We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The personal service was fantastic”
Review of Knysna Stays

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knysna Stays
Ranked #26 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2012

As expats spending their first Christmas in South Africa, we wanted to get away to somewhere special for a few days and Knysna Stays was highly recommended on Trip Advisor. When I called Lloyd he was amazing from our first conversation. He not only sold his Guest House but also sold the area to us - we booked straight away.

We then had a couple of conversations (including Skype) where Lloyd recommend places including Simola for Christmas day lunch but also suggested booking early - we are glad we took his advice.

Rose was fantastic and welcomed us like we were old friends on our arrival. Rose and the team were delighted to help out in anyway they could.

Lloyd is not on site all the time but made a point of being present everyday during breakfast. He took a personal interest in your plans offering any help you might require in making plans or fine tuning your arrangements. Lloyd obviously loves looking after his guest and works hard at it but he also seems to love golf and can offer great advice on local courses.

Knysna is quite a small town and Knysna Stays is towards the edge of town but within easy reach of the main street or Thiesen Island/Waterfront.

The room we had was great. Plenty of space for the 2 of us. The balcony looked out towards the lagoon with the sun setting straight ahead of us. It was lovely sitting on the balcony late at night, just relaxing and cooling down.

Breakfast was great, with Rose making sure you had everything you need. Christmas morning was special.

We would happily recommend Knysna Stays to others - but not if they wanted to go at the same time as us in case we couldn't get in.

I only marked the sleep quality down slightly as the mattress is firm which is more down to my preference rather than any issues.

Thank you Lloyd, Rose & Team

Simon & Angela

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grey_Ink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Thank you for selecting Knysna Stays Guest House for your Christmas holiday, and thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review.
It was delightful to be able to serve a special breakfast on Christmas Day and we were really pleased you enjoyed your personal photo souvenir gift .
We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you in Knysna again one day.
Kind Regards,
Lloyd , Trish and all the team at Knysna Stays Guest House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 331 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed here in November 2012 for 4 nights. We had a nice suite with big balcony and sunset view on the Knysna lagoon. Every morning during breakfast, Lloyd spends a lot of time to give his guest advice on what to do in and around Knysna.
The city center is a little to far to walk there, but only 5 min drive by car

Our evaluation in detail:

B&B and location:
(+) modern B&B, almost rather a small hotel than a B&B
(+) in a quiet street
(+) parking on property (with electric gates)
(+) nice pool with sunbeds
(o) city center is a 5-min drive

Room:
(+) we had the Plettenberg Suite, modern and stylish furnished
(+) bathroom with shower and bathtub
(+) comfortablee bed, not too soft

Breakfast:
(+) fresh fruits
(+) French press coffee
(+) English breakfast made to order
(+) If weather is good, breakfast is outside in the garden

Service:
(+) The host Lloyd is there every morning to give advice and recommendations about what todo, he gave us e.g. good advice on where to do a nice hike in the Knysna forrest
(+) Help with booking restaurants and activities, mostly even negotiates a 10% discount :-)
(+) free WiFi

Room Tip: take a suite with lagoon view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerChr1st0ph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Thank you for this very detailed and professional review. It was so kind of you to spend so much time reviewing your stay with us. We really appreciate such positive comments from somebody as discerning as yourself.
Kind Regards,
Lloyd , Trish & all the team at Knysna Stays Guest Hosue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

What a gem!!! Rose, Lloyd and the rest of the staff made our stay a comfortable one. We started our days with a delicious breakfast in a relaxed atmosphere. Breakfast service was prompt and of the highest standard. Lloyd took great interest in his guests and what we got up to, he made valuable suggestions about excursions. Our room had a great view and the staff did an excellent job at keeping it clean. We will definitely come and stay here again and would suggest it to anyone.... Stunning stunning place and people!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BertinaBUG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Bertina,
Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to write this excellent review. We are so glad you enjoyed our guest house and the beautiful area of Knysna and it's surrounds .
We are delighted you really appreciated our breakfasts especially as you are very experienced in fine dining.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you both back one day.
Kind regards,
Lloyd , Trish & all the team at Knysna Stays Guest House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Set on the hill looking over Knysna lagoon, Knysna Stays offers quality accommodation and service. We were met on arrival by Rose, who showed us to our room. The room was of a very high standard,and the balcony looked over the lagoon. Rose always had a smile and arranged taxis for us. There is a courtesy taxi to sirocco restaurant, which was pretty good too. Breakfast was tasty, and you can eat out by the pool or inside. Lloyd, the owner was on hand at breakfast to suggest places to visit and if you play golf, don't miss out on the opportunity to play at Simola where Lloyd gets great rates. A similar course would cost nearly three times the price to play in the UK. I played a round with Lloyd and although my golf was a bit wayward, had a great time!
I wouldn't hesitate to book a stay here again if i return to SA.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank hergest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Thank you for this wonderful review. We were so pleased you enjoyed our guest house and knowing you are such keen golfers it was great pleasure to offer you the oppurtunity to play at one of the best golf courses here in South Africa , Simola. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you here again one day.
Kind Regards,
Lloyd , Trish & the team at Knysna Stays Guest House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed at Knysna Stays for 6 nights and rate it as one of the best B&Bs I've stayed at in SA. Seems quite a new building with quality fittings and furnishing throughout. Lloyd was spot on as a welcoming and informative host and Rose, the main helper, was charming. I certainly hope to return next year.

Sandy Buchan

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Hi Sandy ,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great reveiw. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we are so pleased you have booked a return visit later this year. There is nothing better than knowing a guest has enjoyed their first stay so much that they decide to return.
Hopefully Sandy you will bring your golf clubs this time so you can enjoy the outstanding golf courses here in Knysna , Simola & Pezula. .
Kind regards,
Lloyd , Trish and all the team at Knysna Stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hello Lloyd
again a warm "Thanks" to you and your team for the outstanding good service and support! Knysna Stays B&B was the best choice we could have imagined: the nice "Knysna Suite" with its stunning view to the lagoon, this was the perfect "home" for us on our roundtrip throughout the Garden Route. Recommendable!
Warmest regards
Konny and Jörg

Room Tip: Knysna or Plettenberg Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joerg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Hi Konny & Joerg,
Wow what a wonderful review.
Isn't it ironic this review may not of even happend following your travel experience in St Francis Bay , after you ringing me saying we may have to cancel our booking with you because of very extreme weather conditions which flooded and damaged roads and meant you could not leave your accommodation as the bridge was so badly damaged , luckily the great car hire company came to the rescue and released another car for you and you were able to come and enjoy your stay at Knysna Stays .
We were delighted that the weather improved dramatically for you in Knysna .Trish and I were so pleased you could see the funny side of your experience which then allowed you to enjoy the rest of your holiday. We will always remember you both and hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Knysna Stays one day.
Warmest regards,
Lloyd , Trish & all the team at Knysna Stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Both the bedroom and bathroom were spacious, immaculate, and in a peaceful location. The staff were charming, security conscious, and keen to oblige. Breakfast was of excellent quality, plentiful, and promptly served. Relatively secure parking.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnysnaStays, Owner at Knysna Stays, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you so much Colin for your expert analysis , it is woderful to receive such positive comments from an experienced traveller like yourself.
Kind reagrds,
Lloyd, Trish & all the team at Knysna Stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2 mi away
Blue Oyster B&B
Blue Oyster B&B
#22 of 129 in Knysna
312 reviews
2.1 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#2 of 129 in Knysna
668 reviews
14.6 mi away
Dover on Sea B&B
Dover on Sea B&B
#1 of 12 in Sedgefield
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
South Villa Guest House
South Villa Guest House
#7 of 129 in Knysna
231 reviews
1.3 mi away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#12 of 129 in Knysna
215 reviews
2.7 mi away
Headlands House
Headlands House
#16 of 129 in Knysna
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Stays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Stays

Address: 25 Old Toll Road | Upper Old Place, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: $89 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Knysna Stays 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna Stays has been newly built and furbished to create the perfect place to stay whilst you explore Knysna and it's beautiful surroundings. If you are looking for a holiday destination that provides endless opportunity for the whole family this is the destination to travel to. Knysna Stays can offer you stylish accommodation with excellent facilities, but can also ensure the right direction to suit your preferred requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Knysna Stays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Stays Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing