We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class hospitality,excellent breakfast and marvellous host.”
Review of The Knysna Belle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Knysna Belle
Ranked #35 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First class hospitality,excellent breakfast and marvellous host.”
Reviewed March 7, 2011

When my wife and I arrived at Kynsa Belle we were met by Gillian, a very personable and helpful lady, where nothing was too much trouble.She showed us around a very pretty, well maintained property.Our spacious room overlooked the front garden and lagoon.The lounge was extremely invitingand the gardens with swimming pool really well presented.
Breakfast was fantastic,wide choice, well cooked and extremely tasty. A great way to start the day.In fact it was so filling that we did not need to eat again until our evening meal.
Gillian was always happy to offer advice on places to eat or visit. She maintained a system whereby guests gave theirown opinions on local restaurants, whether good or bad. Very informative.If we wished to book anything Gillian was always there to make the arrangements.
We would happily stay at Kynsna Belle again and would highly recommend it.Gillian and the rest of the staff were very professional and anyone stopping ther would not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    15
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
82
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2011

We have stayed there twice before and both times were great! We have stayed in two different rooms and they were equally comfortable, clean, inviting and beautiful. We will definitely visit the Knysna Belle again and it is the only Accommodation we would suggest to friends.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robertogas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Having spent a wonderful 10 days first at Tranquility GH in Fish Hoek then at Gondwana Game Reserve nr Mossel Bay we were expecting our luck to run out - how wrong we were! Knysna Belle was simply delightful.

Knysna Belle is perfectly positioned on the beautiful Leisure Island with amazing views of the lagoon including Knysna Heads it was truly a haven where you could relax and regenerate.
From the moment we arrived we were greated warmly by the lovely Gillian she showed us around and we were delighted with the whole ambience of the place. There is a lovely large comfortable lounge with a huge terrace and wicker chairs for all guests to use.
Breakfast are taken on the terrace viewing the swimming pool and beautifully kept rear garden. Breakfasts were wonderful lots of choice and plenty of it all cooked to order - we certainly needed a walk or bike ride afterwards!
There is an honesty bar and also a 'where we ate last night' file which we found very useful. There are 2 restaurants on the island but only one opens at night however both are very good and there are plenty of other restaurants within a 10 minute drive.
Gillian and Bianca are lovely, very helpful and will advise and arrange anything for you
thank you both the other staff are helpful quiet and unassuming.
We had booked Emu a lagoon facing suite which was excellant large airy with a big ensuite and huge sun terrace of our own overlooking the pretty front garden and the lagoon-simply wonderful.
Our stay was for 7 nights and it was a treat to have found a place where we were able to kick back and relax. They supply bicycles,canoes,beach chairs,picnics and numerous other things to help you make the most of your time.

Leisure Island is safe meaning you can walk and cycle without a worry. The island is largely a nature reserve (mainly birds and the endagered Knysna seahorse) with safe beaches, wonderful walks and real peace. The walk around the island is a level 4k. with views of the lagoon and surrounding areas.There are lovely gardens and trees we even spotted an eagle owl roosting!
The homes on Leisure Island are mainly low rise and although there are obvious signs of developement so far it seems to be in keeping with Leisure Island style ie relaxed there are lovely cottages, 'Cape Cod' type homes and the occasional new stylish home.It is a place where time stands still and hopefully will remain a treasure for years to come.
There is a wonderful antique gift shop, a tennis/bowls club and yacht club There are plenty of places to visit locally so there is no chance of being bored and Knysna Waterfont is great if you want a bit of retail therepy and a livelier setting for dinner.

We found the Knysna Belle the perfect place to end our holiday there are so many little touches that make it special (like having our car cleaned without asking or charge!) we noticed several returning visitors and hopefully we will join them-we cant wait to return-it truly is a very special place one to be treasured a simply delightful hidden gem we have never felt so relaxed!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Beatiful and very well run B&B only a few steps from the Lagoon.

Gillianne, the Managers, is a very pleasant and helpful lady who makes a wonderful breakfast and can give a lot of good advices about Kynsna and its community.

The owner offered us a nice boat ride and there are also bikes and canoe to use for no charge.

The price/ quality ratio is very good and we hope to have the chance to go back there soon again.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pitbuehler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenchley, Kent
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2010

From our greeting on arrival to our departure our short stay was memorable. The light and airy room was spotless, beautifully appointed and had all the luxuries you expect in a top hotel. The outlook from our private patio over the garden to the Knysna Lagoon set the scene.
The friendly staff made sure we had everything we needed, gave us advice on the area and even booked a fantastic restaurant within walking distance.
Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden was a delight and there was even a fresh flower on our napkin. The fresh fruit was artistically placed on our plates and the cooked breakfast excellent.
We will return next year for a longer stay!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManofKent_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

We have just returned from another wonderful trip to Southern Africa and once again stayed at the legendary Knysna Belle. Last year we only managed a 'taster' at this lovely guest house but last week spent five glorious nights - call us greedy but we could have stayed even longer!

The position of the Belle means that one enjoys sunshine, fresh breezes and spectacular views from every aspect. The bedrooms are stylish, individual and super clean. Ample wardrobe space, crisp linen and high quality matresses and pillows. All with either full bathroom or showers en-suite. The hottest water and white fluffy towels. Welcome trays with tea, coffee and biscuits are appreciated too.

Breakfast to suit every possible taste and appetite served with attention to detail down to the tiniest flower displays on each plate. The fruit salad was my personal favourite but my husband loved a full 'English', followed by cheeses!

After such a feast one could borrow a bicycle and cycle the island (approx 2 miles) round trip, or, use one of the canoes and enjoy the lagoon just a few paces from the Belle's lawn. Fishing could be another pursuit to add to swimming and walking. Of course you could choose just to laze by the blue pool, reading and sun bathing on the ultra luxurious steamer beds. The bird life is fascinating too and it was great fun watching a particular pair irrigate the lawn oblivious to our being only feet away.

There is an abundance of good restaurants within a few minutes of the Knysna Belle so going hungry need not be an option once breakfast has been digested. After an evening meal out, on returning to the house, enjoy a last drink before bed either on the terrace or in the sitting room where there are a wonderful mix of books and magazines to enjoy.

If I had to say what was best about our recent visit to the Knysna Belle, I would say arriving. The least would be leaving. Thank you to all the happy and helpful staff who make this the most special of places.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SurreyMinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asserbo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2010

If you intend to visit South Africa we can highly recommend you to visit the town Knysna - big enough to be intertained, small enough to feel at home. Knysna is situated on the coast of the Indian Ocean on the Garden Route. Just outside the town you have Leisure Isle. There we stayed at the most wonderful, charming and peaceful guesthouse THE KNYSNA BELLE. Overlooking the lagoon, where you can also swim. The top floor - Captain´s Quarters - is a luxury and spacious suite with a fantastic view from terraces on the four sides. The interior decoration is the most personal and light we ever have experienced. Breakfast second to none.
We intended to stay 2 nights but ended up with 6 nights !!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mollersoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.1 mi away
Leisure Isle Lodge
Leisure Isle Lodge
#20 of 126 in Knysna
241 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hope Villa Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Bollard Bay House
Bollard Bay House
#47 of 126 in Knysna
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Augusta Bay
Augusta Bay
#24 of 126 in Knysna
205 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amanzi Island Lodge
Amanzi Island Lodge
#9 of 126 in Knysna
527 reviews
0.6 mi away
TwoAngels Guest House
TwoAngels Guest House
#6 of 104 in Knysna
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Knysna Belle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Knysna Belle

Property: The Knysna Belle
Address: 75 Bayswater Drive | Leisure Isle, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Knysna Belle 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Knysna Belle Guest House offers a relaxing atmosphere with Bollard beach just a few paces from our front door where guests can relax and enjoy the tranquility of island life ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Knysna Belle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing