We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the highlights of South Africa”

Emzini Township Tour
Ranked #2 of 48 Tours in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of the highlights of South Africa”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

What an interesting tour of the inner workings of a township community. You couldn't ask for a more authentic presentation by Ella and Penny about the people, the homes, the issues, the struggles, the milestones and the positive little steps forward that are being made. We were honoured to be invited into Ella's home to meet her extended family of children who she has gone beyond to help. Penny's work with the animals in the community didn't go unnoticed when she stopped the van to make sure that a dog about to give birth was comfortable and safe. Nothing is put on. One thing we would highly recommend is to have lunch at Wandu@Ekasi Restaurant and spend a bit of time speaking with Mawande a self made symbol of hope for the people of the township. You will love the delicious comfort food, the decor, the music and the spectacular view. Well worth the extra expense. Have fun.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank norbilona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    17
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well worth it”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I really enjoyed goint on the Emzini Township Tour where I was able to learn about the township. I really was able to get a good idea of life as a black person as well as it being entertaining. Thank you so much for the great time.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deaftraver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Township life explained by a resident - educational”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Ella Mahlulo lives in a Knysna township with her own children and numerous foster children who she keeps taking on due to her enormous heart. The proceeds from the tours are pumped back into the community to run numerous projects related to housing, education, health etc. That alone is a great reason to do this tour. But we went because we wanted to hear the truth about the townships from someone who lived there.

Ella has dedicated her life to improving the lives of others. She is positive about the future albeit realistic about how long things will take to get everyone up to a reasonable standard of living. She promised us at the start of the tour that "it wont be sad" and it wasn't.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful and subtle eyeopener”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

had our first ever Township tour and luckily for us,picked Emzini ! What a great , organic way to learn about this living , breathing , fully functioning community! And best of all-its full of surprises as You never know what exciting gathering/event you might come across since you take them as you find them!! I got to join the women preparing party dishes and my carrot peeling skills were tested and judged..... seems i passed !! Phew! The tour was pleasant and educational for both adults and teenagers as Ella and Penny are such great guides to have! Thank You and keep up the good work!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pirge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A really great tour!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We visted Knysna in Dec and booked this tour through our Hotel. It was an eye opening experience to see the poverty that exists in many areas of South Africa but it was a pleasure to meet such wonderful people who survive and prosper in such harsh conditions. Ella is a true example of what hard work and self belief can achieve and we really enjoyed our day with her and Penny. They both have such a love and passion for people and animals and are a joy to be around. This tour is a must! and we highly recommend it!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank NHyde73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emzini Township Tour also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
 
 

Been to Emzini Township Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing