We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best Hotel on our Tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best Hotel on our Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were on a 17 day tour of S/Africa staying in several hotels. This hotel is outstanding with the level of Service and food the best I have experianced in 40 years (personal & business) travelling.
This is attributed to the Manager Mr Chris Duncan who is so hands on, starting at 5.30am in the restaurant finishing around 10pm befor helping in the bar lounge untill the last guest retires. The staff absolutely love him and all work very very hard to support him and as Guests, we receive the benefit. As a former Chef he knows excactly how the food should be prepared and presented and is always bussing around the restaurant ensuring plates cleaned away, buffet food always topped up, hot and available. At 5.30pm he will take guests on a tour of the gardens, identiyfying any unusual animals/birds. A Spotted Eagle Owl nesting in one of the Trees was a new experiance for many of us.
The rooms are huge and spotlessly clean with most rooms having a lounge and kitchenet,TV in both lounge and bedroom. Even the WiFi is free for the first 30 mins (all other hotels on our journey charged). As and example, a particular wine that I wanted was out of stock. The next day delivery failed to supply, so he went to the local supermarket in his car to obtain fresh stock and this was a £8 bottle of wine !!!!!!. You will not be dissapionted.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the pool others overlook the Gardens, equally attractive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinBristol_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    89
    27
    11
    4
See reviews for
64
115
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We purchased a Groupon for a three night stay at the Premier Hotel - The Moorings in Knysna and travelled down on Wednesday, 29 Aug. On the flight down, I jokingly mentioned to my husband that if it was a dump, we would have to just grin and bear it.

We arrived and realised that we weren't going to have bear anything - the staff are ultra friendly and helpful, the walk to our room was through a tropical garden passageway, the suite we stayed in was huge and beautifully decorated with masses of cupboards and had a massive bed which was very comfortable. The suite has two big flat screen televisions (one in the sitting room area and one in the bedroom). I could not stop grinning, but because I was so pleasantly surprised.

We were there in their off season, which meant we pretty much had the hotel to ourselves for the first 2 nights, with more guests arriving on our last day. Even though the hotel was quiet, the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome, without ever intruding on our "quiet" time.

The Salmon Restaurant serves delicious food (room service food was hot when it arrived) and the breakfasts are well appointed (although there was no sign of the continental buffet on the first two mornings, when we were the only guests there - which we felt was understandable).

All in all, we fell in love with both Knysna and our hotel and cannot wait to return. I have heard that Knysna can get pretty hectic during the peak season, but for us our little mini break was just perfect and we will definitely return to the area, and stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anixa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

A lovely spacious hotel. We stayed in the deluxe bedroom which was well equipped and comfortable. The hotel has lots of amenities, and the hallway to the rooms had a beautiful rain forest feel.
The service was very good. We had to leave early (at 4am) to catch a flight and the service we received was amazing. The manager initially tried to get us a place closer to our destination (in view of the time) however, in the busy season it was difficult hence they arranged for an early checkout and also packed us a huge breakfast.
Location wise - its a 5-10 minute drive to the main harbor in town or the viewpoints on the eastern head.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sejul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kleinmond, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Our visit to the Premier Hotel Knysna.

While on honeymoon and looking for a good place to have dinner in Knysna, we came across this hotel. My wife and I was very delighted to find the Premier Hotel Knysna perfectly suited for an out of this world dinner.

I want to thank the General Manager and staff for making our short but sweet visit an absolutely unforgettable experience. And with a special thanks to our friendly waitron, Charles.

Kind Regards

Wikus & Grethe Conradie

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wikus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake of Constance, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed in this 4star hotel on a weekend (friday to saturday) for one night mid of March 2012. Shortly after check-in at 04:00 p.m. we were told that there was a water pipe burst in George Rex Drive and hence there was no water at all at our room (not even to flush the toilet). So we had to leave for dinner without having the opportunity to freshen up a little. When we returned to the hotel at 10:00 p.m. we were told that the pipe burst was fixed. However, there was still no water at all at our room. So I had to run around with the night portier till 10:45 p.m. until we found a room on the ground floor that had running water; finally we ended up in moving from our top floor room to a room on the ground floor.This was lot of fun late at night after a nice evening in Knysna. As there was only one more couple in the hotel and regarding that the hotel management was unable to accomodate their guests appropriately, they should have closed the hotel for this night and book their guests to another hotel.

The next morning (saturday) there was a meeting of a ladies club in the breakfast restaurant. There was a breakfast buffet that was open to the four(!) hotel guests as well as for the ladies. When I lined up at the buffet with a couple of ladies I was invited by one of the ladies to help myself at the buffet, which was included in my rack rate - how bizarre.

At check-out the front desk manager insisted on payment of the full rack rate, which I - of course - refused. So she called the hotel manager who was very unfriendly, had no understanding at all and was not co-operative. When I told him that they were unable to handle the pipe burst and, as it was a 4star hotel, I would have expected that they book their four guests to another hotel, he answered that Knysna in total was concerned by the pipe burst. However, this was not true. At the restaurant in Knysna, where we had dinner, they did not even know that there was a pipe burst at George Rex Drive.

After having argued for a couple of minutes the hotel manager reduced the rack rate by 25% with a sore face and without any excuse for the inconvenience we had. The rack rate reduction did not help us much further, this was the least the hotel management could do - and our stay was spoilt anyway.

It is my imression that there is still a lot to learn for the hotel management on what is standard in the hotel business and how to handle customers. I would not come back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank herrmann01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XDvir, Social Media at Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Premier Hotel Knysna The Moorings regrets any inconvenience caused as a result of the water interruptions due to maintenance being undertaken by the Knysna municipality on a damaged pipe. All arriving guests were advised of the situation thereby affording them the opportunity to make alternative arrangements should they have deemed fit. Unfortunately, and unforeseeably, when the water was restored, an airlock happened in the reticulation system. We pride ourselves on our impeccable levels of service, and the overall quality of our facility. We learn from our shortcomings, and will cease at little to deliver upon our vision, "Where Guests become Friends".

Mr Chris Duncan
General Manager of Premier Hotel Knysna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal, Portugal
Level Contributor
129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

A little disapointed with the quality of this hotel. The location does not permit you to see the lagoon. The rooms are not bad, but expected better. Breakfast was average as well was service generally. I think that there are much better options in Knysna.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

Everything was outstanding to the finest detail. Special thanks to Esther and her team. They treated us like royalty!! See you soon

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pentza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
7.6 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
3.0 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#7 of 29 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
1.8 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#8 of 29 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
2.4 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings

Property: Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
Address: 1 George Rex Drive, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings welcomes you to the idyllic natural surroundings of the Western Cape Garden Route. A resort as diverse as Knysna itself, the Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings offers guests a multitude of ways to experience the Garden Route: share a champagne moment on the side of the private Knysna lagoon inlet; have fun with the family in our newly developed outdoor play area; lounge by the pool; enjoy the culinary delights on offer at our trendy Salmon Restaurant; picnic in the beautiful resort gardens or head off to discover the richness of Knysna through the craft shops, flea-markets and cosy cafes. For lovers of the good life, a visit planned during the annual Oyster Festival will provide opportunities to sample these locally farmed delicacies, however, during the year, these and other delights are still available from various eateries located in the harbour and elsewhere in town. The harbour area is also home to most of Knysna’s nightlife, with several bars, restaurants and clubs where patrons can enjoy a cocktail while watching the sunset over the heads. Our friendly staff will assist you with any special request and offer you information on the many attractions Knysna has to offer. For luxury accommodation that promises to become a “home away from home”, be sure to make your reservation at the Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings. For business, Premier Hotel Knysna - The Moorings offers 4 conference rooms that can accommodate groups from 25 to 250 and is tailor-made to suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing