We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Herons Guest House Knysna” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knysna Herons Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Knysna Herons Guest House
Ranked #41 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Centurion, South Africa
1 review
“Herons Guest House Knysna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

I found the Guest House and staff very friendly and accomdating. The room was comfertable and clean. Breakfast was a joy and well prepared to requested order. The Guest House can be Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Thys P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    43
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
45
52
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Visited Knysna over the Pink Loerie period and the reception, great breakfasts. place was neat and clean. Bedding was great.
Very friendly atmosphere and staff dont mind if you are late for breakfast,

HOME AWAY FROM HOME

Room Tip: All rooms are goods with separate enterances, Hoepoo and Guinea Fowl are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1William1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Excellent service, the staff are friendly and very professional. The rooms are very comvertible and it feels like you at home, i would stay there anytime when i travel to Knysna again.
Excellent place to stay and worth every moment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wouter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed there for two nights and had a great time. The owner Fredrick is very welcoming and entertaining. It is quite central and close to all the main amenities, which Fredrick gives you great advice about. The rooms are clean and restful and would recommend this place to anyone who is coming to stay in Knysna.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

My family and I spend 2 nights on separate occasions here. We felt very settled and the staff were fantastic meeting all our needs for our short stay. The hotel was in close proximity to various bars/ restaurants and was very easy to get to. We will come back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jarek J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augrabies Falls National Park, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed for a week, and had a wonderful time. The room we stayed in was very well equipped with everything we needed. We enjoyed the beautiful garden and the braai facilities. Frederik was very helpful with information about our daily excursions and also the perfect host. We are planning a family holiday next year and will definitely stay at Knysna Heron Guesthouse again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank christine_dtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Spent 3 days at the guesthouse and everything from hospitality to breakfast was great. The owner went beyond and further to assist in making our trip memorable.

Good and secure parking, good rooms, great breakfast and we liked the ability to use the common room for social things at night

/Marcus and friends

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcusLarL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.1 mi away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#14 of 129 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lakeside Knysna Accomodation
0.3 mi away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#12 of 129 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Knysna Manor House
Knysna Manor House
#48 of 129 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lavender Hill Guest House
Lavender Hill Guest House
#45 of 129 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.8 mi away
Island Vibe Knysna
Island Vibe Knysna
#30 of 102 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Herons Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Herons Guest House

Property: Knysna Herons Guest House
Address: 11 Herons Way | Lower Old Place, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Knysna Herons Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna Herons Guest House is Home Away from Home, We have a sparkling pool with stunning views from the breakfast patio of the Knysna Heads and the Knysna Lagoon. We have all en-suite rooms and two self/family catering room. All our rooms have WIFI, Satellite (DSTV), Tea/Coffee Trays, and all with there own private entrances into the surrounding gardens. 4 of our rooms are equipped with air-conditioning units. We can arrange almost anything you require from the comfort of the Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Knysna Herons Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing