We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveler rating
44
40
25
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
40
25
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsabaloneself cateringshared poolclose to townstunning viewseasy accessknysna headscomfortable bedsknysna lagooncabinbalconylogstoveaccommodationjacuzziunitstimber
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 120 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed at the Abalone Lodges in Knysna, on the South African south coast, for 4 nights during August 2011. What an experience!!!!!

Not only were we greeted by very friendly staff members but the room we occupied exceeded our expectations by far. And these guys redefine neat, tidy, fully equipped, self catering accommodation. Rooms are made up promptly and thoroughly every morning.

Besides the excellent facilities and housekeeping the views from the balcony and the location is also something to rave about. Situated very central it's only a stone throw from a vast variety of activities and places of interest in the Garden Route.

Thanks Almarie, Maria and Chris for your hospitality and friendly service. You will definitely be seeing more of us in the future.

Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacques_Albertyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

VERY nice views and lovely king size bed
However:
Kitchen should not be classified as selfcatering as the 2 stove plate is on the floor, There is NO place to prepare even a sandwich, the knife was broken and coffee only for 1 night? ooo yes and microwave didnt work.
Not worth the price

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HanlieDurbanville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abalone_Knysna, Owner at Abalone Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2011

Good morning

Thank you for your feedback as we value both the positive and the negative. The 'Mini Kitchen' in our smaller unit is merely there to offer the basics. All our guest amenities are provided on arrival. As advised in the kitchen we do sell hospitality packs at a minimal cost. The microwave leaves a bit of a mystery as we've tested it and boiled a cup of water with no difficulty. My apologies for the knife which was not in good order.

We wish for all our guests to have a pleasant stay and hope that we can be of assistance to you again sometime in the near future.

We wish you well.
Kind regards
Annelize Geldenhuys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2010

Well kept beautiful Lodge with the friendliest staff all around. Everything you need. Clean sparkling pool. Most important - everything is exactly like on the pictures. My sister slipped and fell on the pool deck - they immediately brought ice and some Voltaren Gel. During our 1 week stay there I fell in love with everything and I'm moving there beginning January 2011. Almarie and Charles are there to assist with just about everything from faxes to first aid! This is value for money in every sense of the word!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynette3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2010

We were in one of the 2-storey lodges so I can't rate the single-storey ones. It had a little parking niche underneath, so you go upstairs to the living room with a huge window towards southwest and the most brilliant view over the lagoon and a bit away the waterfront of Knysna. The lower storey consisted of a living room an open kitchen and a little bathroom with a shower. Upstairs is the bedroom (btw really good beds), a really nice bathroom with simple jacuzzy bathtub, separate toilet, a little balcony and a wardrobe.

The kitchen was equipped with fridge & freezer, stove, oven, microwave and electric kettle, dishes, pots, everything. There are 2 heaters (1 up- one downstairs) for cooler days and a ceiling fan in the bedroom. There was nothing missing that I could think of. It was a tiny bit clairaudient downstairs which never bothered us as it was overall very quiet and upstairs you didn't hear a thing - OK, except the Ibis birds at 6 am! ;-)
We spent 4 wonderful nights there and I can definitely recommend it if you like to stay in a quiet area with phantastic views and lots of space.

After a long day of driving we tried to reach the Knysna tourist office before closing. We stopped at the green info-sign just next to Inyathi - and landed in a little private tourist info. The lady (so sorry, forgot her name) was really wonderful. She warmly recommended and directly let us one of the Abalone lodges for a good price in the low season. Little more than a B&B but lots of space and not to forget the view - and self-catering was just perfect for us.
One tiny precaution maybe: The lodges are fully built out of wood and brand new. So be a bit careful if you are very sensitive regarding timber preservatives but I'm sure that's no issue with time and airing.

Knysna itself has great oysters and sea food, cute beautiful little waterfront and beautiful beach - not to forget the whales (whale trip with David!). It is convenient for a daytrip to Tsitsikamma (1.5 h drive) and Teniqua Cheetah Sanctuary (45 min.) which we found excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arabianmau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews