We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“consistently good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of East Head Cafe

East Head Cafe
Ranked #2 of 159 Restaurants in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: Contemporary, Cafe, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Great cafe with delicious food in a great setting - sit on the terrace overlooking the beautiful Knysna Heads. Only open for breakfast and lunch from 08h00 to 15h30.
George
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“consistently good!”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

A great place to eat and take visitors! not only does it have an outstanding view of the ocean and the famous heads of Knysna, one can always be sure of a great meal. it doesn't accept bookings and parking is also a little tricky but its worth the trouble. Always friendly service, and great food- together with a view like that- its hard to beat!

the only downside is- it is a bit pricey- perhaps one pays for the amazing view...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,248
    386
    42
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

We had to wait for a table for about 15 minutes, but it was worth it. We had breakfast and the food was excellent! The view is an added benefit. Will definitely re-visit!

Helpful?
1 Thank EHattingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exellent Restraunt”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Really good quality of service and food .A must do for the garden route ! It restored our faith in a good Restraunt being found in an idyllic setting after a string of bad experiences .

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keegs97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent view”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I am a regular to this restaurant.
What a fantastic restaurant, and the setting is out of this world! One can hear the waves playing beneath you whilst having breakfast, brunch or lunch. Afterwards just sit back and relax enjouing the view through the famous Knysna Heads.
Everyting on the menu is worth a try, for it is all well prepared and very tasty.
The staff is really of the friendliest people I have ever come across. Very professional and always trying to make you as guest happy.
I would recommend this restaurant at all times.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ILIKETRAVEL56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A gem of a place with awesome food”
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

It was a rainy day when we went and it was busy but the lovely lady at the front found us a place right by the window overlooking the beach area & were seated straight away. Before we got to our table there were coloring in paper/crayons there for our two young boys. Blankets over the chairs if you feel the cold, but the restaurant was warm, had a great atmosphere and the staff were lovely and very attentive. The menu is comprehensive with lots to choose from. Yummy salads, desserts, a great kids menu & all the food is home made & fresh. I could not resist the fish goujons which were large, but very nice. The batter was light and not at all greasy! My husband had the calamari which was also lovely. The food was delivered quickly & of a high standard. The banana & honey smoothies were delicious too! Would definitely go to this place again & would recommend to anyone looking for quality food and service.

Helpful?
Thank ukmorrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Head Cafe also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to East Head Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing