We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of Double Dutch B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Double Dutch B & B
Ranked #1 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Dwight: Cape Town 1-5 May 2013
Dearest Nathalie and Kate
Its been a month since I stayed at Double Dutch and I’m still raving about it to everyone. This is no typical Guest House. It is private, quiet and truly a place just to relax. Double Dutch is the perfect balance between the great and personalised service you’ll receive at the best of hotels and the privacy needed; just to be away from it all.
To Kate and Nathalie, thanks for an awesome time and I will be back!
Dwight

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dwight P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (646)
There are newer reviews for Double Dutch B & B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 646 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

Dear Klaske and Nathalie,
When Klaske greeted us with Klaske, we knew you were from Friesland.From the beginning we talked to each other like old friends without intermezzo.The room was beautiful and when you gave us the heater ,our stay couldn't be better.We got your personal attention and Nathalie made the best breakfast.The view from our room was super.We said goodbye to each other,but we are certain to come back again to DD just to visit Klaske and Nathalie.
Thank you Klaske and Nathalie for the nice stay with you two.
Regards,

Lanny and Swan Hauw from The Hague.

Room Tip: All rooms have super view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Hello Kate & Nathalie, again I had the luck, to be a guest in your house. And again I would like to say "Thank you very much for the warm welcome and the perfect service". If I have a chance to come back to Knysna, the Double Dutch will be my first choise... Best personal regards from Hannover, Germany, Frank

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 727Frank_1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Knysna is already a beautiful place, but with Double Dutches B&B, it became superb. Kate & Nathalie are very friendly make you feel at home. When we arrived, they immediately told us where to go for drinks and diner, and other great siteseeing places in Knysna; and they were all beautiful. The view of DD on the lagoon is amazing. We stayed 2 nights, but it was much too short; we will definitely come back. We can really recommend everyone to stay at DD!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jochemitv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Thank you Nathalie and Kate for the great stay. We experienced a warm welcome and found all our wishes (even specials for breakfast) fulfilled. Beautiful rooms, all overlooking the lagoon, absolutely tidy and well equipped. Pretty pool deck. Extremely nice and helpful hosts. Knysna itself is a cute little town and has beautiful beaches within driving distance. Close to other cities, national parks and many more attractions. We hope we can come back one day to stay with the Dutchies again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Nice place to be. Good setting in nice surroundings. Reception most warming. We felt extremely welcome. Exeptional service and personal attention a is a very natural part of this B&b. Breakfast is a must !

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Makram63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for two nights in the Pelican suite. Upon arrival we were greeted by Nathalie and helped to our room. The room itself had the most fantastic views of the Heads and is set in a beautifully manicured garden. DD had a homely feel due to the attentiveness and welcoming spirit of the hosts and our stay included several small personal touches which set DD apart from other similar experiences. We also felt Knysna was a great spot from which to drive to Tsitsikamma National Park, which was one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnMarie4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.6 mi away
Candlewood Lodge
Candlewood Lodge
#2 of 127 in Knysna
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Alexander
The Alexander
#3 of 127 in Knysna
324 reviews
0.1 mi away
South Villa Guest House
South Villa Guest House
#7 of 127 in Knysna
211 reviews
3.1 mi away
Amanzi Island Lodge
Amanzi Island Lodge
#13 of 127 in Knysna
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Dutch B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Dutch B & B

Address: 58 Circular Drive | Paradise, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: $86 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Double Dutch B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Double Dutch has a beautiful luxurious colonial bed and breakfast, guesthouse accommodation in Knysna with magnificent panoramic views over the Knysna lagoon and the Knysna Heads into the Indian Ocean. Our exclusive accommodation in colonial style provides you with: Bathroom En-suite, TV/DSTV, radio, intercom, safe, fridge, extra long double king sized beds, hairdryer, make up mirror, coffee/tea facilities, underfloor heating in the bathroom, personalized bathroom amenities and a comfortable furnished relaxing area in which you experience the colonial atmosphere of Double Dutch. Most of the exclusive guest suites and stylish rooms have a spacious private veranda with spectacular views over the Knysna lagoon and the Knysna Heads into the Indian Ocean. Guests also have the use of our comfortable guest lounge decorated in colonial style, with a fireplace. Our guests can also relax at our swimming pool with sundeck and lounge chairs and a special terrace in our extended, cultivated garden. All our suites and rooms have their own secure free parking space on the property. Turn down service is offered in the evening once the guests have departed for dinner. Double Dutch welcomes children of 12 years and older. Double Dutch is close to the waterfront and a mere 5 minutes walk from the center of Knysna's central business district, where you will find various local restaurants, shopping malls, African arts and crafts. Double Dutch is German, Dutch and English speaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Double Dutch B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing