We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most relaxing getaway trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lavender Hill Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lavender Hill Guest House
Ranked #45 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most relaxing getaway trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

Cecil and Edith are the most wonderful hosts my friends and I have ever come across. At Lavender Hill Guest House, you will not only enjoy the fabulous and comfortable place but the food is just delicious! The place is very accessible and there are many activities that can be done in the surrounding. I personally believe that Lavender Hill Guest House is the place to be!

Room Tip: Room facing the best panoramic view and the sunrise/sunset. Spacious and comfortable room with ensui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    20
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
30
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

The place was great and the people was very welcoming. I will advise for those looking for a relaxing family house and wish to get a place to stay at affordable price to go at the Guest House.

Room Tip: One of the best place to stay at a convenient price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesse H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

Loved the guest house. very peaceful and quite. Two awesome people Cecil and Edith. The guest house is a little home away from home with home made breakfast (very yummi :-) ) if you are looking for an unforgettable stay in Knysna, Lavender Hill is the place to be, close to all facilities.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have a beautiful view in the morning :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

I have stayed at the Lavender Hill Guest house in Knysna for 8 nights!
A lovely venue, very clean, very neat and very tasteful! Had a room with a view over Knysna lagune and Knysna golf course.
Owners, Cecil and Edith, two lovely and friendly people, are excellent managers and creates a very homely feeling; and serves a very good breakfast.....
Venue close to all the top golf courses in Knysna, as well as all of the tourist amenities Knysna has to offer!
When I go to Knysna in future, I will most definately stay there again!
Highly recommended!!
Reinhardt

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReinhardtCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

I just wanted to share with everybody the fantastic, lovely, spacious, clean, neat and tidy stay we had recently at Lavender Hill Bed & Breakfast Guest House in Knysna. Our hosts Edith and Cecil were both very welcoming and friendly and our stay at their Guest House was nothing but truly wonderful. I highly recommend this Guest House to anybody passing through Knysna, your stay is not complete without an overnight stop at Lavender Hill Guest house!
With best wishes,
Janelle Cotterrell

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

Edith and Cecil, thank you for a wonderful stay in your lovely establishment. We really felt at home, we loved the view from our room, the great breakfasts and the knowledge of the area! Thank you for a wonderful stay, we will certainly be back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

I stayed over the weekend at Lavenher Hill last month. The owners are very friendly and very helpful. We stayed in one of the apartment. The room living room is spacious (very big) so it's a good bargain for the price we paid. Breakfast is lovely and the view around the B&B is very nice too... not too far from the sightseeing places. I would recommend this place to anyone. Would be nice to stay two nights rather than one night.

Only two down-size are that there is no internet connection in our room (but you can use it in the main house and the breakfast area) and the blanket smell a bit funny (but I think it could be that the room I was staying probably had no one stay for sometimes)

Overall, I enjoyed the stay very much.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Piggy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.8 mi away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#14 of 129 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pumula Lodge
Pumula Lodge
#19 of 129 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hope Villa Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Badger's Lodge
Badger's Lodge
#32 of 129 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
2.6 mi away
AestAs Bed & Breakfast
AestAs Bed & Breakfast
#52 of 129 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
1.4 mi away
Knysna Herons Guest House
Knysna Herons Guest House
#41 of 129 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Hill Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Hill Guest House

Property: Lavender Hill Guest House
Address: 22 Wilson Street | Hunters Home, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lavender Hill Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying an excellent location in Knysna, close to the Knysna Heads & Leisure Isle for safe swimming and lovely walks , our 3 star guest house provides a wonderful destination guaranteed to deliver a memorable stay at competitive prices, and not forgetting 2 golf courses. Lavender Hill offers 2 Double rooms and 1 twin room upstairs each with a private balcony plus 1 Double room & 1 Twin room downstairs which lead onto a large deck overlooking our garden, abounding with a myriad of bird life for our guests to enjoy. All our rooms are equipped with tea/coffee making facilities, a bar fridge, heaters and fans. All rooms have flat screen tv's with dstv. A full English breakfast is served in our dining room or on the deck weather permitting. A two bedroom self catering apartment is available for a family of four or 2 couples travelling together. This large unit has a fully equipped kitchen with open plan lounge, with tv + dstv. In the comfort of Lavender Hill you are assured of warm personal service where you can enjoy your stay in our beautiful town.Braai's (barbeques) offered to guests staying longer than 2 days, please give tell us 24 hours in advance. Price on application.The property has secure off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lavender Hill Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing