We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very poor considering their reputation and reviews!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of East Head Cafe

East Head Cafe
Ranked #2 of 159 Restaurants in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: Contemporary, Cafe, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Great cafe with delicious food in a great setting - sit on the terrace overlooking the beautiful Knysna Heads. Only open for breakfast and lunch from 08h00 to 15h30.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very poor considering their reputation and reviews!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Lacks attention to detail and not true to the whole local artisan approach. The hamburger buns tasted like Pick N Pay Buns out of the fridge.Terrible buns. The table I sat at was unbalanced. The interior is somewhat cheesy and if it was not for the view and wine it would be a very average "cafe".

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnAppleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome S, Owner at East Head Cafe, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Hi John
We are very dissapointed that you had a 'terrible' experience at a very average "cafe". We strive to offer our customers a quality experience, offering personalized service and value for money.
We try to make sure that all our customers are comfortable, it is unacceptable that you had an unbalanced table, I apologise for this inconvenience.
Your subjective comments are noted, however, we wish that you had made us aware of the problems when you were here - we are very receptive to constructive criticsm. If we know about it right away, we can fix it right away. We support the 'Go Local' campaign, a Knysna initiative sustaining local and responsible suppliers. Our traditional seeded hamburger rolls are supplied daily by a local bakery, nowhere do we make reference to artisan rolls or buns. The 'somewhat cheesy' interior is a personal opinion, however, we feel the simplistic interior and decor compliments the views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,248
    386
    42
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Purley
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely terrace for lunch”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a lovely lunch here at this very popular restaurant. Ensure you sit outside on the terrace - worth waiting for a table.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Coulsdongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taoyuan, Taiwan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A meal with a view....”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This very well priced restaurant overlooks the famous Knysna Heads.The seafood is especially good and very affordable.For another view like this ,you will surely have to pay big bucks.The service is friendly and you can sit outside overlooking the lagoon or inside with a direct view of The Heads.We always order fish ;and my guest enjoyed his platter very much.Coming from an island where seafood is synonomous with a great eating experience,this is quite a compliment.The atmosphere is really laid-back and the service was good in spite of the fact that it was packed on a Thursday around lunch time.Go here fo the food first and then ejoy the complimentary spectacular view! It's a vacation in itself.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank andrew293913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Food - Great Location”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Sally and I found the East Head Cafe in Knysna, almost by mistake. But what a great mistake to make. Knysna is wonderful anyway, but this small, hidden-away little treasure is a real find. The food is lovely and varied, the service friendly and the views stunning.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AngusMcBain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best view ever”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

the most amazing setting ever!!! Food also great and service excellent. Very very busy but they will always try find you a table

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Head Cafe also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to East Head Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing