We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food but had take away, didn't eat in their dining area”
Review of Royal Siam Thai

Royal Siam Thai
Ranked #39 of 164 Restaurants in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Fabulous food but had take away, didn't eat in their dining area”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I can't comment on the eating in experience because we had ours as take away.

We discovered the Thai Kitchen through the Friday market while visiting relatives, and were instantly hooked. The chilli beef with rice is outstanding! As good as any Thai I've eaten anywhere.

If you like your Thai food spicy, full of flavour and with succulent meat, you have to try The Thai Kitchen. The only reason I dont award the full 5 stars is because I didn't eat in.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laura h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    30
    10
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A magical piece of Thailand in Knysna”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

While on holiday in Thailand I realised just how AUTHENTIC Thai's kitchen is...! We absolutely cannot get enough of the food at Thai Kitchen and recommend to everyone!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank The-Wanderlust-Boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port elizabeth south africa
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“great for a quick meal”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

the restaurant is off the beaten track,not many seats /serves a lot of takeaways in between.run by a thai lady /very quick bringing out the food but one dish at a time.food is good .it is a pitty the waiting staff are not thai.not expensive,take your own wine

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank billy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We chanced upon this place and weren't sure about the quality of the food.

However, our entire group was very satisfied with the dinner. The two ladies who served as (were also the ones cooking) - did a great job. They use authentic Thai spices and ingredients and are worth a visit - if you fancy Thai food.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank PatelThe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Best Thai food outside of Thailand and cheap!!”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

The place was quiet with neat, clean white white table and chairs. The service is no frills, your order is taken, food is served quickly. Excellent Thai menu with most Thai staples. Food is excellently prepared and is the most authentic I have tasted outside of Thailand. The owner my be a bit grumpy but I am not going to this restaurant to chat with the owner, I am going for great food!!The prices are super reasonable and I was very happy with the value for money. No liquor licence so bring your own!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iloveshoesalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Siam Thai also viewed

 
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Royal Siam Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing