We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Knysna”
Review of Double Dutch B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Double Dutch B & B
Ranked #1 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oud-Heverlee, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Paradise in Knysna”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

It's a bit of a climb before you arrive at the Double Dutch B&B in Knysna but the reward is huge. It's a bit of a climb before you arrive at the Double Dutch B&B in Knysna but the reward is huge. Immediately when arriving at the B&B we were in love with it.
Very friendly reception of Nathalie and Kate and when we got to our room, we soon realized that the stay in Knysna would be one to remember. Beautiful & comfortable room with a luxury and spotless bathroom. The view over Knysna from the terrace was astonishing, also in the dark when having a (late) evening thee or coffee. Breakfast was top. The food and juices were delicious and the seating was absolutely fantastic with a great view over the Knysna bay. Really there is not one thing I can think of that could or should improve. For us, this place offers all you need and much more. when arriving at the B&B we were in love with it.
Very friendly reception of Nathalie and Kate and when we got to our room, we immediatly realized that the stay in Knysna would be one to remember. Beautiful & comfortable room with a luxuary and spotless bathroom. The view over Knysna from the terras was astonishing, also in the dark when having a late evening thee or coffee. The pool was one of the nicest I've seen in a long time with a choice of armchairs in the sun or shade. Breakfast was top. The food and juices were delicious and the seating was absolutely fantastic with a great view over the Knysna bay. Really there is not one thing I can think of that could or should improve. For us, this place offers all you need and much more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    31
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
90
461
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Double Dutch is warm and friendly and is run by Nathalie and Kate whose sense of humour was a tonic. They were very helpful and accommodating and recommended the best restaurants in the area Our room was very clean with its own patio overlooking a great view and set in a small but lovely garden area. Bathroom spacious, very clean and had a great shower. Breakfast plentiful and of good quality. We enjoyed our stay at this reasonably priced guest house and would stay there again if we were in the Knysna area.

Room Tip: There were many steps through the garden to our room which was not a problem for us but those with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2013

You cant beat this combination: The perfect Hostesses, Beautiful and comfortable rooms with great views and top notch bathrooms, excellent home made breakfast and a house made in heaven, with awesome views, atention de every detail and super gardens and pool.
If you are planning a trip through the Garden Route, think no more! Contact Kate and Nathalie and you will be totally satisfied (and even exceed your expectations!)
But just be aware...walking to town in the evenings is not recommended. You can walk to dinner and take a taxi back home.
Ask the Hostesses for dinner non touristic tips...We loved dinner at Firefly!
Thanks Double Dutch!
Viviana P.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally located and beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viviana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We really enjoyed our two night stay at the Double dutch B&B, knysna, while traveling around the Garden route. They have well designed and comfortable rooms with great views of the knysna lagoon. The fresh and delicious breakfast was a real treat. Kate and Nathalie are gracious hosts and made us feel like we were visiting old friends rather than staying at a B&B. They have paid attention to little things which make your stay memorable. Also, they have great recommendations for places to visit and eat in and around Knysna.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supriya_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

It's always nice to be greated by name and with a smile and we were made to feel very welcome from the start. All the buildings looked new and were very tastefully finished to a high standard and with charachter. Great pool, great food, good view and super friendly and helpful owners and staff. Highly recommended!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The days at Knysna were beautiful and one reason was the double duchesses with the warm hospitality. Really recommend this B&B location. Perfect rooms, nice view, beautiful looking garden, pool area for relaxing. Breakfast w/o any further wishes left. Next time at RSA we will be stay some more days there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfred E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I chose this B&B because of it's good Trip Advisor ratings and I was not disappointed. It is rare for me to give top marks to anywhere, but this B&B had it all. We arrived at 3:30pm on a Friday (for 3 nights) and I had been experiencing a stomach upset for the past week and was feeling quite tearful. Within an hour the girls had me sorted - I had been to their doctor and got antibiotics which worked quickly and allowed the rest of the holiday to be enjoyed. Kate and Nathalie could not do enough for us - as well as cooking us a great breakfast each day, they booked all our dinners and provided comprehensive information about the area. From the photos I had seen I was expecting the rooms to be older but they are very new, with a rustic feel. Our 'Albatross' room was the last one on the end of the top row so it was really private and had fantastic views. The girls designed and built the property themselves and unlike some places they did not scrimp on anything. I searched for something to improve but there was nothing. They passed every one of my tests - great quality beds, sheets, towels, hairdryer, showerhead, number of hangers etc. They even installed soft closing drawers. We had some laundry done which was well priced. These girls are complete professionals dedicated to customer service. Stop looking around now and book with them.

Room Tip: We had the room at the top (great view) at the far end which was very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.2 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Candlewood Lodge
Candlewood Lodge
#2 of 126 in Knysna
612 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Alexander
The Alexander
#3 of 126 in Knysna
320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambalala
Cambalala
#4 of 126 in Knysna
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Dutch B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Dutch B & B

Property: Double Dutch B & B
Address: 58 Circular Drive | Paradise, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Double Dutch B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Double Dutch has a beautiful luxurious colonial bed and breakfast, guesthouse accommodation in Knysna with magnificent panoramic views over the Knysna lagoon and the Knysna Heads into the Indian Ocean. Our exclusive accommodation in colonial style provides you with: Bathroom En-suite, TV/DSTV, radio, intercom, safe, fridge, extra long double king sized beds, hairdryer, make up mirror, coffee/tea facilities, underfloor heating in the bathroom, personalized bathroom amenities and a comfortable furnished relaxing area in which you experience the colonial atmosphere of Double Dutch. Most of the exclusive guest suites and stylish rooms have a spacious private veranda with spectacular views over the Knysna lagoon and the Knysna Heads into the Indian Ocean. Guests also have the use of our comfortable guest lounge decorated in colonial style, with a fireplace. Our guests can also relax at our swimming pool with sundeck and lounge chairs and a special terrace in our extended, cultivated garden. All our suites and rooms have their own secure free parking space on the property. Turn down service is offered in the evening once the guests have departed for dinner. Double Dutch welcomes children of 12 years and older. Double Dutch is close to the waterfront and a mere 5 minutes walk from the center of Knysna's central business district, where you will find various local restaurants, shopping malls, African arts and crafts. Double Dutch is German, Dutch and English speaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Double Dutch B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing