We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place”
Review of Beacon House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beacon House
Ranked #14 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Beacon House exceeded our expectations from the minute we walked into the door. Not only was the service fantastic, the apartment had everything and more you could ask for with the most beautiful views across the bay. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who is fussy and very particular about things. You won't be disappointed. Awesome awesome awesome...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Helene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
51
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

It's impossible to put into words how wonderful the Beacon house is... you're looking out at the water/rocks/cliffs from a wonderfully appointed condo with all the luxuries you'd need. While it takes a few minutes to get out there, it's worth it without question. Incredibly safe, quite and a wonderful breakfast/lunch restaurant steps away from your door. We stayed for 3 nights and would have stayed longer had we understood how beautiful the condo was and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dubaim0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We wanted our own little spot, not to be confined to a guest house / hotel room, Beacon House offers your own apartment,
your own little home away from home, very up market with well selected decor and finishes, very well kept in and out
with breathtaking views. No food is served on the premises as it is a apartment and not a hotel although with the facilities
that are available you will be able to prepare most anything and want for very little, but there are plenty restaurants to choose
from with the same convenience that you will be use to as the likes of St Elmos delivering to your door step.
There is also a restaurant open at night and a coffee shop with great service and food right in front of the apartment

Room Tip: Book early avoid dissapointment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Charl031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for one night during our one year anniversary roadtrip and we really loved it.

The apartments are spacious and are luxuriously styled and furnished with all possible amenities. The location is perfect, situated very close to the sea and restaurants.

We did not leave the apartment for the entire day and only lounged in front of the fireplace, watching tv and looking out over the ocean. If the rest of our trip was not pre-booked I would have stayed here the entire time!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LouisViljoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

There is no better location or view in Knysna and therefore almost no need to leave the apartment! It certainly catered for more than our needs at the time. If there was something that we needed clarification around there was always assistance and guidance. Sleep with the curtains open and wake up to a spectacular view!

Room Tip: Choose the front bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeanlesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Finding ourselves in Knysna without a place to stay, we happened upon Beacon House, located right on the East Head, with magnificent views. We contacted Mike Elliot, who did everything possible to accomodate us and make us comfortable. We enjoyed it so much, we decided to stay an extra night! Very clean, very comfortable, with every convenience you will ever need. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DaveB2271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

This place is beautiful. Perfectly situated with enviable views. Service was great and we wanted for nothing. The place is fully kitted out with everything you could need and everything is extremely comfortable. (Better!) Home away from home.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BridgetBooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.7 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
812 reviews
2.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
3.4 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Mount Knysna
The Mount Knysna
#15 of 30 in Knysna
36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hope Villa Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Amanzi Island Lodge
Amanzi Island Lodge
#9 of 127 in Knysna
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon House

Property: Beacon House
Address: 36 George Rex Drive | The Heads, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beacon House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is against the Eastern head at the mouth to the Indian Ocean, that Beacon House has been created, featuring 4 ultra spacious and luxurious apartments. Beacon House is the ideal base from which to explore the wonders that characterise this spectacular Garden Route town. Each of the serviced apartments provides guests with the flexibility of a self catering environment allowing optimal freedom to design your own itinerary. The design reflects an easy living holiday atmosphere, whilst incorporating sleek modern finishes. A walkway within the development provides residents with access to the various stunning view points at the Heads. Beacon House is situated in close proximity to Fountain Point, a white beacon used as a guiding point for sailors attempting to negotiate the passage through the Heads. Built into the side of a steep slope, Beacon House boasts views both across the lagoon and out to sea. Beacon House is situated within walking distance of the lagoon, a restaurant and a coffee shop and offers ample parking for visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Beacon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing