We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best thing we did in SA!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emzini Township Tour

Emzini Township Tour
Ranked #2 of 47 Tours in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best thing we did in SA!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We went on the township tour with Ella and Penny during our stay in SA, and it was easily the best thing we did on our travels. Ella is a great great tour guide, and has a very positive outlook. We were able to ask her any questions we wanted, and she showed us many aspects of township life. It was really good to see the projects going on in the community. I don't think it would be right to go to SA without visiting a township, and this tour is a great way to see what township life is like, and how people are overcoming adversity. We would highly recommend this tour to anyone passing through Knysna.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    17
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great and lovely Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Just do it and have a look at the ones that are not born on the lucky side of life.
The tour is the best way to see the real life in the township of Knysna but also to have a lot of fun with children, the sucess of education and the work of motivated people.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Compassion, determination, patience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

What we have seen on our tour through the Township of Knysna has had a great impact. Don't just think about doing something for the ones that are not born on the lucky side of life, do it, and do it now!
The work you Ella and Penny are doing is simply amazing. It starts with little things such as giving dogs water or just talk with the kids. What you guys at Emzini Tours are doing is more than charity. You give the kids perspectives to break out of a vicious circle, that locks the kids up in the Townships in ZA. You show them, that there is will, that there is a possibility, that there is a life outside - simply by being with them, talking, playing with them and giving them a decent education (not in maths or geography but in behavior, values, etc). You do great work. Thank you very much!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dagiundtobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely motivated people willing to open their lovely home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed the tour that Ella and Penny gave our family and friends this week. The visit to the preschool, deep understandings and descriptions of the township and it's peoples, the drum lessons and the quick introduction to 'clicking' was a very memorable time. Very hospitable motivated people with a great business that generates returns for themselves and the communities that they live in. Well worth it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great tour run by truly lovely and inspirational people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We wanted to do this tour to ensure that we saw another side to South Africa beyond the obvious tourist attractions and we weren't disappointed. Ella and Lynne not only gave us a fun and insightful tour, they also obviously truly care about their community and making the townships a better place for children through providing a safe home, meals, education and love...activity that is only possible through the revenue and donations driven by these tours...great experience

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JonPaulSolomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emzini Township Tour also viewed

 

Been to Emzini Township Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing