We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find a better option”
Review of Beacon House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beacon House
Ranked #14 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hard to find a better option”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Still one of the best in Africa!
Fantastic accommodation.
Mike always strives towards performance excellence!
We know this management since 1994!
Well done.
A home away from home!
You will never beat the view!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PhilipCoetzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
49
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Beacon house offers the very best in self catering. Each apartment is equipped with the best mod cons and appliances. The view of the heads and outdoor private decks make for a peaceful and selculded stay.The apartment was fully serviced every day by lovely ladies . It was so convenient to have East Head cafe downstairs for delicious meals. Thanks to Mike, the manager, who was so hospitable, and helpful.
A perfect property for a quick private get a away.
We will certainly be back

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank crawfordct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

To begin, the view: stunning!
Then, the immaculate, serviced, stunning apartment with all the things you always wanted at home - fireplace, balcony with braai, dimmers on the lights, underfloor heating, feather duvets.

Thank you for the perfect space for both work and play. Nothing was too much trouble for Mike. He even got us muffin pans for baking!
We almost didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Innerpeace35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Just fantastic accommodation. Best of both worlds with luxurious apartment space with daily hotel-like servicing. Manager Mike always ready to help with anything, making your stay seamlessly unforgettable. And then there's the views!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TheMooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

One word ... Excellent !

Located at the foot of the East Head of Knysna. Spacious 3 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment which has the best location in Knysna in our opinion. All rooms have air conditioners and under floor heating. All modern conveniences are installed in the apartment. Views of the lagoon and the heads are excellent from almost every room. Only a short drive to Waterfront and centre of town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Walter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burgersdorp
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

There is no better place to stay in Knysna than at Beacon House. The location is perfect, the view (right at the Heads) is breathtaking, the apartment is spacious and spotless, with all the modern appliances you need. This is truly a hidden gem, with affordable prices. Thank you Mike for ending our holiday on such a high note! You will definitely see this Eastern Cape family again soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank chantelBurgersdorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jozi, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Spacious, 3 bedroom modern apartment with (in our opinion) the best location on the east head in Knysna with fantastic views, easy access to Knysna's #1 restaurant (East Head Cafe), the lagoon and the lovely Leisure Isle for morning strolls. The apartment is perfect and lived up to everything that was promised plus a large balcony, BBQ and fully-equipped kitchen (and separate scullery) for evenings spent in to simply chill, enjoy the views and sound of the ocean - all made more enjoyable by the fact that it is serviced daily. From my initial inquiry to our departure at the end of a fabulous 10-day stay, Mike was an absolute pleasure to deal with making it feel more like we were returning to our 2nd home than a rented holiday apartment.

This is undoubtedly the best Knysna has to offer in this accommodation category - hands down! We've been to Knysna a number of times staying in various types of accommodation but this has been our favourite stay. In fact we are returning here later this year for the annual Oyster Festival celebration for another 9 days - enough said.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank MoolyJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.4 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
0.2 mi away
Headlands House
Headlands House
#18 of 126 in Knysna
184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hope Villa Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#1 of 104 in Knysna
324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Augusta Bay
Augusta Bay
#24 of 126 in Knysna
205 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Alexander
The Alexander
#3 of 126 in Knysna
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon House

Property: Beacon House
Address: 36 George Rex Drive | The Heads, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beacon House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is against the Eastern head at the mouth to the Indian Ocean, that Beacon House has been created, featuring 4 ultra spacious and luxurious apartments. Beacon House is the ideal base from which to explore the wonders that characterise this spectacular Garden Route town. Each of the serviced apartments provides guests with the flexibility of a self catering environment allowing optimal freedom to design your own itinerary. The design reflects an easy living holiday atmosphere, whilst incorporating sleek modern finishes. A walkway within the development provides residents with access to the various stunning view points at the Heads. Beacon House is situated in close proximity to Fountain Point, a white beacon used as a guiding point for sailors attempting to negotiate the passage through the Heads. Built into the side of a steep slope, Beacon House boasts views both across the lagoon and out to sea. Beacon House is situated within walking distance of the lagoon, a restaurant and a coffee shop and offers ample parking for visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Beacon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing