We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveler rating
47
44
25
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
44
25
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews abalone shared pool close to town stunning views easy access cabin balcony log accommodation lagoon tub waterfront
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 127 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2012

The lodges are beautiful and very well appointed. We stayed in a one storey lodge which was spacious and very comfortable. They are conveniently located for exploring Knysna and the surrounding areas, without being too close to the bustle of the town. The highlights are the balcony which offers STUNNING views of the lagoon, particulalry at sunset, the jacuzzi bath and a very comfortable bed. The one down side, are the cooking facilities in the lodge. They are meant to be self catering, and a small meal can be russled up, but if you are looking to cook anything big, you might struggle. Having said that, I would recommend the lodges!

Room Tip: All the lodges are lovely!
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lala_Kimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We were in one of the 2-storey lodges so I can't rate the single-storey ones which looked a LOT smaller and would not have suited us at all. The 2 storey lodge had a little parking niche underneath, so you go upstairs to the living room with a huge window towards southwest and a brilliant view over the lagoon and a bit away the waterfront of Knysna. The lower storey consisted of a living room an open kitchen and a little bathroom with a shower. Upstairs is the bedroom (btw really good beds), a really nice bathroom with simple jacuzzy bathtub, separate toilet, a little balcony and a wardrobe.

The kitchen was well equipped with fridge & freezer, stove, oven, microwave and electric kettle, dishes, pots, everything. There are 2 heaters (1 up- one downstairs) for cooler days and a ceiling fan in the bedroom. There was nothing missing that I could think of. It was a tiny bit clairaudient downstairs which never bothered us as it was overall very quiet and upstairs you didn't hear a thing - OK, except the Ibis birds at 6 am! ;-)
We spent 6 wonderful nights there and I can definitely recommend it if you like to stay in a quiet area with phantastic views and lots of space.

Room Tip: Book the 2 storey lodge - a LOT bigger
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Upon arrival there was no-one available at Reception to greet us and after some 10 minutes we located a member of staff who handed us our key and a welcome letter with minimum conversation or interaction. The log cabins are well equipped for basic self catering and clean with stunning views over the lagoon however they are unbearably hot and stuffy. The ceiling fan is not sufficient to ventilate the room and at night you need to leave all the windows open to get some air. There is a very nice small pool / decking area with 6 sun loungers but two of these were broken during our visit and no attempt was made to replace or repair them. To the rear of the log cabins there is a block of residential apartments which does not make for peace and tranquillity. The fence bordering a neighbouring property was missing and a dog could be heard barking early morning. There was animal faeces in the garden near the braai area which was not removed for the duration of our stay. This was the least favourite of all our accommodation throughout our 3 weeks in South Africa.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShiresUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed at Abalone Lodges for 4 nights in the first week of January 2012.

The place was neat and tidy, check-in was quick and everything was as expected.

The view from the balcony (all rooms have great views) was beautiful.

The bathroom was clean and the rooms were tidied daily.

The kitchen had nearly everything needed for quick meals and braaing. There were however no steak knives and the two knives provided were not very sharp. In addition to this even though a mattress was provided for a child there were no extra crockery for our 3 year old daughter.

We also encountered a problem with neighbourhood kids. 2 or 3 boys (about 7 - 10 years old) to be more specific were roaming around the property with their dog and being a nuisance. As there are no security on the property it seems that there's very easy access to for anyone and everyone so keep your things stored away. Our braai utensil (our own, brought from home) went missing.

Another petty incident is that I discovered that my shower gel (not supermarket brand) was missing after being out for a few hours. Why anyone would steal my shower gel, heaven only knows.

All in all, it was a lovely few days spent in Knysna and at Abalone Lodges.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheAbduls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed at the Abalone Lodges in Knysna, on the South African south coast, for 4 nights during August 2011. What an experience!!!!!

Not only were we greeted by very friendly staff members but the room we occupied exceeded our expectations by far. And these guys redefine neat, tidy, fully equipped, self catering accommodation. Rooms are made up promptly and thoroughly every morning.

Besides the excellent facilities and housekeeping the views from the balcony and the location is also something to rave about. Situated very central it's only a stone throw from a vast variety of activities and places of interest in the Garden Route.

Thanks Almarie, Maria and Chris for your hospitality and friendly service. You will definitely be seeing more of us in the future.

Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacques_Albertyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews