We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bakery in Town!”
Review of Mon Petit Pain

Mon Petit Pain
Ranked #59 of 161 Restaurants in Knysna
Cuisines: Cafe, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Sister restaurant to Ile De Pain. One of the most popular breakfast spots in town!
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Bakery in Town!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is the sister bakery of Isle de Pain on Thesen Island and one cannot describe the goodness! Fresh breads, pastries, devine coffee and lovely relaxed 'cafe' vibe. If I would stay in Knysna - this would become my Saturday morning ritual.

Would of warning though : not all ingredients in the dishes are listed on the menu. If you have any allergies or food dislikes rather ask the order taker to explain exactly what is in a dish. I ordered the Croissant with Brie and Fig and to my disappointment it had Marmalade preserve mixed with fig. On a positive note though, once I mentioned my disapproval they offered me something instead.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissCPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    60
    18
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Never disappoints!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stopped in for breakfast here. A little coffee shop and bakery just like the name says, but big on taste and flavour. Just a few pastries and some cappuccino's for us usually. Reminded us of our trip to Paris. A regular stop for us when in Knysna and it will continue to be!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jayang22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best coffee in Knysna”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Hands down, the best coffee in Knysna. Delicious freshly baked pastries, cakes and biscuits daily. Love the fresh juices. The breakfast menu could be bigger.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
113 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is our regular coffee shop in Knysna. The staff are warm and friendly and very accommodating to keep pastries (pasteis de nata to die for) and to have bread available for a late lunch. The food is coffee shop fare and consistently good. Sandwiches are always fresh and scrambled eggs consistently moist and delicious with recipes available in their recipe book. Pastries and bread supplied by Ile de Pain. The barista is one of the best on the Garden Route and you can get a great red cappuccino. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Selena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy pastries”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

If you love pastries and bread...this is the place for you ! The coffee is excellent a well.A warm and friendly place for breakfast, lunch or just coffee.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Petra Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mon Petit Pain also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Mon Petit Pain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing