We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inspiring and informative”

Emzini Township Tour
Ranked #2 of 48 Tours in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Inspiring and informative”
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

We had passed so many townships on our drive across the cape and wanted to know more about life within these communities.

This tour exceeded every expectation. Penny & Ella showed us and explained about the variety of life and community within the township - good and bad points. We had a chance to meet and talk to many of the community especially the children - wonderful smiles and so many heart melting memories and a real eye opening insight into these roadside townships.

Don't miss this tour - its life changing and a small opportunity to help a little these great grass roots project.

The tours

Helpful?
1 Thank JAMRook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    17
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must do tour in Knysna”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

It is one thing to visit a township and completely different thing to do it with someone that on one hand leave in the place but on the other hand had unique story that lead him to new horizon.
We didn’t look for another commercial tourist tour. The tour that Ella and Penny did was exactly what we looked for. We saw how people really leave and met with them face to face. We witness things first hand.
The end of the tour was a visit to Ella’s house in the township. We met her extended family (including group of local abandon children that Ella and Penny take care of), heard her special private story, hit the dram to accompany the local songs and more. This was unique end to interesting tour.
We all (including our 3 children) enjoyed the tour very much and recommended it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a special afternoon!”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Friends had recommended we take this tour and we are so pleased we did. Penny and Ella are amazing, passionate women who care about their community deeply. We felt we got a real insight into the lives of those in the township. It was a very educational afternoon- as well as lots of fun. The work these two do so tirelessly changes lives! Their love, warmth and kindness is obvious and it was a really special afternoon for our entire family. We definitely recommend this tour.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaH115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldwide
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Authentic, Real, Passionate”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We did not have any expectations; however as soon we met Penny first, we realized that she is not a regular tour guide. Penny introduced us to this tour and she made sure that we see the REAL Township. A bit later we also met Ella and we were part of this FAMILY for more than three hours. We were introduced to the safe house, community center, the library, the small business growing in the Town- ships. The highlight was the invitation to Ella's home, where all kids meet up in the afternoon and get looked after. It was a very touching moment. We felt welcomed in their family, met amazing people who helped out, the kids, Ella's family (including her mom). We actually did want to leave her place. Very inspiring is the fact that the tour is a real community support. Both ladies are passionate about the community and helping others. We stopped on this tour on many occasions and Penny and Ella helped help needed dogs and chatted to kids and parents. It was a real feel and very authentic. The work Penny and Ella are doing is remarkable and they do touch the lives of others. They defiantly touched my heart. I can strongly recommend this tour and will also support their work further.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pierre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A highlight of our South Africa trip”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Earlier this month my wife and I visited Knysna as part of our South African vacation. I found Emzini on Tripadvisor, and we called one morning to see if a tour was available that day. 2 hours later Penny and Ella met us and took the 2 of us one a tour that we'll never forget! Penny lives in Knysna and partners with Ella in running this tour. Ella actually lives in the township. They gave us a great tour, but they're amazing ladies.

Our tour lasted about 3 hours and we came away with a much greater understanding of not only the challenges faced in a typical township, but also the promise of a better future. While there we drove through the township and visited a typical store, library, beauty shop, and handmade clothing store. Ella was also gracious enough to invite us into her home and to meet her family.

This community loves these ladies and they do much to help this township! It's great to see Ella and Penny interact with the children in the township. Penny e-mailed us some great photos from our visit.

South Africa is a beautiful country and the social issued faced in SA are unique. I can't recommend more highly to anyone visiting the country to take a township tour to get a clearer understanding of an important part of what this country has gone through and is still going through. I can't imagine that any township tour in the country is any more fascinating or done with the sensitivity that we experienced with Penny and Ella!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank scmpsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emzini Township Tour also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Emzini Township Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing