We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five wonderful days”
Review of Knysna Stays

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knysna Stays
Ranked #17 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We decided to spend five days at Knysna Stays as it is perfectly located to get to the nearby golf courses. A very warm welcome by Rose made us feel like at home from the very beginning. Lloyd (the owner) is a perfect host, very helpful when questions arise.
We played golf at Simola and Pezula, two courses in excellent condition. Thanks to Lloyd, we got great green-fee packages. And if you feel you need a golf-partner, ask Lloyd to join you!
Thanks Lloyd, thanks Rose and the whole team. It was all perfect from A to Z. We enjoyed it very much and are looking forward to coming back.
Adrian + Gaby

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrianGaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Hi Adrian & Gaby,
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of your golfing stay at Knysna Stays Guest House. Hopefully we will see you back here again soon and maybe this time Lloyd will be able to join you for a game.
Warm regards,
Lloyd , Trish , Rose and all the team at Knysna Stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 329 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

Returned after a very pleasant stay last year _ the hospitality and accomodation is still as wonderful! Lloyd is a great and very helpful host ably supported by his staff (especially Rose!). Hope to be back next year. Thanks, Lloyd.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Hi Sandy,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review .It was great to see you again and we are looking forward to welcoming you both back to Knysna stays n November 2014.
Warm reagrds,
Lloyd, Trish , Rose and all the team at Knysna Stays .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Owner Lloyd, Manager Rose, and all the well-trained staff know that their job is to give guests a great carefree experience. This place punches way above its price. Nothing is too much trouble, and the place is brand spanking new. Immediately following my booking Lloyd personally emailed me with suggested driving tour itineraries, and notwithstanding this, appeared every breakfast time with printed weather forecasts for each guest, and ensured that every guest was fully geared to a planned day - whether a day of relaxation by the Pool, or a day out to a place of recommendation determined by the weather. He and Rose could not have been more helpful. Again, honest restaurant recommendations proved extremely successful with us. Wonderful to see such a hardworking team being so successful. A useful policy of upgrading rooms whenever possible might tempt you to book a cheaper room, but beware ! This place is becoming extremely popular and the chances of getting the upgrade are becoming slim ! Don't hesitate to book here. You won't regret it.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank AviationSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Wow , thank you so much for taking the time to write this detailed review .
Guest reviews like this are so benefical as they promote Knysna a small town as a top holiday destination which creates jobs for local people this them the opportunity to improve their income and lifestyles so they can benefit from their careers in the tourism industry.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Knysna Stays Guest House. Most of all it is so nice to know we can offer great value to our guests without comprimising on quality or excellent service.
Kind regards ,
Lloyd Trish & rose and all the team at Knysna Stays Guest House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My wife and I arrived after a long Journey at Knysna Stays around 8pm. Being exhausted we just wanted to get showered, eat and go to bed. We were warmly welcomed by Rose with her usual smile and assistance in taking our luggage to the apartment. Our first thought was WOW this is amazing. The apartment was spacious, homely, had all amenities, CLEAN. I has come to Knysna for a surgery and this was going to be home for 2 weeks.
A few days later I had the surgery and came back to the Guest house. Rose on the very next day
came to our room and gave us Breakfast. All the staff were so friendly, full of smiles and caring. We never felt away from home.
Llyod and Trish were wonderful hosts, everyday Llyod was giving us ideas for excursions and always ready to help to make the most out of our stay there. All in all I can only say a very big Thank you to all of the Staff and Llyod and trish for taking good care of us and we will be back soon.
I recommend anyone who is travelling through Knysna to have at least a night here. It truelly is a amazing place and the area is full of lovely sites and facilities for travellers to enjoy the Garden Route.
Umang and Beena Gossain

Room Tip: The apartments are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UMANGGOSSAIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you so much Umang & Beena for this wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your long stay with us , we always enjoy having guests for longer than average stays as it is great to get to know them especially knowing you are also in the tourism industry running amazing game drives in Tanzania. We all enjoyed listening to your fascinating experiences and stories of life in Tanzania. We are so pleased we were able to offer you a wonderful experience here in one of the most beautiful parts of South Africa on the garden route in Knysna .
We look forward to seeing you again here at Knysna Stays.
Warm regards from Lloyd , Trish Rose and all the team at Knysna Stays Guest House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Everything about Knysna Stays is exceptional and the experience has to be recommended!! Thank you so much Lloyd and Tricia, Rose and the staff. The warmth and beauty of South Africa we found echoed within this wonderful guest house.
Submitted by Pat and Chas, Kent, UK

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear Chas & Pat, Wow what can one say , what a lovely review . Thank you!
Also we would like to thank you both for staying here at Knysna Stays we had such fun meeting you and we enjoyed your company and sense of humour.
We were so pleased you were still able to enjoy Knysna , South Africa especially as your friends needed to return to England urgently.
We hope to see you all again at Knysna Stays .
Lloyd is looking forward to another round of golf at Simola next time you are here.
Warm regards from sunny Knysna , Lloyd , Trish , Rose and all the team at Knysna Stays Guest House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Modern and clean rooms. Warm welcome from Rose and Lloyd. Stayed in the Plettenberg Room which had a double and a single bed. Nice terrace with lovely view. We were two and enjoyed the space. Intended to stay one night but extended it to 3. Internet access was very good. Breakfast cum Lounge room was tastefully furnished. Place is gated so felt very safe.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jin29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write the review.
Positive reviews are much appreciated , they promote Knysna as a top holiday destination, they benefit the towns economy and help create jobs for local people.
Thank you again from Lloyd , Trish , Rose and all the team at Knysna Stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This was the absolute best weekend getaway. Our room was beautiful, comfortable, and very clean. The view was stunning; but the owner and staff were the real stars. One of the staff found out it was my birthday and they sang to me at breakfast (the breakfast was outstanding, by the way). Wonderful experience and will definitely stay there again. Thanks Lloyd for the gift. Remember...our house when US and England play.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodney_Poplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you so much Rodney for taking the time to write this excellent reveiw.
We are thrilled you enjoyed your special birthday weekend with us.
It was such a pleasure to accommodate you and your wife and we are honoured that you chose Knysna Stays to celebrate your special occassion.
We are looking forward to the world cup next year and will take you up on your offer to watch a game together if the USA play England, we will see you in George with all our England scarves and hats !
Thank you again to you and your wife . We look forward to seeing you both again at Knysna Stays.
Lloyd , Trish , Rose and all the team at Knysna Stays Guest House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.6 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
275 reviews
1.3 mi away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#15 of 127 in Knysna
203 reviews
14.6 mi away
Dover on Sea B&B
Dover on Sea B&B
#1 of 12 in Sedgefield
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 127 in Knysna
649 reviews
2.0 mi away
Blue Oyster B&B
Blue Oyster B&B
#22 of 127 in Knysna
300 reviews
2.2 mi away
South Villa Guest House
South Villa Guest House
#7 of 127 in Knysna
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Stays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Stays

Address: 25 Old Toll Road | Upper Old Place, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: $74 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Knysna Stays 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna Stays has been newly built and furbished to create the perfect place to stay whilst you explore Knysna and it's beautiful surroundings. If you are looking for a holiday destination that provides endless opportunity for the whole family this is the destination to travel to. Knysna Stays can offer you stylish accommodation with excellent facilities, but can also ensure the right direction to suit your preferred requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Knysna Stays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Stays Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing