We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Bother, They Clearly Don't.”
Review of Abalone Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abalone Lodges
Ranked #68 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Don't Bother, They Clearly Don't.”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I expected great service and a nice room. What we received however was the total opposite. Shocking service just not something you want when doing a cross country road trip. The room was filled with such cheap furniture. The bed wasn't even made properly. When we need the loo we had to use 1 ply toilet paper. Really!? Taking a bath was also quite exciting, the whole thing started leaking all over a wooden floor... Not happy at all and wouldn't recommend this place.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vincent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    35
    23
    7
    3
See reviews for
17
60
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Thank you so much for hosting us on our honeymoon, we had a great time, we were welcomed with roses and chocolates, we enjoyed our stay the cabin was warm and cosy, very neat and great staff, its closer to town, great parking, we'll definately come back again :))

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We booked it on the spot.
All well maintained and great view.
Self catering though, but supermarket closeby. Nice wooden cottages. Give a bit of a sauna feel to it.
Beds are good as well if you like them a bit firm.
Parking under the cottage nice and convenient.
Would recommend it to my friends.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank guidoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We booked 3 bed room lodge, it was huge very well maintained completely wooden with stunning view balcony. Comfortable beds with nice jacuzzi in bathroom.
Safe & Idel location to move around knysna & surrounding.
Perfect place for friends,family & couple.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Eeshagala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swakopmund, Namibia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2013

It is a very nice, quiet and safe location. The log cabins are pretty. We enjoyed our stay here and will defnitely book here again, but next time for 2 nights. One night is just too short a stay for Knysna. The view over the lagoon is excellent. We had a wonderful sunset.

Room Tip: Right hand rooms closer to barbeque facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ansgar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape town
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed in wooden house with garage on first floor and bathroom, kitchen and bedroom on second floor. The adjacent house connected via a shared entrance.
Everything was in good condition and clean, loved the bathroom but the bedroom was less spacious and the ceiling fan so low it is almost dangerous for everyone over 1.75m tall.
Not as spacious as the other houses, i did get a crammed in feeling.

The real problem started in the middle of the night when the people next to us kept us up all night. Every noise could be heard. Coughing, talking...you get the picture.

Room Tip: DONT use the interconnected rooms unless you are with friends. Smaller and not very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly2Capetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I was lucky enough to be travelling as a group and some of us were allocated a 3 bedroom lodge - wow! Lovely log cabins with tons of room in every room. The two twin rooms downstairs were spacious, had ensuite bathrooms with corner jacuzzi bath and were well furnished. Beds were clean and very comfortable. We couldn't find the key to the 3 balconies but this was soon rectified by the maid. The middle room as a large living room/kitchen with dining bar. View out of large window was lovely. Fully furnished and equipped. Upstairs was a lovely double bedroom area. Separate shower downstairs. The only downside was we couldn't access the wifi but we didn't try very hard... Great location - a very gentle 20-30 minute walk into town alongside the water. Small swimming pool in the grounds. Breakfast was at the adjoining Lagoona Inn (not rated very well by other members of the group) and was adequate). Would definitely visit again!l

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.5 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#23 of 30 in Knysna
87 reviews
14.7 mi away
Pelican Lodge
Pelican Lodge
#2 of 12 in Sedgefield
71 reviews
0.1 mi away
Knysna Herons Guest House
Knysna Herons Guest House
#37 of 126 in Knysna
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Oyster Creek Lodge
Oyster Creek Lodge
#13 of 126 in Knysna
244 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hamilton Manor
Hamilton Manor
#24 of 126 in Knysna
281 reviews
1.7 mi away
Island Vibe Knysna
Island Vibe Knysna
#31 of 105 in Knysna
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abalone Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abalone Lodges

Property: Abalone Lodges
Address: 20 Herons Way | Lower Old Place, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abalone Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated only 5 minutes from town centre and 4km from the Leisure Isle beach, you'll find Abalone Lodges. Not only does Abalone Lodges offer convenient location but also offers breathtaking views of the Estuary and Knysna Heads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Abalone Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing