We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Knysna Charter at The Heads in Knysna, SA”

Springtide Sailing Charters
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Springtide Charters offers exclusive sailing charters aboard a sleek, custom built 50ft mono-hull yacht called 'The Outeniqua'. Cruises depart daily (weather permitting) from the popular Knysna Waterfront find our Yacht moored in the waterfront next to our brightly painted lighthouse kiosk and ticket office. After exiting the quays our yacht sets sail across the expansive Knysna estuary and out to into the ocean through the Knysna Heads. We sail parallel to the beautifully rugged Knysna coastline and depending on the sailing conditions we either head east towards the Noetzie area or west towards the Buffalo Bay area. The thrill of sailing surrounded by such show stopping scenery makes this an adventure of a lifetime.Sunset Cruises, 2,3 & 4 hour Day charters,private hire (maximum of 12 passengers).
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
“Knysna Charter at The Heads in Knysna, SA”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We had great fun on this charter trip. You are allowed to take your own food and drinks and the boat is spacious.The staff are very friendly, organized and helpful. It is a fun, as well as an informative outing for young and old. We were lucky enough to see dolphins surfacing next to the boat on our way back to the dock. It is a relaxing hour long trip. Would recommend it to everyone. :)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    6
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful sunset cruise”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Booked the sunset cruise on the water as a honeymoon treat. We weren't disappointed the views were amazing, crew chatty and knowledgeable and the food and bubbles were lovely. Would highly recommend and would go again if we are lucky enough to return one day!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Liywhf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bubbles, open water and Sunset whats not to like......”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We made a booking a few days in advance and were a little surprise by the sailing time 4pm as sunset is not till about 7pm this time of year but at least you got to enjoy the views. The boat is beautiful and the wind was on our side so we could sail and have the engine off a much nicer feeling and sound. Not really knowing what was included in the package maybe a little explanation from the skipper before setting off would have been nice. (Bubbles included Wine and Beer not). We loved our fetching life jackets and the other people on the cruise too. Only having 11 on the boat makes for a nice number not over crowded only room for 12 people per cruise. I was sat right behind the skipper so had the chance to ask a few questions and had a little interaction but was sad to hear the cruise is designed to be interactive if you are so inclined and you get to have a turn steering. In my group we have a keen and experienced sailor and she tried to opening up conversation with the skipper and learn a bit about the boat, showing interests and knowledge (not like me who just about knows the front from back) but she felt he was uninterested after a few attempts so settled back to enjoy the view and the experience for what is was going to be. After turning back into the bay our snacks were served followed by another glass of bubbles. Then back to the dock. We were luck to have a nice group (one lady celebrating a birthday) and we were all chatty making it very relaxed and an enjoyable experience. I would have like a little more interaction with the crew maybe information on the boat, an offer to take couples pictures, but its all small things. It was a great way to finish of the day and would do it again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lods76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parys, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Out at Sea”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Was really great experience to go out on the yacht. Unfortunately we couldn't go out on the sea as the sea was too rough that day. But was still great, the skipper and skipper assistant were very entertaining and professional. We had some light snacks and champagne on the quieter waters then headed back to the waterfront.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Candice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Through the heads”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We went on the cruise, and going through the heads was an experience. However, when we booked, they told us over the phone we could bring our own drinks, hence we packed the cooler. Once we were on the sailboat, they said we couldnt bring own drinks (?) Please be consistent and just tell us from the start no own drinks allowed. We hit a sandbank and spilled all our drinks (that we had to buy). The view is awesome, but I won't recommend friends to do it - not worth tehe money you pay.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn P, Owner at Springtide Sailing Charters, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for posting your review,
I cannot understand that you were told that you could bring your own cooler bag onboard as we absolutely never allow this due to our licence and sponsorship agreement with a beer brand.
Our cruises as per any other activity sells all its refreshments onboard, I am sincerely sorry that you spilled your drink, in this instance the crew should have offered you a refill or replacement.
Our going through the heads is never a guarantee, however I must say that during the whole of December there were very few occasions that we could not go out as the sea conditions were particularly good for about two weeks.
Please would you contact me so that we can discuss the possibility of your coming out with us again at your convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Springtide Sailing Charters also viewed

 

Been to Springtide Sailing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing