We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of celebrating our wedding anniversary at this unusual yet amazing hotel for 2 nights and it was too beautiful. We received excellent service from the moment we (ok, hubby made the booking) made a booking to the day we checked out.

First we couldn't get over the idea of transforming an old power station into a hotel, what creativity! The location (Thesen Island), the view and the service excellence of the hotel staff (esp. Liesl Rentzke and General Manager, Ernst Ludick who made the occassion extra special for us), was the cherry on top.

What a beautiful experience!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargorieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst L, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear MargorieM

Thank you for the review and we are proud we were able to spoil you for your anniversary. I have a feeling we'll be welcoming you back in future and look forward to seeing you then.

Regards

Ernst and The Turbine Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

488 - 494 of 616 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Turbine has managed to get their mix of excellent cuisine and service, together with service, brilliant ambiance and a quaint history of the original old power station, just right. A must to experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElaineSchoeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst L, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Elaine Schoeman

Thank you for the review. We hope to become known as the best boutique hotel in Knysna and the Garden Route, and aspire to put forward an excellent offering always. To that end, our front of house staff have all recently taken part in a comprehensive service revision course as we strive to lift our quality standards.

Warm regards

Ernst

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We only stayed 1 night but we're definitely going back! From the moment you walk into this hotel till the moment you depart you are experiencing something not many hotels can offer you and that is a part of history of the old powerhouse that is now this amazing hotel. Aside from the superb architectural experience the situation on the canals is fantastic, the service outstanding and the room amenities and quality beyond expectation. Anyone going to Knysna should not miss this experience and if you are not able to stay there then pay them a visit ....it's worth every minute and every cent.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the pool area is one of the better views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at the Turbine Hotel & Spa in Knysna in December for our honeymoon and were blown away by the excellence of their staff, their meals, drinks and accommodation. We have never before encountered such efficient staff / service. The employee of the month was especially good. Would recommend this hotel to everyone. Liezel & Jamin

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liezel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst L, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Liezel L

We are proud that we were able to make your honeymoon such a memorable one. As with all of our reviews, we will share the comments amongst our team and I am sure they will all appreciate your compliments.

Wishing you and Jamin much married bliss

Ernst and The Turbine Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My family of 4 spent 4 nights at Turbine Hotel and Spa just after New Year. Unfortunately our arrival was very disappointing as the young man at reception was very off hand and distant. The hotel was very unusual and definately some sort of initiation tour would have been helpful - he was vague - almost being rude.
Other staff were helpful and tried hard to please. However, they may have been at a slight disadvantage as we had come directly from The Cape Grace, Capetown!
Rooms were pleasant although both of ours had no outlook. Breakfast was OK and we had dinner twice which was excellent - however the menu was the same every night we were there.
Turbine is a hotel that is trying very hard but although management appeared to be constantly about no one approached or spoke to us at any time. We did enjoy our time here but by the end we were getting slightly tired of the abundance of the ornamental machinery!

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 577Nicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst L, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear 577Nicola

I am pleased your family had an enjoyable stay in spite of the not-so-warm welcome that you received. We have initiated appropriate counseling measures to address this issue, and insist that all of our Reception staff provide commentary on the various machinery when showing guests to their Suites.

With the hotel being just over two years old, our aim is to achieve similar renown for our quality of service as some of the better-known, established hotels in the country are famous for. I'm sure we'll get there!

Regards

Ernst and The Turbine Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The hotel speaks to the characteristic imagination and creativity ones finds in South Africa. It is a striking example of a post-industrial remake of a power station. The rooms are impeccably designed and presented. Be prepared, however, that the rooms are quite small and price high. The public spaces suffer from the intrusion of gaudy "art" that is for sale and not in keeping with the original design. Service is very uneven, at the front desk, in the bar and in the restaurant. Our car was valet parked by the manager on arrival, but no one was on hand to even help with bags when we left. There were various confusions with orders in the cafe and bar and service was always slow. None of this ruined the trip but this is not 5 star - check out the Conrad Pezula to witness that.

Room Tip: Rooms can suffer from noise from other rooms, avoid 110, 111 and 112 that overlook the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevinathome62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst L, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Kevinathome62

Thank you for your review. It is unfortunate that your taste in art differs from ours, but that is art, I suppose. We make a point of showcasing predominantly contemporary pieces from talented emerging artists from our immediate surrounds, and are always searching for new contributors.

We are committed to improving on our service levels and our consistency. Admittedly, we struggled to cope with the constant high volumes of business at times over the extremely busy holiday period, but am certain that we continue to improve and impress more often than not.

Warm regards

Ernst

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

What a lovely spot on Thesen Islands, driving down to the island is a real treat. The hotel was a delightful spot. Staff friendly and helpful. The hotel is so very quirky and well worth a look even if you are not staying there.
Rooms well appointed and very individual. Large windows with lots of natural light flooding in.
We went on the Sunset cruise and the captain was great fun and did everything he could to make our trip enjoyable and memorable.
Breakfast service a little slow and the staff not as pleasent as they could have been on one of the mornings we stayed. Had requested info in advance via email and it was good advice. Golfing in the area is well worth a trip and extremely good value for money when compared to golf prices in Portugal and other place in Europe - the course was spectacular.
Plenty of restaurents around the hotel - but was very busy and not always able to book a table in advance.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst L, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Michelle R

Thank you for posting your review, and it is great to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Turbine. We are fortunate to have so many golf courses in the area and The Turbine is perfectly situated to allow convenient access to all of them. The Garden Route is certainly a golfing Mecca.

I will pass your compliments onto the skipper from your boat cruise. Wishing you well in the meantime.

Regards

Ernst and The Turbine Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.8 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
840 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.4 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
1.7 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#3 of 30 in Knysna
372 reviews
1.2 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#2 of 30 in Knysna
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa

Address: 36 Sawtooth Lane | Thesen Islands, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range: $174 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Turbine Hotel and Spa was an ambitious project which transformed the old power station into a unique 5 star boutique hotel with a massive wow factor. The Turbine Hotel is surrounded by water on three sides. The Hotel comprises of the Island Café restaurant and Gastro Pub, as well as twenty six individually themed rooms and suites of the highest standard. The Turbine Spa offers pampering treatments to indulge and relax weary souls, while the Turbine Water Club arranges lagoon cruises, whale watching, forest hikes, city tours and mountain biking for adventure seekers and explorers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing