We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (400)
Filter reviews
400 results
Traveler rating
182
142
45
24
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
142
45
24
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssaga tourwaterfront villaone bedroom suitethe main hotelfull kitchenother hotelslounge areabuffet stylemodern hotelnice poolwi fiswimming poollarge roomtwo night staystayed here for two nightsgreat roomself catering
Filter
Updating list...
295 - 300 of 400 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We visited as two families and were pleased to find that we had very spacious suites which comfortably accommodated us all. The receptionist was really helpful.

The hotel was very quiet when we stayed but looked well set up for busier times.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed in a 1st floor room with balcony overlooking the gardens - beautifully peaceful!
The room was spacious and comfortable, with small kitchenette area. The only thing we thought was strange was the shower door that would not open fully as it knocked against the toilet bowl - strange! - and meant getting into/out of the shower was a bit of a squeeze, but a minor concern overall.
We didn't use the restaurant or the pool, so can't comment, but would be happy to recommend the hotel itself.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anoif8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna), responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Traveller

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Hotel Knysna - The Moorings to enjoy a meal in our Salmon restaurant.


Kind Regards
Brandon Schafli
General Manager
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Hotel is situated on an estuary and you can enjoy nice walks in the grounds. Rooms are large and spacious with fully fitted kitchen, fridge and freezer. Wi Fi was a problem as only half hour free slots allowed. Nice balconies ideal for having a relaxing drink. Carvery was available for evening meal - OK but not highest standard. Breakfast was just OK. Chef on hand to cook your eggs if required.
Gary was on hand the second evening to help us with our table requirements. There were 10 of us. Nothing was too much trouble. Staff very pleasant.
Nice indoor area with running stream. Hotel a bit isolated from other hotels and restaurants but no problem in getting into Knysna which was a great place. Lots of shops and restaurants all along the waterfront. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are good value. Preferred the ground floor.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisatholly55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna), responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Traveller

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Your comments and suggestions are noted and we value our guests feedback to enhance our service delivery.

I will certainly share your feedback with Gary as I am sure this will be an exceptionally pleasing read for him.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Hotel Knysna.



Kind Regards

Brandon Schafli
General Manager
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located on the banks of the Knysna estuary and just outside of town . It is a haven for bird life and great to walk in the area . The hotel itself is modern clean and run by a very friendly professional staff who go out of there way to ensure a comfortable stay . Modern rooms are large and well equipped and I would upgrade to a suite . Pay the money ! Dining was fast and efficient both at breakfast and at dinner and staff again very professional . The head chef Martin was on hand and visible even during breakfast service . There is a inexpensive taxi service that you can take into town if you want to do the tourist attractions or rather laze around the hotels large pool and relax with a couple of bottles of wine and 24 beers . Excellent hotel staff and rooms . Highly recommended

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank JohnFinchPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna), responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Traveller

Thank you for your kind words of appreciation.

It was a great pleasure to host you and your group at Premier Hotel Knysna - The Moorings while enjoying your tour of the Garden Route.

Your comments are most encouraging and will be conveyed to the staff.

Yours in hospitality


Brandon Schafli
General Manager
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Hot bread for breakfast served personally by the chef and lovely new bedrooms.-Nothing was too much trouble for the cook or reception staff in this beautiful,clean and spacious hotel set in lovely gardens with a large pristine swimming pool.. My large room had its own kitchen and lounge area and also a shared balcony and connecting door to the next bedroom so it would be ideal for families.All of the food was delicious but the enormous included breakfast was enough to last until dinner.We were staying with a Travelsphere Tour from the UK and we were pleased to be away from the busy waterfront hotels.The Featherbed Nature Reserve nearby was a really beautiful excursion and the entire area was stunning. As the guide quipped it's nice here na?

Room Tip: Everyone on our trip of over 40 people was pleased with this hotel! We loved it!!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna), responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Traveller

Thank you for posting your comment on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at the Premier Hotel Knysna - The Moorings.

We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful experience. We Look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to the Garden Route.

Yours in Hospitality

Brandon Schafli
General Manager
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews