We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable Anniversary Getaway - couldn't have hoped for more!”
Review of Beacon House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beacon House
Ranked #14 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unforgettable Anniversary Getaway - couldn't have hoped for more!”
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Top class getaway - a more romantic, fun, and memorable wedding anniversary we couldn't have asked for! Most definately our best holiday yet and we will be back at the first opportunity! Impeccable hospitality, with personal extra touches of roses and champagne blew us away. The apartment was too stunning for words, with breathtaking views from the lovely large patio, lounge, and bedrooms. The beautiful and stylish decor, together with all the mod chrome appliances made us feel like celebrities :-) Wonderful location on the Eastern Head, with direct access to The Viewpoint made for gorgeous scenic walks. A wide choice of restaurants at Thesen Harbour as well as on the main road made for wonderful dining experiences. Thoroughly enjoyed walking in the Knysna Forest, as well as relaxing on the untouched beach at Leisure Isle. Would recommend without a hesitation, superb!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nats95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
49
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Awesome view of the Knysna heads, the apartments are really well done out and the staff could not do enough to make our stay a memorable one. Apartments are big with all the appliances to make your stay fantastic. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank terrywarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We, some friends and I, went to Knysna for the Oyster festival and stayed at Beacon House for a week. What an amazing place to stay at. Expect to wake up with beautiful views of both the Heads and the Lagoon from your bedroom. Luxuries such as heated towel racks,underfloor heating (in every room), airconditioning (in every room), a gas fire place and if you get bored of the amazing views a LCD TV with Satelite and PVR. It is also very close to two beautiful restaurants, so no need to do any cooking. There is a cleaning service (never saw them but always came home to a clean house) so all you do is eat,drink and rest. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys tasteful, luxurious accommodation with views that will make you want to live there forever. We didn't want to leave!!!! Thanks to Mike for the hospitality and for making the stay such a joy. Will definitely see you again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louis093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2010

We felt very warm welcomed in this luxury apartment house. The 3 bed room apartment is well equipped and very comfortable. You wouldn't miss anything in the kitchen. Even a BBQ was provided. We liked the modern and clear style of the accommodation with a super-fantastic view from the large sun deck to The Heads and to the Lagoon of Knysna. The staff was very friendly and looked after every thing we wanted.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichaelTraveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.3 mi away
The Mount Knysna
The Mount Knysna
#15 of 30 in Knysna
34 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Alexander
The Alexander
#3 of 126 in Knysna
320 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hope Villa Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Headlands House
Headlands House
#21 of 126 in Knysna
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#1 of 103 in Knysna
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Augusta Bay
Augusta Bay
#23 of 126 in Knysna
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon House

Property: Beacon House
Address: 36 George Rex Drive | The Heads, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beacon House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is against the Eastern head at the mouth to the Indian Ocean, that Beacon House has been created, featuring 4 ultra spacious and luxurious apartments. Beacon House is the ideal base from which to explore the wonders that characterise this spectacular Garden Route town. Each of the serviced apartments provides guests with the flexibility of a self catering environment allowing optimal freedom to design your own itinerary. The design reflects an easy living holiday atmosphere, whilst incorporating sleek modern finishes. A walkway within the development provides residents with access to the various stunning view points at the Heads. Beacon House is situated in close proximity to Fountain Point, a white beacon used as a guiding point for sailors attempting to negotiate the passage through the Heads. Built into the side of a steep slope, Beacon House boasts views both across the lagoon and out to sea. Beacon House is situated within walking distance of the lagoon, a restaurant and a coffee shop and offers ample parking for visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Beacon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing