We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B &B with the most helpful owners”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knysna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
9 on Heron Knysna Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #70 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Conveniently located, safe, incredibly comfortable and welcoming B & B. The breakfasts were delicious and tailor made for your dietary and personal taste preferences. I enjoyed my conversations with Aginieszka and Margo and the way they make an effort to personally connect with their guests. In addition to helping us with planning our activities while we were there we had a couple of travel problems, including my son's lost backpack at the car rental office in Cape Town. It was hand delivered to us 2 days later which never would have happened if our hosts hadn't persisted in following through for us. In addition I needed some info from my credit card company which took 11/2 hours by phone and computer. Again they both went out of their way, over and beyond anything I could have imagined to help us out. I recommend 9 on Heron without hesitation

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ilene13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 150 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at 9 on Heron for 3 nights. The facility is secure and parking is available on site. The room was clean and bathroom modern and fresh. It is a 5 minute drive to town. It has everything you could expect a good B&B to have.

I most looked forward to walking upstairs of a morning to enjoy the delicious breakfast whilst discussing the upcoming day with the lovely hosts Agnieszka and Margo. They were so welcoming and very informative. Saying good bye to them was like saying good bye to old friends.

I'd definitely recommend 9 on Heron and would stay there again if I ever make it back to beautiful Knysna.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treeCX, Owner at 9 on Heron Knysna Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Thanks so much for your rating, we really appreciate you taking the time to contribute to our valuable reviews. We also enjoyed meeting you and found your 'sense of adventure' most inspiring! We wish you many happy moments over this festive season and enjoy the rest of your travels. All the best from Knysna, Margo, Agnieszka and Tao

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

From the moment we arrived, in the rain, out came the umbrella. The attention to detail continued during our 3 night stay. M & A were great hostesses, who were passionate about their country and the local area. Their advice on places to see and places to eat out was spot on. The room and the breakfasts were very good and the location was ideally placed. You could walk just down the road for a pint and a wholesome meal at the Bosun's. No hesitation in recommending 9 on Heron. Thanks.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lionel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had a really nice stay and some interesting conversations with Aginieszka and Margo. The breakfast was fantastic! It was one of the best guest houses on our long journey. We would like to come again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julian1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

lovely rooms, which felt immediately like home straight from the off - not massive, but big enough to be comfortable and they are decorated really pleasantly. The surroundings are nice too.

the owners are lovely, plus they do a great breakfast too :)

Room Tip: They are all similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssentialFeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We spent three nights at 9 on Heron in November 2012. Aginieszka and Margo heartily welcomed us. They gave us a lot of helpful information and support. We enjoyed very much the nice house and the spacious and cleen room. The breakfast was lovely prepared and tasted dliciously. Our host were very friendly, helpful, charming, humorous and warm-hearted. We had a lot of fun together especially with Tao, their little dog.
The value for money is excellent. We definitely recomment this beautiful place and the perfect hosts.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manfred2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We (a group of 6 friends) spent a night at 9 on Heron in November, on our way to walking the Otter Trail. Despite the brief stay-over our hosts Agnieszka and Margo treated us with the warmth and kindness one would normally associate with long-lost friends: they even made a few phone calls helping out with our Otter logistics, gave us tons of advice on what to do and where to eat in Knysna, let us store trail food in their fridge and just generally made us feel completely welcome and at home.
The rooms are very tastefully decorated and were super-quiet - all the greenery in the garden made the whole experience feel like a bit of a tropical retreat. As for the room costs: in my extensive travels in SA, this was the best value-for-money B&B by a mile. Can't recommend 9 on Heron highly enough.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelyarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.5 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
277 reviews
19.1 mi away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#4 of 12 in Sedgefield
160 reviews
2.2 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Woodlands Self Catering Accommodation
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
6.4 mi away
Cliffhanger Cottages
Cliffhanger Cottages
#1 of 6 in Rheenendal
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 9 on Heron Knysna Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9 on Heron Knysna Bed & Breakfast

Address: 9 Herons Way, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: $45 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 9 on Heron Knysna Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
9 on Heron has become a popular choice with budget-conscious travelers. This cozy bed and breakfast is set in a quiet and secure area, surrounded by a lovely garden. The guest house is located 10 minutes drive from the centre of Knysna town and close to many restaurants and natural scenery. The positioning is good if you prefer a peaceful time, but like to be close to local attractions. The closest neighborhood restaurant is within 5 minutes walking distance. Parking is free of charge and located near the rooms. The property has a security gate and owners live on-site. The rooms are comfortably furnished, offering a en-suite private bathroom, outdoor patio, free wi-fi, local TV and a tea tray. Fridge facilities are available. A delicious full breakfast is served in the upstairs dining area and the friendly hosts will gladly offer their help with booking a restaurant etc. Guests are made to feel at home and supplied with a variety of updated local information to help them enjoy their stay Knysna. Nearest Airports: Cape Town - 6 Hrs drive. George - 60 min drive. Port Elizabeth - 3 Hrs drive ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing