We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for pizza and past, lively atmosphere”
Review of Cafe Mario

Cafe Mario
Ranked #9 of 161 Restaurants in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
163 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good for pizza and past, lively atmosphere”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

It's hard to get a table at Cafe Mario without reservation... the reason is simple: good, unpretentious Italian food that isn't overly expensive, and a lively atmosphere right a Kynsna's waterfront. The pizzas are huge, and the pasta are (nearly) as good as in Italy. Service can be slow at times, but who cares... just order another bottle of wine. For all those who tried all the seafood restaurants and are looking for a refreshing alternative!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank polartravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    336
    104
    22
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
145 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Good Food, Drawbridge view”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We just picked this restaurant since it had more of the things we wanted to eat, and we got a table outside right next to the water. The pizza we ordered was very good and my husband ordered a pasta dish that he devoured. The really cool thing about the restaurant is that you are sitting right next to the water and the drawbridge is right there. It's not a big canal so when boats pass by, it's close enough for you to jump in if you ever needed to. It was really cool being so close and the kids enjoyed watching the boats go by. It was very busy when we went there for lunch but so was everywhere else. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kramn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best pizza we had in South Africa!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Make sure you have a reservation when you want to eat here on a "cold" day. There is not much space inside. Waiting for a table was worth it, the pizza and the salad were great! As was the freshly pressed orange juice!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JMS121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bravo Mario!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Good to find an italian in Knysna who keeps the real food as it suppose to be!
Thank you for the most fantastic Pizza in South Africa!!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fabri1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The restaurant was full on the night we attended. Service was slow and we frequently had to call our waitress for service.
When she did appear she was attentive and helpful.
No great shakes with the food either - very average.
I would stick to pizzas and pasta as the veal was tough on the night.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Mario also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Cafe Mario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing