.

First we couldn't get over the idea of transforming an old power station into a hotel, what creativity! The location (Thesen Island), the view and the service excellence of the hotel staff (esp. Liesl Rentzke and General Manager, Ernst Ludick who made the occassion extra special for us), was the cherry on top.

What a beautiful experience!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargorieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst L, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear MargorieM

Thank you for the review and we are proud we were able to spoil you for your anniversary. I have a feeling we'll be welcoming you back in future and look forward to seeing you then.

Regards

Ernst and The Turbine Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Turbine has managed to get their mix of excellent cuisine and service, together with service, brilliant ambiance and a quaint history of the original old power station, just right. A must to experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElaineSchoeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst L, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Elaine Schoeman

Thank you for the review. We hope to become known as the best boutique hotel in Knysna and the Garden Route, and aspire to put forward an excellent offering always. To that end, our front of house staff have all recently taken part in a comprehensive service revision course as we strive to lift our quality standards.

Warm regards

Ernst

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We only stayed 1 night but we're definitely going back! From the moment you walk into this hotel till the moment you depart you are experiencing something not many hotels can offer you and that is a part of history of the old powerhouse that is now this amazing hotel. Aside from the superb architectural experience the situation on the canals is fantastic, the service outstanding and the room amenities and quality beyond expectation. Anyone going to Knysna should not miss this experience and if you are not able to stay there then pay them a visit ....it's worth every minute and every cent.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the pool area is one of the better views...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at the Turbine Hotel & Spa in Knysna in December for our honeymoon and were blown away by the excellence of their staff, their meals, drinks and accommodation. We have never before encountered such efficient staff / service. The employee of the month was especially good. Would recommend this hotel to everyone. Liezel & Jamin

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liezel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst L, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Liezel L

We are proud that we were able to make your honeymoon such a memorable one. As with all of our reviews, we will share the comments amongst our team and I am sure they will all appreciate your compliments.

Wishing you and Jamin much married bliss

Ernst and The Turbine Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My family of 4 spent 4 nights at Turbine Hotel and Spa just after New Year. Unfortunately our arrival was very disappointing as the young man at reception was very off hand and distant. The hotel was very unusual and definately some sort of initiation tour would have been helpful - he was vague - almost being rude.
Other staff were helpful and tried hard to please. However, they may have been at a slight disadvantage as we had come directly from The Cape Grace, Capetown!
Rooms were pleasant although both of ours had no outlook. Breakfast was OK and we had dinner twice which was excellent - however the menu was the same every night we were there.
Turbine is a hotel that is trying very hard but although management appeared to be constantly about no one approached or spoke to us at any time. We did enjoy our time here but by the end we were getting slightly tired of the abundance of the ornamental machinery!

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the water.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 577Nicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst L, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear 577Nicola

I am pleased your family had an enjoyable stay in spite of the not-so-warm welcome that you received. We have initiated appropriate counseling measures to address this issue, and insist that all of our Reception staff provide commentary on the various machinery when showing guests to their Suites.

With the hotel being just over two years old, our aim is to achieve similar renown for our quality of service as some of the better-known, established hotels in the country are famous for. I'm sure we'll get there!

Regards

Ernst and The Turbine Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews