We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveler rating
46
43
25
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
43
25
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews abalone self catering shared pool close to town stunning views easy access knysna heads comfortable beds knysna lagoon cabin balcony log stove accommodation jacuzzi units timber
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 125 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Have stayed there 3 times already and just love it! Clean, cosy with everything you need!Close to town...we often enjoy a walk into town in the morning! Love the bath...love the view...will definately be back again!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liezl1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon in February 2012. All I can say is what an amazing place. When the staff found out it was our honeymoon, they immediately went and got the room ready together with flowers, petals on bed and bath, chocolates and juice. Each room has a jacuzzi bath and the rooms are perfectly decorated. We had family with us, and they stayed on an extra night they enjoyed it so much. This is a must if travelling to Knysna.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edelod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

The lodges are beautiful and very well appointed. We stayed in a one storey lodge which was spacious and very comfortable. They are conveniently located for exploring Knysna and the surrounding areas, without being too close to the bustle of the town. The highlights are the balcony which offers STUNNING views of the lagoon, particulalry at sunset, the jacuzzi bath and a very comfortable bed. The one down side, are the cooking facilities in the lodge. They are meant to be self catering, and a small meal can be russled up, but if you are looking to cook anything big, you might struggle. Having said that, I would recommend the lodges!

Room Tip: All the lodges are lovely!
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lala_Kimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We were in one of the 2-storey lodges so I can't rate the single-storey ones which looked a LOT smaller and would not have suited us at all. The 2 storey lodge had a little parking niche underneath, so you go upstairs to the living room with a huge window towards southwest and a brilliant view over the lagoon and a bit away the waterfront of Knysna. The lower storey consisted of a living room an open kitchen and a little bathroom with a shower. Upstairs is the bedroom (btw really good beds), a really nice bathroom with simple jacuzzy bathtub, separate toilet, a little balcony and a wardrobe.

The kitchen was well equipped with fridge & freezer, stove, oven, microwave and electric kettle, dishes, pots, everything. There are 2 heaters (1 up- one downstairs) for cooler days and a ceiling fan in the bedroom. There was nothing missing that I could think of. It was a tiny bit clairaudient downstairs which never bothered us as it was overall very quiet and upstairs you didn't hear a thing - OK, except the Ibis birds at 6 am! ;-)
We spent 6 wonderful nights there and I can definitely recommend it if you like to stay in a quiet area with phantastic views and lots of space.

Room Tip: Book the 2 storey lodge - a LOT bigger
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Upon arrival there was no-one available at Reception to greet us and after some 10 minutes we located a member of staff who handed us our key and a welcome letter with minimum conversation or interaction. The log cabins are well equipped for basic self catering and clean with stunning views over the lagoon however they are unbearably hot and stuffy. The ceiling fan is not sufficient to ventilate the room and at night you need to leave all the windows open to get some air. There is a very nice small pool / decking area with 6 sun loungers but two of these were broken during our visit and no attempt was made to replace or repair them. To the rear of the log cabins there is a block of residential apartments which does not make for peace and tranquillity. The fence bordering a neighbouring property was missing and a dog could be heard barking early morning. There was animal faeces in the garden near the braai area which was not removed for the duration of our stay. This was the least favourite of all our accommodation throughout our 3 weeks in South Africa.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShiresUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews