We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going the extra mile!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knysna Herons Guest House
Ranked #36 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2010

A group of us travelled to Knysna for the annual Forest Marathon. The hospitality offered by Robert at the Heron Guest House began before we arrived.

Robert greeted us warmly despite us arriving two hours later than expected. He made us feel welcomed and comfortable. He even arranged flowers and chocolates to be in one couples room as a surprise (they were celebrating an anniversary).

He recommended activities and restaurants and made relevant bookings for us.
We were also running the marathon very early in the morning, but he still arranged a 4am breakfast for those of us wanting early sustenance.

After the run, friends hobbled over to visit us and he offered them hospitality too, providing them with post-run advice and something for their cramping legs.

Basically, nothing was too much trouble and even my guests have already made plans to return to this guest house for the Pink Lourie festival.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EFRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaHeron, Owner at Knysna Herons Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2010

We at Knysna Herons will do anything to make sure our guests enjoy their stay and have a stress and worry free vacation, We will always go the extra mile to satisfy each and everyone of our guests or the guests the bring along to view our home, We are home away from home with the added luxury of having to satisfy your every whim. Thank you for your review and we do look forward to seen you all over your next holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jean Claude R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hunterlopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank VGoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaHeron, Manager at Knysna Herons Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaHeron, Manager at Knysna Herons Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: aller dans un autre hôtel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank laSantalanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaHeron, Manager at Knysna Herons Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank topolino69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaHeron, Manager at Knysna Herons Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.3 mi away
The Russel Hotel
The Russel Hotel
#17 of 30 in Knysna
266 reviews
0 mi away
Nieu-Wherry Meadow
Nieu-Wherry Meadow
#1 of 2 in Rheenendal
28 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abalone Lodges
Abalone Lodges
#70 of 129 in Knysna
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bamboo the Guesthouse
Bamboo the Guesthouse
#39 of 129 in Knysna
519 reviews
1.1 mi away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#13 of 129 in Knysna
215 reviews
1.7 mi away
Laguna Grove
Laguna Grove
#11 of 110 in Knysna
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Herons Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Herons Guest House

Address: 11 Herons Way | Lower Old Place, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: $47 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Herons Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna Herons Guest House is Home Away from Home, We have a sparkling pool with stunning views from the breakfast patio of the Knysna Heads and the Knysna Lagoon. We have all en-suite rooms and two self/family catering room. All our rooms have WIFI, Satellite (DSTV), Tea/Coffee Trays, and all with there own private entrances into the surrounding gardens. 4 of our rooms are equipped with air-conditioning units. We can arrange almost anything you require from the comfort of the Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Knysna Herons Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing