We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My family of 4 spent 4 nights at Turbine Hotel and Spa just after New Year. Unfortunately our arrival was very disappointing as the young man at reception was very off hand and distant. The hotel was very unusual and definately some sort of initiation tour would have been helpful - he was vague - almost being rude.
Other staff were helpful and tried hard to please. However, they may have been at a slight disadvantage as we had come directly from The Cape Grace, Capetown!
Rooms were pleasant although both of ours had no outlook. Breakfast was OK and we had dinner twice which was excellent - however the menu was the same every night we were there.
Turbine is a hotel that is trying very hard but although management appeared to be constantly about no one approached or spoke to us at any time. We did enjoy our time here but by the end we were getting slightly tired of the abundance of the ornamental machinery!

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 577Nicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst L, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear 577Nicola

I am pleased your family had an enjoyable stay in spite of the not-so-warm welcome that you received. We have initiated appropriate counseling measures to address this issue, and insist that all of our Reception staff provide commentary on the various machinery when showing guests to their Suites.

With the hotel being just over two years old, our aim is to achieve similar renown for our quality of service as some of the better-known, established hotels in the country are famous for. I'm sure we'll get there!

Regards

Ernst and The Turbine Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    148
    40
    14
    10
See reviews for
107
326
21
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The hotel speaks to the characteristic imagination and creativity ones finds in South Africa. It is a striking example of a post-industrial remake of a power station. The rooms are impeccably designed and presented. Be prepared, however, that the rooms are quite small and price high. The public spaces suffer from the intrusion of gaudy "art" that is for sale and not in keeping with the original design. Service is very uneven, at the front desk, in the bar and in the restaurant. Our car was valet parked by the manager on arrival, but no one was on hand to even help with bags when we left. There were various confusions with orders in the cafe and bar and service was always slow. None of this ruined the trip but this is not 5 star - check out the Conrad Pezula to witness that.

Room Tip: Rooms can suffer from noise from other rooms, avoid 110, 111 and 112 that overlook the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevinathome62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst L, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Kevinathome62

Thank you for your review. It is unfortunate that your taste in art differs from ours, but that is art, I suppose. We make a point of showcasing predominantly contemporary pieces from talented emerging artists from our immediate surrounds, and are always searching for new contributors.

We are committed to improving on our service levels and our consistency. Admittedly, we struggled to cope with the constant high volumes of business at times over the extremely busy holiday period, but am certain that we continue to improve and impress more often than not.

Warm regards

Ernst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

What a lovely spot on Thesen Islands, driving down to the island is a real treat. The hotel was a delightful spot. Staff friendly and helpful. The hotel is so very quirky and well worth a look even if you are not staying there.
Rooms well appointed and very individual. Large windows with lots of natural light flooding in.
We went on the Sunset cruise and the captain was great fun and did everything he could to make our trip enjoyable and memorable.
Breakfast service a little slow and the staff not as pleasent as they could have been on one of the mornings we stayed. Had requested info in advance via email and it was good advice. Golfing in the area is well worth a trip and extremely good value for money when compared to golf prices in Portugal and other place in Europe - the course was spectacular.
Plenty of restaurents around the hotel - but was very busy and not always able to book a table in advance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst L, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Michelle R

Thank you for posting your review, and it is great to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Turbine. We are fortunate to have so many golf courses in the area and The Turbine is perfectly situated to allow convenient access to all of them. The Garden Route is certainly a golfing Mecca.

I will pass your compliments onto the skipper from your boat cruise. Wishing you well in the meantime.

Regards

Ernst and The Turbine Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We are regular visitors to thessen island staying in self catering accommodation. One of our favourite Restaurants is the Turbine Hotel this is such an amazing building and a delight to visit. The food is of a high standard and well presented staff are friendly, and the location is great.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

What a beautiful hotel! Very different, original and in a great location. Beautiful pool + playground for the little ones just next door. We had a wonderful dinner, the food was of high quality, service impeccable. Breakfast as ok but way too slow. Different staff then the dinner staff i guess. We stayed in a family room (suite? not sure) - rooms are all very different, on the smaller side, some have very small windows, others have balconies with the most amazing views of Knysna Lagoon. All in all, a modern, fun hotel that looks very fresh even though they've been operating for over two years now. Recommended!

Room Tip: ask about the size of your window for standard rooms - some have bigger windows then others
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This was an absolutely fantastic find. A tiny little hotel built on a gorgeous island lagoon setting. First up, it's a once in a lifetime little place - they took an old turbine power station and its warehouse and turned it into a elegant, chic upmarket hotel. The rooms were comfortable and well appointed with a unique bathroom setting!, The overall look and feel of the place was great and it was fun walking around the different areas. It had a lovely little pool deck overlooking the lagoon and its canals was a great place to hang out in the morning and sunset. Dining was also really good - a casual 'island' style cafe/restaurant offered tasty, quality food - with a very small menu for each meal setting. Finally - the staff were always helpful, obliging and attentive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrW100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst L, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear DrW100

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and The Turbine is definitely a great find, as you say. It is our hope that a visit to The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa in Knysna is a fun and memorable one for all of our guests.

Best regards

Ernst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is the life!!!
Staying in a luxary suite at the Turbine Hotel is an amazing experience!
Stunning views of the Knysna lagoon.
Exellent friendly service from the hotel staff.
Stunning 5 * meals in the Island Cafe!!

Do yourself a favour and definately stay for more than ne night!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernst L, General Manager at The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Rene S

Thank you for posting a review and we appreciate your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back for your third visit!

Best regards

Ernst and The Turbine Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.8 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
800 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.4 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.7 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
369 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa

Property: The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Address: 36 Sawtooth Lane | Thesen Islands, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Turbine Hotel and Spa was an ambitious project which transformed the old power station into a unique 5 star boutique hotel with a massive wow factor. The Turbine Hotel is surrounded by water on three sides. The Hotel comprises of the Island Café & Tapas Bar, as well as twenty five individually themed suites of the highest standard. The Amani Spa offers the ultimate escape for pure self-indulgence. The Turbine Water Club offers al fresco dining from our deli, oysters from our champagne bar and a wide variety of activities on both land and the Knysna lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing