We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast at the Turbine”
Review of The Island Cafe

The Island Cafe
Ranked #56 of 161 Restaurants in Knysna
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This 90 seat restaurant at The Turbine Hotel creates a totally unique environment for all meals. Tables overlook the canal, pool deck or are nestled between the original refurbished turbines. Warm open fireplaces and majestic sliding glass doors allow us to maximize and match the ambiance and weather conditions. The Island Café has won the prestigious 2011/12 Diners Club Platinum Awards.Open daily for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner
Durban
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Breakfast at the Turbine”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

We were not staying at this hotel but decided to go for breakfast as ile de Paine was closed.
It was extremely disappointing.
Firstly I had to change my chair as there where what looked like chocolate smears on it.
There were three of us and we chose from the cooked breakfast section.
The breakfasts didnt arrive at the same time.
My sons eggs were not cooked properly, the whites were still raw and had to be sent back when we finally got someone's attention.
The toast was cold and solid.
We would have ordered extra drinks but we were just ignored.
We often holiday here but its the first time we have eaten at the Turbine such a shame it was disappointing.

Helpful?
Thank Domby2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Island Cafe, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Domby2013
Ooops, we seem to have really messed up on this one.
If you read the other reviews, we seldom have got the service so wrong. Humble apologies. This was Easter Sunday, hence the chocolate Easter Egg stain and we really battled to get to all the tables, with the sudden rush on the breakfast room. I have addressed both the service and food quality issues with managers who look after those divisions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    35
    17
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
186 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Phenomenal food, wine and service”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

South Africa is full of great restaurants, but this was easily the second best place we ate (after mimosa lodge, Montagu). Good selection, well priced, good wine list, excellent staff, great waterfront views. Mussel soup was our favourite course

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shinyhead69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Island Cafe, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Shinyhead69
What a compliment. Thank you so much for your kind words about Island café Restaurant. Chef Andrew, who opened the restaurant in 2010, has re-joined us and is creating the most amazing dishes. Please feel free to break the secret to any of your friends who may be visiting south Africa and Knysna in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fabulous tapas”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We called in for lunch at the Island cafe in the Turbine Hotel on Thesen Island Knysna. The Tapas Bar is open all day and the prawns, calamari, meat balls, tempura prawns were to die for! Prices converted to sterling for food and drink are very reasonable, and the bar and restaurant located in a converted power station, a surreal moden setting. Great stop!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Arthur D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Island Cafe, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Arthur D
You hit on a great little dish there. We have recently done a lot of quality changes to our Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner menu's, with magic results. the reviews have been so positive, which gives Chef Andrew and his team such motivation. thank you for helping get us out there on the "foodie" map.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BE MY VALENTINE”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Had a wonderful, romantic dinner at The Island Cafe. We were very impressed with the menu and thoroughly enjoyed our evening. The food was excellent as was the service. Friendly staff that made us feel very special.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Prinni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Island Cafe, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Prinni
So happy that we could be part of a really special evening for you.
New Chef Andrew and his team, produced an inspired menu, which coupled with good friendly service and live romantic background music, created the perfect atmosphere.
Please return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We were drawn to the Turbine hotel and a friend referred us to go eat here. So we weren't sure if we should eat at the Bar or cafe.
Great atmosphere. Service and very quick... Also - the food is out of this world.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank AnjaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at The Island Cafe, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Anja Travel
So glad you found us and enjoyed your meal. Thank you so much for a really good review. Chef Andrew and his team is producing some amazing dishes which are both classic,with a modern twist. Every night he is delighting diners with new special dishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Island Cafe also viewed

 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to The Island Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing