We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Knysna Stays

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Knysna Stays
Ranked #13 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in the "Low-Budget" Room which was very spacious and had all amenities you could ask for!
VERY friendly staff and a very helpful owner giving you useful tips what to do. Highly recommend to stay there for having a nice time in beautiful Kysna!

Thank you Lloyd!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whatabarbarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
Thank you for writing this fantastic reveiw. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future. From Lloyd & all the Knysna Stays team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    32
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
50
202
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We are on our third visit and always truly enjoy our time at Knysna Stays . This is by far one of the best B&Bs ever. Excellent value for money, great rooms and lovely breakfasts with food and service. The owners Lloyd and Trish are very welcoming hosts friendly , helpful and very knowledgable , Rose the manager is a gem and all the other staff are great as well.
You will not be disappointed staying at Knysna Stays.

Room Tip: The owner Lloyd is a mine of information on the local area and will give you useful tips whilst you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veemartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights in the Wilderness Suite. The room was very nice, clean, modern and spacious with a good sized bathroom. There was a fridge tucked away in a hallway for use by the guests which was handy. Rose (the manager) and all the other staff were lovely and very polite. Lloyd the owner is very friendly and was there every morning to check his guests were happy and to offer information and ideas to his guests to help them enjoy their stay and get the most out of Knysna. If you play golf, Lloyd will be happy to arrange this for you and at good prices too. My partner played a round at Simola with Lloyd and Lloyd arranged a round at Pezula as part of a 4 ball for him.

Good value and we would happily stay there again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank karenchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Hi Karen & Karl,
Thank you so much for your lovely reveiw.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Knysna Stays Guest House and had such a wonderful time here in Knysna and that you were able to enjoy so many of the special experiences this area has to offer including extreme sports , bunji jumping , shark diving , Big Cat walks and the amazing beach and forest walks and not forgetting the excellent championship golf courses here in Knysna.
Thanks again for staying at Knysna Stays it was wonderfful to meet you both.
Warm regards from sunny Knysna , Lloyd , Trish , Rose and all the team at Knysna Stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We were originally booked in for only two nights but enjoyed our stay so much we were lucky enough to be able to stay in our excellent room for a third night. Our room had a large balcony with good views over the lagoon. It was absolutely immaculate and very comfortable. Lloyd was a superb host and nothing was too much trouble for him and his team. The breakfast was also excellent and enjoyed around the pool. Highly recommend this guest house and will be staying there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Wilderness suite which enjoyed great views and had a large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Ian & Jo,
Thank you for taking the time to write this superb reveiw. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Knysna Stays Guest House and hopefully we will see you both again soon, if you are able stay a bit longer we will have time to play that game of golf Ian.
Kind Regards, Lloyd , Trish , Rose & all the team at Knysna Stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Stay here! You won't be disappointed. Rose and the staff are superb and I echo the comments made by Angela G.....Lloyd goes out of his way to make you feel at home and he gives very useful tips regarding your stay in the Knysna area.

Room Tip: We were in the Sedgefield Room which had a balcony with a nice view out over the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Anne & Richard,
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. This has cheered us all up having just received a poor review from a guest who did not understand our efforts to try and do the upmost for them and who criticsed us for a situation which was completely beyond our control.
We are so pleased you both enjoyed your stay with us and thank you so much for writing this wonderful reveiw which has made the whole team smile again and it has boosted our confidence knowing you had a wonderful stay.
We hope to see you both again.
Warm regards from sunny Knysna , Lloyd , Trish , Rose and all the team at Knysna Stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlskrona, Sweden
Level Contributor
275 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed in a big apartment with a bedroom, living room, big kitchen and an even bigger bathroom. Unfortunately, we had a view over only the parking lot. I think it's nicer if you get a room upstairs because then you will probably be able to see the lagoon. The place was a bit further from town than we thought. The area felt safe and guarded.

We had a car and it took about 5-7 min to drive down to Knysna Quays or Thesen Island. It's a bit far to walk. It was a bit difficult to drive out from the hotel on to the road since the driveway is very steep. The restaurants in town were quite busy so make a reservation is you have a special place you want to go. We loved Ile de pain and Sirocco.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arwems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this reveiw of your stay. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our great Knysna weather especially as it is so wet and cold at the moment in Europe.
Warm Regards from Sunny Knysna ,
Lloyd , Trish , Rose and all the team at Knysna Stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2014

what a perfect place in Knysna!!!! We will come back that`s for sure.
Very nice Room with Balcony and View over the Lagoon. Great big Bathroom. Lloyd was there every Morning to take care of his guests and gave helpful Tips to make the Stay perfect. Restaurant Reservation, Golf Arrangements,...
And a nice Bottle of Wine as a Farewell Present ;-)))

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Hi Angela,
Wow what a lovely review. We were so glad you both stayed here at Knysna Stays and especially as you are such keen golfers and we were able to offer you great special rates for golf at Simola and Pezula which we know you really enjoyed. Thank you for the fun and laughter you brought to our guest house. All the staff are missing you both and we look forward to seeing you back at Knysna Stays soon.
Kind Regards,
Lloyd , Trish , Rose and all the staff at Knysna Stays Guest House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
7.6 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
2.4 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
3.6 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
2.1 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 127 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Stays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Stays

Property: Knysna Stays
Address: 25 Old Toll Road | Upper Old Place, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Knysna Stays 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna Stays has been newly built and furbished to create the perfect place to stay whilst you explore Knysna and it's beautiful surroundings. If you are looking for a holiday destination that provides endless opportunity for the whole family this is the destination to travel to. Knysna Stays can offer you stylish accommodation with excellent facilities, but can also ensure the right direction to suit your preferred requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Knysna Stays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Stays Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing