We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for a quick meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Siam Thai

Royal Siam Thai
Ranked #37 of 159 Restaurants in Knysna
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
port elizabeth south africa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“great for a quick meal”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

the restaurant is off the beaten track,not many seats /serves a lot of takeaways in between.run by a thai lady /very quick bringing out the food but one dish at a time.food is good .it is a pitty the waiting staff are not thai.not expensive,take your own wine

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank billy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    30
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We chanced upon this place and weren't sure about the quality of the food.

However, our entire group was very satisfied with the dinner. The two ladies who served as (were also the ones cooking) - did a great job. They use authentic Thai spices and ingredients and are worth a visit - if you fancy Thai food.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank PatelThe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
167 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Best Thai food outside of Thailand and cheap!!”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

The place was quiet with neat, clean white white table and chairs. The service is no frills, your order is taken, food is served quickly. Excellent Thai menu with most Thai staples. Food is excellently prepared and is the most authentic I have tasted outside of Thailand. The owner my be a bit grumpy but I am not going to this restaurant to chat with the owner, I am going for great food!!The prices are super reasonable and I was very happy with the value for money. No liquor licence so bring your own!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iloveshoesalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Food good but owner always looks miserable”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I have had eaten Thai kitchen food several times and it is really good but the onwer always looks soooo miserable!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Neon charm”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

The owner and chef is not very friendly towards the customer but her food is very tasty - just was very disappointed after ordering and then still was number 21 an hour later - would not have been so bad if a little apology or free drink would have been offered ?!

Helpful?
1 Thank angie044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Siam Thai also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Royal Siam Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing