We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere”
Review of JJ's Restaurant

JJ's Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 164 Restaurants in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Purley
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Had a good meal, not the best of many great meals we had on this holiday but the atmosphere and energy in the restaurant really made this a good evening.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Coulsdongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    272
    116
    46
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
436 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 500 helpful votes
“Consistently entertaining venue”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

JJs is a Knysna institution, on the first floor directly on the Waterfront. Just going for the view and sunset alone might be worth it. Restaurant attracts large tour groups, generally at big tables, so it is beyond busy and noisy. Don't expect a quick meal - just settle back and enjoy the experience and hope the next table is not 16 noisy Italians! (Am I allowed to say that?)

There is a big range of food on offer, which is generally good, when it eventually arrives. I ate the fish this time, which is consistently reliable.

Love it or hate it, an evening at JJs ends with the staff entertaining the customers to a few traditional native Xhosa songs. The lead singer, one of the waitresses, has an amazing voice. Worth going just to hear her singing.

Reliable, if not outstanding, food; fabulous views, great sunsets and an entertaining evening - no Knysna visit is complete without one meal at JJs!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grahamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic evening”
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

The food at JJ's is fantastic!!! Service is great. We had fabulous wine, and my steak was soooo tender. The staff are friendly and willing to please. Half through the evening the kitchen staff break into song, and they sing beautifully. Over all fantastic evening, good food and great views.

Helpful?
Thank Lynda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beds
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We ate here on our trip to Knysna and it was excellent in every way. The welcome and ambience were top class and Justin was a great host recommending wine and genuinely interested in what we were up to as he was with everyone lse in the restaurant!

The food was fabulous (the lamb shank is to die for) with a huge choice, the wine list good and reasonable and the views superb. The service was great, quick and unobtrusive and the whole experience one to savour. Use the pens and paper to make a note of your visit and stick it up in the restaurant for posteriy or your next visit.

I would ceratinly recommend JJs.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scubacol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The Best We Had In South Africa”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Sally and I traveled around Cape Town, the Winelands, Sanbona and around the Cape Peninsula. JJs was the best meal we had. The service was lovely, the atmosphere ideal for a couple (us) but great for larger groups. The food was really great and the location/setting is brilliant. Not cheap, but then we had a lovely bottle of wine, but worth every penny.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AngusMcBain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JJ's Restaurant also viewed

 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to JJ's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing