We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to eat”

O Pescador Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 160 Restaurants in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $22
Cuisines: Seafood, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: South African Portuguese cuisine. Seafood, chicken and steaks prepared on order. Outside deck seating with beautiful views of the harbour Excellent food and excellent service. Chef is the owner.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended to eat here and were not disappointed. The menu is varied and very good value. Sean, one of the owners, was very helpful in explaining the menu and was a great host. The other staff were very polite and attentive. Our food was very tasty and well presented. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wishyouwerhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    125
    52
    30
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unique”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Spent three weeks in South Africa. Friends had heard of O Pescador and recommended it. From the greeting by the hostess (owner's wife) to the recommendations of the Sommelier the atmosphere was most enjoyable. The server, who was a gem, explained the several types of fish on the menu. We loved a local fish, Kabeljou, that was grilled to perfection. The overall Portuguese influence of the menu and wine list was present. I treated my friends to their first bottle of Vino Verde. After dinner, the owner escorted us out and we had a wonderful conversation.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IRNIEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Be careful what you order”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We went for a meal during our stay in Knysna while we were in S Africa. My husband ordered chicken which arrived already chopped into pieces but about a third of the way through eating his meal he cut into a piece of chicken to find the centre raw. The meal was promptly removed - but no apology. He was given another dish about 10 mins later which was ok but he was obviously wary of eating it. The owner arrived after 15 mins to apologies which I pointed out was too late. To cap it all we had to pay for the raw chicken meal! To be fair my fish was lovely but the raw chicken did cast a negative feeling over the meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LandR86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“True hospitality and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

O'Pescador. What a lovely place. I visited last Tuesday with my boyfriend and we were recieved with so much warmth from start to finish. Our waiter, Welcome (yes that's his name do I need to say more?) is such a lovely chap. He knows his menu and all recommendations was great. Everything on the menu looked so delicious and I got myself a salad for an appetizer. My boyfriend enjoyed the Mozambican beer and we had wine afterwards. Espetada was great. Really hands-on service from waiters and owners alike. Sean, one of the owners, and Lodette visited our table throughout and to me that was quite special having them around and overseeing everything. And friendly! We had such a good time we stayed much longer than we planned. After another bottle of wine and desserts we unwillingly left and comforted ourselves with the thought that we shall be back. Thank you guys for a stunning night. Wish you all the best.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules_Smirf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Lovely setting, lovely atmosphere and ambience. I had the prawn curry which was cooked to perfection. The service was good too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marliese B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Pescador Restaurant also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to O Pescador Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing