We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excelent stop after a long drive by car and a wonderfull place to be” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Double Dutch B & B

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Double Dutch B & B
Ranked #1 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blaricum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“An excelent stop after a long drive by car and a wonderfull place to be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

We spent only 2 nights at Double Dutch, which was too short . Kate and Nathalie were a great help to solve a mishapping at Schiphol Airport with the ipad of Gerda. The view on the Heads from our room was great . The service and the choice of the food for breakfast was excellent.
We felt sorry that we had to leave this lovely place

Room Tip: The 3 rooms higher up do have an great view on the Heads and the city of Knysna
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerbrand T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    30
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
88
444
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Completely fantastic B&B. Our stay got off to a good start when their detailed directions meant we found the place with no trouble. Unfortunately we arrived on a rainy day and so Kate and Natalie kindly suggested that we change room - our original room had a balcony/veranda that we wouldn't have got much use out of in the weather. They upgraded us to the Eagle Room which was great and very comfortable. Wifi was fast which was helpful as unfortunately I was in the midst of completing online job applications on our holiday. The service is second to none and they are both willing to go out of their way to help. They recommended a lovely place for lunch at The Heads called Senza where we enjoyed tasty pasta and good views and their knowledge of the surrounding area is excellent. Breakfast was very tasty with a good range of continental options together with delicious made-to-order hot breakfasts. My omelette was gorgeous and they coped very patiently with my boyfriend's slightly complicated order! Overall, definitely worth their number one ranking. We really hope to stay again, so we can experience Double Dutch hospitality and comfort, and hopefully see Knysna in the sun this time!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We spent 3 nights of our honeymoon at the Double Dutch B&B, and it was superb.
Kate and Natalie greeted us with champagne and treats to celebrate our honeymoon. They were extremely helpful and kind, and did their best to address any of our needs.
The place itslef is beautiful. The view from the suite is absolutely stunning - looking straight to "The Heads" of Knysna lagoon.
Breakfast was generous and tasty, and the suite was spacious, shiny clean and fun to stay at.
It's a great place both as a base for day trips and to relax by the pool, having a glass of wine from the "honesty bar".
We'll definitely recommend this place to our friends, and will try to come back ASAP.
Thanks you Double Dutchies!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shmueldar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Based on the nr 1 ranking on Trip advisor we booked a one night stop over in Knysna at DD b&b. And how they deserve to be on top! The warmest, entusiastic welcome ever, lots of tips (too many for only one day) Great room, view, garden, (happy hour at the) pool area.
Everything else is already said in previous reviews and so true.
It’s a short review but it was a (too) short stay. When returning to SA, we’ll definitely come back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeaTexel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We, two couples, stayed here for 5 nights in the middle of a 3 weeks journey through SA. We loved to be here since it was the most beautiful place within this 3 weeks.
We can highly recommend D&D as a wonderful, familiar and lovely place to relax.
Hope we will be able to come back again one day
Again many thanks and a big hug to Nathalie & Kate for being such a perfect host.
Günter, Inge, Helga und Jürgen

Room Tip: Upper rooms have a better view over the lagune
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guenter2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

We (family of four) stayed here just after Christmas in the rooms above the main house with an amazing view of the Lagoon. Rooms, common areas including pool and breakfast were all excellent but what set Double Dutch apart for us was the warm and friendly welcome and helpful advice of Nathalie & Kate.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank bandjboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed in the Albatross Suite, which was lovely and very quite. As all the reviews have said before, the Double Dutch is a perfect place to stay. It is very clean and modern, and Natalie and Kate couldn't be more helpful. We felt we were staying with friends rather then at a B&B. It was just lovely. The B&B is in walking distance to the town, so great if you have done enough driving.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaPaul21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
0.9 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
1.6 mi away
Candlewood Lodge
Candlewood Lodge
#2 of 129 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambalala
Cambalala
#4 of 129 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Dutch B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Dutch B & B

Property: Double Dutch B & B
Address: 58 Circular Drive | Paradise, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Double Dutch B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Double Dutch has a beautiful luxurious colonial bed and breakfast, guesthouse accommodation in Knysna with magnificent panoramic views over the Knysna lagoon and the Knysna Heads into the Indian Ocean. Our exclusive accommodation in colonial style provides you with: Bathroom En-suite, TV/DSTV, radio, intercom, safe, fridge, extra long double king sized beds, hairdryer, make up mirror, coffee/tea facilities, underfloor heating in the bathroom, personalized bathroom amenities and a comfortable furnished relaxing area in which you experience the colonial atmosphere of Double Dutch. Most of the exclusive guest suites and stylish rooms have a spacious private veranda with spectacular views over the Knysna lagoon and the Knysna Heads into the Indian Ocean. Guests also have the use of our comfortable guest lounge decorated in colonial style, with a fireplace. Our guests can also relax at our swimming pool with sundeck and lounge chairs and a special terrace to have a private barbecue in our extended, cultivated garden. All our suites and rooms have their own secure free parking space on the property. Turn down service is offered in the evening once the guests have departed for dinner. Double Dutch welcomes children of 12 years and older. Double Dutch is close to the waterfront and a mere 5 minutes walk from the center of Knysna's central business district, where you will find various local restaurants, shopping malls, African arts and crafts. Double Dutch is German, Dutch and English speaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Double Dutch B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing