We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A massive improvement on our previous visit”
Review of Cruise Cafe

Cruise Cafe
Ranked #28 of 163 Restaurants in Knysna
Price range: $7 - $21
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Cruise Cafe is known for its fresh seafood and modern styled cuisine, a relaxed atmosphere with exceptional views of the Knysna Lagoon. Cruise Cafe presents diners with a soothing yet sophisticated ambiance, graced by lots of blond wood, sepia coloured alcoves and enlarged nautical photographs. Enjoy specialty coffees and classy cocktails on the lagoon deck with superb views, or sample the delightful breakfasts, healthy lunches and mouth-watering dinners from our fine selection of menu items.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A massive improvement on our previous visit”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had 2 meals at the cruise cafe during our stay in Knysna; a lunch and an evening meal. The calamari starter my wife had in the evening was outstanding. The quality of service was excellent even with a packed restaurant and the value for money would be hard to beat. A well deserved 5* from me and other restaurants will lose custom if our experiences were typical.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BigPeteW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    142
    33
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Good food at reasonable prices. Could be a bit more variety. Lovely setting. Must be really nice when it is not freezing outside with the wind blowing a gale!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linmic16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna
Level Contributor
153 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

We had a lovely lunch at Cruise Cafe.The setting is excellent with a nice veiw over the Knysna Lagoon.We had the Prawn Tempura and it was the best we had for a long time,the prawns was firm and the presentation was good.The service was good.It was good value for money

Helpful?
Thank Janfourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Glorious view!”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

It was empty except for me and the person i was meeting. Food was tasty but expensive for the portion. Waiter was okay but marketing manager in the wrong job. The setting, however, is stunning! Right along the estuary with ferry boast docked on the pier. Fab deck, probably the best in Knysna. It has potential that begs to be fulfilled.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank wickedmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Set on the Lagoon this restaurant was very good. We had sinple steaks which were well prepared and although not fast the service was very good. An enojyable outing.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank marwim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cruise Cafe also viewed

 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Cruise Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing