We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A freezing experience”
Review of Abalone Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abalone Lodges
Ranked #71 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Perugia, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A freezing experience”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in Abalone Lodge, and our first impression was really good: very nice and cozy place, very clean, everything new in the bathroom. Everything super if it wasn't the coldest place I've ever slept in!!!!! It was deep winter, so pretty cold outside, and we had the same temeprature inside: we could barely change our clothes without teeth-chattering, and the heating had benn working the whole night! Maybe we had been especially unlucky, but our neighbours had the same problem, so I wouldn't come back there!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francyolimpieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    35
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
17
56
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Have stayed there 3 times already and just love it! Clean, cosy with everything you need!Close to town...we often enjoy a walk into town in the morning! Love the bath...love the view...will definately be back again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liezl1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon in February 2012. All I can say is what an amazing place. When the staff found out it was our honeymoon, they immediately went and got the room ready together with flowers, petals on bed and bath, chocolates and juice. Each room has a jacuzzi bath and the rooms are perfectly decorated. We had family with us, and they stayed on an extra night they enjoyed it so much. This is a must if travelling to Knysna.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edelod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton-le-Willows
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

The lodges are beautiful and very well appointed. We stayed in a one storey lodge which was spacious and very comfortable. They are conveniently located for exploring Knysna and the surrounding areas, without being too close to the bustle of the town. The highlights are the balcony which offers STUNNING views of the lagoon, particulalry at sunset, the jacuzzi bath and a very comfortable bed. The one down side, are the cooking facilities in the lodge. They are meant to be self catering, and a small meal can be russled up, but if you are looking to cook anything big, you might struggle. Having said that, I would recommend the lodges!

Room Tip: All the lodges are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lala_Kimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We were in one of the 2-storey lodges so I can't rate the single-storey ones which looked a LOT smaller and would not have suited us at all. The 2 storey lodge had a little parking niche underneath, so you go upstairs to the living room with a huge window towards southwest and a brilliant view over the lagoon and a bit away the waterfront of Knysna. The lower storey consisted of a living room an open kitchen and a little bathroom with a shower. Upstairs is the bedroom (btw really good beds), a really nice bathroom with simple jacuzzy bathtub, separate toilet, a little balcony and a wardrobe.

The kitchen was well equipped with fridge & freezer, stove, oven, microwave and electric kettle, dishes, pots, everything. There are 2 heaters (1 up- one downstairs) for cooler days and a ceiling fan in the bedroom. There was nothing missing that I could think of. It was a tiny bit clairaudient downstairs which never bothered us as it was overall very quiet and upstairs you didn't hear a thing - OK, except the Ibis birds at 6 am! ;-)
We spent 6 wonderful nights there and I can definitely recommend it if you like to stay in a quiet area with phantastic views and lots of space.

Room Tip: Book the 2 storey lodge - a LOT bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Upon arrival there was no-one available at Reception to greet us and after some 10 minutes we located a member of staff who handed us our key and a welcome letter with minimum conversation or interaction. The log cabins are well equipped for basic self catering and clean with stunning views over the lagoon however they are unbearably hot and stuffy. The ceiling fan is not sufficient to ventilate the room and at night you need to leave all the windows open to get some air. There is a very nice small pool / decking area with 6 sun loungers but two of these were broken during our visit and no attempt was made to replace or repair them. To the rear of the log cabins there is a block of residential apartments which does not make for peace and tranquillity. The fence bordering a neighbouring property was missing and a dog could be heard barking early morning. There was animal faeces in the garden near the braai area which was not removed for the duration of our stay. This was the least favourite of all our accommodation throughout our 3 weeks in South Africa.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShiresUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed at Abalone Lodges for 4 nights in the first week of January 2012.

The place was neat and tidy, check-in was quick and everything was as expected.

The view from the balcony (all rooms have great views) was beautiful.

The bathroom was clean and the rooms were tidied daily.

The kitchen had nearly everything needed for quick meals and braaing. There were however no steak knives and the two knives provided were not very sharp. In addition to this even though a mattress was provided for a child there were no extra crockery for our 3 year old daughter.

We also encountered a problem with neighbourhood kids. 2 or 3 boys (about 7 - 10 years old) to be more specific were roaming around the property with their dog and being a nuisance. As there are no security on the property it seems that there's very easy access to for anyone and everyone so keep your things stored away. Our braai utensil (our own, brought from home) went missing.

Another petty incident is that I discovered that my shower gel (not supermarket brand) was missing after being out for a few hours. Why anyone would steal my shower gel, heaven only knows.

All in all, it was a lovely few days spent in Knysna and at Abalone Lodges.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAbduls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
7.5 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
2.4 mi away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#3 of 101 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bamboo the Guesthouse
Bamboo the Guesthouse
#31 of 127 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#13 of 127 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
3.1 mi away
Oyster Creek Lodge
Oyster Creek Lodge
#14 of 127 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
1.2 mi away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#15 of 127 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abalone Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abalone Lodges

Property: Abalone Lodges
Address: 20 Herons Way | Lower Old Place, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abalone Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated only 5 minutes from town centre and 4km from the Leisure Isle beach, you'll find Abalone Lodges. Not only does Abalone Lodges offer convenient location but also offers breathtaking views of the Estuary and Knysna Heads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Abalone Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing