We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best b&b in knysna, southafrica”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
9 on Heron Knysna Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #69 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 21, 2013

thanks for all an margo and agnieszka. it was a great pleasure for us to meet them. we enjoyed the laughter and conservation we shared with them. They always have a good and excellent idea for an nice day trip.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helmut S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
There are newer reviews for 9 on Heron Knysna Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 150 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at 9 on Heron in Knysna and it was the best place during our entire trip from Jo'burg to Cape Town.

The owners Agnieszka and Margo are truely going the extra mile to keep their guests happy. When you stay here it's like having your personal travel agent with you. They try and find out what you like to give you recommendations and advice on what to do, where to dine etc. In the morning they make you an excellent breakfast trying to make it a bit different every day. I even got veggie options on request.

Our room was absolutely pristine in terms of cleaniness. The bathroom is small but it really looks brandnew and the shower is very good. We very much liked the way how they had furnished and decorated the entire place. It was modern and simple with a touch of pop art here and there, but was still cozy and comfortable.

9 on Heron deserves a much higher ranking than it currently has on Google and Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank planetbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We recently had 2 very enjoyable nights at this B&B and found the 2 ladies very charming, humourrous and extremely knowledgeable - not only about the immediate location, but also the surrounding area. Whilst we were there one of us had a birthday: that morning there were roses at the breakfast table and 'happy birthday' bunting. Note the breakfast cooked choice varies so you are not locked into repeat fayre. Both ladies appeared to enjoy having guests and were enthusiastic. We have happy memories...thank you.

Room Tip: We had the Jacaranda room...delightful with a garden balcony.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John N Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treeCX, Owner at 9 on Heron Knysna Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Hi Johnanita, Thank you so much for your kind words and complimenting us on our B and B. We really enjoyed meeting you guys and certainly hope to host you again on your next trip to South Africa. In the meantime...spread the good word for the Garden Route! Regards from Sunny Knysna, Margo and Agnieszka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had a lovely stay at 9 on Heron. Agnieszka and Margo are warm, funny and friendly. They offered tons of great locals-only advice, and supplied us with shopping tips and recommendations for everything from restaurants to sunsets, as well as enough brochures and maps that we shouldn't have got lost on our hike. (We did anyway, but it's our speciality.) Breakfasts were not just scrumptious, and different every day, and served with a smile, but Agnieszka actively threw in extra ingredients to make sure I was getting my proteins! We were very kindly supplied with addresses for lunch, but there was no need, since we (figuratively speaking) licked our breakfast plates clean. The breakfast room and the bedroom were both beautifully arranged, and clean, and homely, and the house is surrounded by, to my mind, a not excessive amount of foliage.

All in all, the experience feels so personalised that it comes a shock to read the other reviews on here and realise that hundreds of other guests have had the same.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fl0Gra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

When we first arrived at 9 on Heron, we were greeted with a big smile. The stay there was fantastic. It's central and very close to everything and we had the time of our lives. The breakfast was great and we really got value and quality for our money. We stayed for 5 nights and we would recommend it to any one. The ladies there helped us to plan trips and showed us where all the good places are to go to.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dwhenning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Conveniently located, safe, incredibly comfortable and welcoming B & B. The breakfasts were delicious and tailor made for your dietary and personal taste preferences. I enjoyed my conversations with Aginieszka and Margo and the way they make an effort to personally connect with their guests. In addition to helping us with planning our activities while we were there we had a couple of travel problems, including my son's lost backpack at the car rental office in Cape Town. It was hand delivered to us 2 days later which never would have happened if our hosts hadn't persisted in following through for us. In addition I needed some info from my credit card company which took 11/2 hours by phone and computer. Again they both went out of their way, over and beyond anything I could have imagined to help us out. I recommend 9 on Heron without hesitation

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ilene13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at 9 on Heron for 3 nights. The facility is secure and parking is available on site. The room was clean and bathroom modern and fresh. It is a 5 minute drive to town. It has everything you could expect a good B&B to have.

I most looked forward to walking upstairs of a morning to enjoy the delicious breakfast whilst discussing the upcoming day with the lovely hosts Agnieszka and Margo. They were so welcoming and very informative. Saying good bye to them was like saying good bye to old friends.

I'd definitely recommend 9 on Heron and would stay there again if I ever make it back to beautiful Knysna.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treeCX, Owner at 9 on Heron Knysna Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Thanks so much for your rating, we really appreciate you taking the time to contribute to our valuable reviews. We also enjoyed meeting you and found your 'sense of adventure' most inspiring! We wish you many happy moments over this festive season and enjoy the rest of your travels. All the best from Knysna, Margo, Agnieszka and Tao

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.0 mi away
Knysna Herons Guest House
Knysna Herons Guest House
#34 of 127 in Knysna
148 reviews
19.1 mi away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#4 of 12 in Sedgefield
159 reviews
3.5 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
822 reviews
7.1 mi away
Woodlands Self Catering Accommodation
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 9 on Heron Knysna Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9 on Heron Knysna Bed & Breakfast

Address: 9 Herons Way, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: $45 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 9 on Heron Knysna Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
9 on Heron has become a popular choice with budget-conscious travelers. This cozy bed and breakfast is set in a quiet and secure area, surrounded by a lovely garden. The guest house is located 10 minutes drive from the centre of Knysna town and close to many restaurants and natural scenery. The positioning is good if you prefer a peaceful time, but like to be close to local attractions. The closest neighborhood restaurant is within 5 minutes walking distance. Parking is free of charge and located near the rooms. The property has a security gate and owners live on-site. The rooms are comfortably furnished, offering a en-suite private bathroom, outdoor patio, free wi-fi, local TV and a tea tray. Fridge facilities are available. A delicious full breakfast is served in the upstairs dining area and the friendly hosts will gladly offer their help with booking a restaurant etc. Guests are made to feel at home and supplied with a variety of updated local information to help them enjoy their stay Knysna. Nearest Airports: Cape Town - 6 Hrs drive. George - 60 min drive. Port Elizabeth - 3 Hrs drive ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your 9 on Heron Knysna Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing