We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of Abalone Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abalone Lodges
Ranked #68 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2014

What a fantastic place this is, all the lodges are like ski chalets, complete with jacuzzi hot tubs and little kitchens. Very clean and tidy with good views. Would definitely recommend. Close by there are a couple of restaurants, stay away from 'Bosuns' very basic.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nicky230201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 108 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

We had an excellent time at the Brenton-on-Sea chalets. Our wooden cabin had panoramic views from the balcony and was a few minutes walk to the beach. The spa bath was a great plus as were the clean and fresh facilities. We had a super romantic time there waking up to the sound and view of the ocean right from our beds! It was mostly private (more below) and super relaxed! The staff are also very helpful!

The facilities are semi-self catering (no stove) so be prepared to eat out quite a bit. Also, Brenton-on-Sea is a 20-minute drive from central Knysna, so plan your days well so that you don't spend most of your time on the road!

Downside: the ant problem is quite bad, needs serious fumigation. The spa bath has this sordid smell the first time you run it, probably from under-use. Quite a few of our lights and plugs weren't working at all. It gets quite chilly on cooler nights and there is no heater provided, so pack your own or pack warm. There wasn't enough toilet paper and there isn't an iron although an ironing board is provided. Lastly, although rather private, it is still possible to hear loud talking in the next door cabin - while not invasive it can be problematic.

Despite these downsides I don't consider them to withdraw from the overall experience and location of the cabin! It truly was an exceptional holiday, and one of our best! I recommend it for any couple looking to spend a few quiet nights together!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Our stay at Abalone Lodge was pleasent and comfortable. We had a double Story unit and it was spaceious for 2 People. The kitchen was well equipped. From the description we eypected it closer to the Lagoon not in a Suburb.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is an excellent establishment that offers very good value and with a young family in tow there was more than enough room for our boisterous young boys.Sleeping quarters is very good and I loved the fact that there was an extra bathroom with shower and w/c on the ground floor. The unit was also equipped with a jacuzzi that I am sure would be excellent during a winter stay.The barbecue facilities is close by and the boys enjoyed the pool which although a bit small was more than adequate given that it was not crowded.The kitchen is well-equipped and the staff both at reception and especially the cleaning staff was excellent.The views over the Knysna Lagoon is unrivalled.The resort is a stone's throw from the town and just 5 minutes' drive from the Knysna Heads. The only downside to our stay during the hot and very humid summer was that the lack of air-conditioning made it more than a bit uncomfortable when we were in the chalet. Given all the positives that we experienced, I would certainly reconsider staying over here during the hot summer unless this aspect is attended to. We however enjoyed a wonderful stay and I would highly recommend this establishment especially if you have a family.

Room Tip: If you're older and not as mobile then the fact that the chalets is on stilts with a number of w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed here on our trip along the Garden Route and it really was like a home from home. The views are breath taking. What makes this so special is the homely feel that is created here. The comfy couches, the entire ambience that is created.
Erica was ever so helpful, she booked us dinner and ordered a tuk yuk for us.
Beds are super comfortable with decor done in a fresh nautical theme
Breakfast is very tasty
Top marks

Room Tip: Sea view is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerryTralee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We spent 10 days at the Abalone Lodges for Christmas and New Year. It was hot and air conditioning would have been a bonus but the location made up for that. We were in #1 - the view was great and the facilities more than enough. The kitchen is a bit small but then you're so close to everything, you can pop out for supper or stock up the fridge with quick meals. We thoroughly enjoyed the holiday in Knysna.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Roz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Enjoyed 3 nights here for our honeymoon! Rooms are not ridiculously big so if you plan to also do activities and not to only spend all day in your room this is truly a great place to stay! Spa bath is incredible- and all day access to barbecue and swimming pool facilities. Safe, friendly and very clean. Breakfasts delivered daily and well worth it!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cari-Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.1 mi away
Knysna Herons Guest House
Knysna Herons Guest House
#36 of 129 in Knysna
156 reviews
1.9 mi away
Paradise Heads
Paradise Heads
#72 of 108 in Knysna
26 reviews
1.6 mi away
Laguna Grove
Laguna Grove
#11 of 108 in Knysna
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Knysna Manor House
Knysna Manor House
#45 of 129 in Knysna
244 reviews
13.9 mi away
Teniqua Treetops
Teniqua Treetops
#1 of 23 in Sedgefield
454 reviews
14.6 mi away
Dover on Sea B&B
Dover on Sea B&B
#1 of 12 in Sedgefield
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abalone Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abalone Lodges

Address: 20 Herons Way | Lower Old Place, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: $53 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abalone Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated only 5 minutes from town centre and 4km from the Leisure Isle beach, you'll find Abalone Lodges. Not only does Abalone Lodges offer convenient location but also offers breathtaking views of the Estuary and Knysna Heads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Abalone Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing