We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Evening Without Water”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed in this 4star hotel on a weekend (friday to saturday) for one night mid of March 2012. Shortly after check-in at 04:00 p.m. we were told that there was a water pipe burst in George Rex Drive and hence there was no water at all at our room (not even to flush the toilet). So we had to leave for dinner without having the opportunity to freshen up a little. When we returned to the hotel at 10:00 p.m. we were told that the pipe burst was fixed. However, there was still no water at all at our room. So I had to run around with the night portier till 10:45 p.m. until we found a room on the ground floor that had running water; finally we ended up in moving from our top floor room to a room on the ground floor.This was lot of fun late at night after a nice evening in Knysna. As there was only one more couple in the hotel and regarding that the hotel management was unable to accomodate their guests appropriately, they should have closed the hotel for this night and book their guests to another hotel.

The next morning (saturday) there was a meeting of a ladies club in the breakfast restaurant. There was a breakfast buffet that was open to the four(!) hotel guests as well as for the ladies. When I lined up at the buffet with a couple of ladies I was invited by one of the ladies to help myself at the buffet, which was included in my rack rate - how bizarre.

At check-out the front desk manager insisted on payment of the full rack rate, which I - of course - refused. So she called the hotel manager who was very unfriendly, had no understanding at all and was not co-operative. When I told him that they were unable to handle the pipe burst and, as it was a 4star hotel, I would have expected that they book their four guests to another hotel, he answered that Knysna in total was concerned by the pipe burst. However, this was not true. At the restaurant in Knysna, where we had dinner, they did not even know that there was a pipe burst at George Rex Drive.

After having argued for a couple of minutes the hotel manager reduced the rack rate by 25% with a sore face and without any excuse for the inconvenience we had. The rack rate reduction did not help us much further, this was the least the hotel management could do - and our stay was spoilt anyway.

It is my imression that there is still a lot to learn for the hotel management on what is standard in the hotel business and how to handle customers. I would not come back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herrmann01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XDvir, Social Media at Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna), responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Premier Hotel Knysna The Moorings regrets any inconvenience caused as a result of the water interruptions due to maintenance being undertaken by the Knysna municipality on a damaged pipe. All arriving guests were advised of the situation thereby affording them the opportunity to make alternative arrangements should they have deemed fit. Unfortunately, and unforeseeably, when the water was restored, an airlock happened in the reticulation system. We pride ourselves on our impeccable levels of service, and the overall quality of our facility. We learn from our shortcomings, and will cease at little to deliver upon our vision, "Where Guests become Friends".

Mr Chris Duncan
General Manager of Premier Hotel Knysna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 354 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2012

A little disapointed with the quality of this hotel. The location does not permit you to see the lagoon. The rooms are not bad, but expected better. Breakfast was average as well was service generally. I think that there are much better options in Knysna.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Everything was outstanding to the finest detail. Special thanks to Esther and her team. They treated us like royalty!! See you soon

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pentza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

As with any review, it is all relative, i base the below on what is expected of a 4star hotel and other 4star options in knysna (The Lofts and The Turbine - both great hotels)

1. Upon check in they had the dates wrong
2. Unless you ask theydo not offer or advise that there is someone to assist with your bags. They adviseyouwhere to park and give direction to the room. My cousin had 2 little kids with them and no assistance was given.
3. Grass arnd the pool are full of those flowers that attract bees. This problem is easily solved by planting better quality grass or cutting it at least twice a week. My wife got stung by a bee and upon asking reseption for assistance there was noyhing provided in the form of a first aid kit.
4. The hotel is located in avery damp area, and the lower rooms seem to be shut for long periods of time and the dampness builds up in the rooms.
5. Coffee cups still had the 'rim' of the previous cups of coffee on it.
6. In thehotel book theyadvise that for 'shoe polish' 'please contact reseption' , 30min prior to a weddingi contacted reseption in regards to getting shoes cleaned and they at first advised that they do not offer this service, i advised that it says in the book that the do and then i was provided with a shoe mit.
7.after booking 3 rooms over a period of 3 days and hanging arnd the dining area and pool area for the majority of the time and seeing the manager prob pass us and 15 times over 3 days we failed to get so much as an 'hello' or god forbid a 'how is your stay' from this chap, it felt like he was doing us a favour by letting us stay there.
This is my 2cents - there are many better hottels in knysna based on quality, service, and uniqueness....

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saffer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

At The Moorings Hotel in Knysna we had a very modern, very clean suite, although there were some strange quirks in the bathroom and bedroom. In the bathroom the shower door didn’t open properly as a towel rail was positioned behind it, there was nothing to hold on to in the shower, there was nowhere to hang the hand towels. One of our Saga group reported that it was impossible to reach the toilet roll from the toilet in their bathroom. In the bedroom the miniscule bedside tables were almost completely occupied by the lamps, the door of the safe clashed with the wardrobe door and there were only 4 coathangers.

Other than that the staff were excellent, and were very helpful with my wife's gluten-free diet.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Only stayed here one night but Oh how I wishes we could have stayed longer. We had a Suite which was fantastic.
What a beautiful hotel. First Class

Room Tip: The Suites are very expensive and we were lucky that we were given one because all double rooms were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Hollbez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

A sumptuous room, very large bathroom and a nice balcony overlooking a tree full of yellow weaver birds was our introduction to a relaxing stay here. The place was spotless and the front desk staff very friendly and welcoming. The staff were full of smiles and very helpful.

The sunset was magnificent across the adjoining estuary as the ibis and cormorants flew to their roosting sites and the bats came out. Magical!

The food was a buffet with a good choice although the lamb chops were rather incinerated. The cooked breakfast wasn't buffet style but individually cooked and a bit slow but worth waiting for.

A really great place to relax for a day or so.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Livingwhilewecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.8 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
828 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.2 mi away
Knysna Country House
Knysna Country House
#20 of 30 in Knysna
332 reviews
1.7 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna)

Address: 1 George Rex Drive, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range: $91 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna) 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna) welcomes you to the idyllic natural surroundings of the Western Cape Garden Route. A resort as diverse as Knysna itself, the Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings offers guests a multitude of ways to experience the Garden Route: share a champagne moment on the side of the private Knysna lagoon inlet; have fun with the family in our newly developed outdoor play area; lounge by the pool; enjoy the culinary delights on offer at our trendy Salmon Restaurant; picnic in the beautiful resort gardens or head off to discover the richness of Knysna through the craft shops, flea-markets and cosy cafes. For lovers of the good life, a visit planned during the annual Oyster Festival will provide opportunities to sample these locally farmed delicacies, however, during the year, these and other delights are still available from various eateries located in the harbour and elsewhere in town. The harbour area is also home to most of Knysna’s nightlife, with several bars, restaurants and clubs where patrons can enjoy a cocktail while watching the sunset over the heads. Our friendly staff will assist you with any special request and offer you information on the many attractions Knysna has to offer. For luxury accommodation that promises to become a “home away from home”, be sure to make your reservation at Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna). For business, Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna) offers 4 conference rooms that can accommodate groups from 25 to 250 and is tailor-made to suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Resort The Moorings (Knysna) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing