We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just fell in love with this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of East Head Cafe

East Head Cafe
Ranked #2 of 159 Restaurants in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: Contemporary, Cafe, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Great cafe with delicious food in a great setting - sit on the terrace overlooking the beautiful Knysna Heads. Only open for breakfast and lunch from 08h00 to 15h30.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Just fell in love with this place!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We arrived at the East head Cafe on our first day in Knysna as our room in our B&B wasn't ready yet. What a find it was! The view is just spectacular as is the food. We ended up going there for a breakfast a few days later and the dish that I chose just blew me away - french toast (home-made bread) topped with camembert cheese, bacon and fig with fig preserve. It was just delicious. And every bench outside has blankets on it so that you can snuggle up in them if you are feeling a little chilly at this time of year. Do yourself a favour and visit this great spot, you won't be disappointed! Just a heads up though - the place is currently closed for renovations and the annual holiday of the staff. We were there on the last day and were told that it would open again at the beginning of June so sorry for those of you that will be in Knysna now in May 2013.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,248
    386
    42
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, great location”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Good food, great location. Breakfast or lunch you can't go wrong with East Head Cafe. Sit outside and enjoy the view

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
180 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“deserves its #1 rating”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Being fall, the late morning was quite chilly, but we had to enjoy the fantastic view on the patio, right at the Isthmus of Knysna. Fortunately, the East Head Cafe staff had thought of this ahead of time. There were brightly colored fleece blankets for everyone to cuddle up.
The calamari was the freshest of the trip and salmon salad was beautifully presented.
Certainly a Must-Stop for all travelers on the Garden Route!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trilife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
156 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Jewel with a view.”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My favourite Knysna breakfast or lunch eating spot - great view of the Heads, excellent service, good food and well priced beverages. you can sit in or outside.The menu is limited but the food is always good. pity they are not open at night.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable experience!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Wow, what a great location! Even managed to get the best table outside in the corner with an amazing view of the heads. Blankets are even available if you get cold. Great food, great service, great spot. Walk down to the heads when you are done. Awesome opportunity for photos. Don't sit inside, try sit outside to hear the waves crashing against the rocks and see the whole view.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spikehugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Head Cafe also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to East Head Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing